Verizon's 4G LTE network spreading to 34 new markets on August 16, expanding in 38 others

Alex Wagner
Editorial Director of News and Content from  Omaha, NE
| August 15, 2012

Verizon 4G LTE

Is your town still without Verizon 4G LTE coverage? That could soon change, as Verizon has announced that it's expanding its LTE network again tomorrow, August 16. This latest expansion will bring LTE service to 34 new markets and expand the existing coverage in another 38 markets. Once this month's growth is complete, Verizon's LTE network will cover a total of 371 markets, which the carrier says is more than 75 percent of the U.S. population. You can find the full list of new and expanding LTE areas at the bottom of this post.

We've seen Verizon spread its LTE network in a pretty steady fashion, announcing expansions once a month for the past several months. The carrier hopes to have its LTE service in over 400 markets by the end of this year, which is a goal that Verizon says its "ahead of schedule" on. See your town somewhere in the list of markets gaining new or expanded LTE coverage tomorrow? Shout it out in the comments below!


New markets

  • Springs, Ark.
  • Redding, Calif.
  • Valdosta and Waycross, Ga.
  • Centralia and Danville, Ill.
  • Parsons, Salina and Topeka, Kan.
  • Alexandria and Monroe, La.
  • Pittsfield, Mass.
  • Battle Creek and Muskegon, Mich.
  • Mankato and Worthington, Minn.
  • Joplin and Sedalia, Mo.
  • Bismarck, Grand Forks and Minot, N.D.
  • Chillicothe, Ohio
  • Reading, Pa.
  • Aberdeen, S.D.
  • Laredo, Odessa and Texarkana, Texas
  • Brattleboro and White River Junction, Vt.
  • Charlottesville, Va.
  • Longview, Wash.
  • Eau Claire, La Crosse and Manitowoc, Wis.


Expanding markets

  • Los Angeles and Santa Barbara/Santa Maria, Calif.
  • Orlando, Fla.
  • Macon/Warner Robins, Ga.
  • Bloomington, Champaign/Urbana, Decatur/Effingham and Springfield, Ill.
  • Elkhart, Ind.
  • Des Moines, Iowa City and Sioux City, Iowa
  • Dodge City, Garden City and Great Bend, Kan.
  • Lexington and Louisville, Ky.
  • New Orleans, La.
  • Boston, Mass.
  • Minneapolis/St. Paul, Minn.
  • Missoula, Mont.
  • Las Vegas, Nev.
  • Manchester/Nashua, N.H.
  • Las Cruces, N.M.
  • New York, N.Y.
  • Cincinnati, Ohio
  • Greenville/Spartanburg, S.C.
  • Sioux Falls, S.D.
  • Chattanooga, Tenn.
  • Salt Lake City/Ogden, Utah
  • Roanoke, Va.
  • Charleston, W.Va.
  • Green Bay, Wis.
  • Little Rock, Ark., expanding into Batesville, Ark.
  • Tallahassee, Fla., expanding into Thomasville, Ga.
  • Burley, Idaho, expanding into Twin Falls, Idaho
  • Chicago, Ill., expanding into DeKalb, Ill.
  • Cedar City, Utah, expanding into St. George, Utah.

Via Verizon