Michigan becomes 14th state to ban texting while drivingAlex Wagner - Editorial Director of News and Content
Using your phone while driving is a pretty dangerous thing to do, but texting is the worst since it takes more focus and time than simply dialing a phone number. Today Michigan joined 14 other states, including the District of Columbia, in making texting and emailing illegal while you're behind the wheel. The law goes into effect today and, if caught, you'll earn a $100 fine for the offense. Getting caught a second time will double the fine, costing $200.
The law says that it doesn't matter if you're flying down the interstate or sitting at a stop light, if you're caught texting while driving, you will be fined. Interestingly, dialing a number and actually using the phone is still ok, even without a headset. If pulled over, it may not be worth lying to the officer since they can ask to check your phone. Either way, you should probably just not use your phone at all while driving.
I'm surprised that only 14 states have cracked down on people that text while driving considering it is just as dangerous, if not more so, than talking on the phone. Still, as cell phones become more ingrained into our society, I'm sure we'll see more and more states imposing laws that prohibit cell phone use behind the wheel. What do you Michigan readers think of this law going into effect?