ALLTEL U Prepaid Reviews

Alltel Wireless introduced U, the new pay as you go plans that allow consumers to pay by the day, the minute, or the month. These plans are contract-free, and there are no credit checks or monthly bills to worry about. Check out some of PhoneDog's plans, and read reviews about ALLTEL U Prepaid below.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Average user reviews

Based on 11 Reviews

Overall
2.727275
Service Quality
2.727275
Customer Service
2.636365
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Hate it

Posted on: May 29th, 2009 by Anonymous

The good: noneThe bad: Costs everytime time you miss a call and dont get a voicemail and well everything about it is horrible!!!!Summary: I just put $20 on the phone on May 16th and today on the 28th I have $1.95. I didnt know it cost not to answer the phone yea it costs .10 its terrible!!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Completely satisfied with ALLTEL U Prepaid

Posted on: January 4th, 2009 by C. Lutz

The good: Service has been great thru out Mi, the I-75 corridor to Knoxville, all of SC & NC and the I77 corridor to Cleveland and west to Toledo, OH. I haven't missed any calls during my travels around the Southeast United States. The bad: Placing calls outside your home area or friendly roaming area is cumberson. Cannot use your directory numbers or speed dialing. Operator forces you to dial 1 then phone no followed by the # sign.Summary: I have been with ALLTEL for 4 years and have been completely satisfied with their service. The service has always been available no matter where the call was placed or received. For my occasional use of my cell phone this plan is perfect for me.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

STAY AWAY TRAVELERS

Posted on: September 26th, 2008 by SANNETTE JOHNSON

The good: Nice selection of phonesThe bad: Data charges with picture messages, voicemail charges, lack of coveragearea.Summary: I live about 2.5 hours south of Atlanta GA. I?m always back and forth on i-75 to Atlanta. Once I pass Cordele GA I can not receive any phone calls. Even when I?m in Atlanta i cannot make calls until I pass back through Cordele going home. I can receive calls but not make them. I have to text people to tell them to call me and sometimes the texting does not work. That?s a bad thing if you ever get lost in Atlanta. I thought it was because i was on the pay per day so I changed to a pre paid plan and still the same thing. They say picture messages are $.25 but they forget to tell you that they will add an extra $.10 because of data transfer. Do that equals up to $.35 to receive and send a picture. I do not understand there coverage area. I would not recommend Alltel to travelers. Also if you have a pay per day or pay per minute, if you don?t answer your phone and it goes to your voicemail that will be $.10 even if they didn?t leave a voice mail. So their plan is to get all you money regardless !!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Few problems

Posted on: August 9th, 2008 by Diane D

The good: Better value, flexible, good coverageThe bad: A few problems with receiving calls, their stores are ALWAYS horribly busy with long lines for help.Summary: I switched to AlltelU from another prepaid service to get a newer phone and a cheaper rate. I had no problems with the phone or the customer service. I like being able to refill the phone online and get a few extra free minutes. I can receive and make a call even when I don't have any bars, and in places where my friends with other major carriers can't connect. My only problem has been that sometimes people calling me get a message that I'm not available, even when I'm in an area that has great reception and even though I have voice mail. It's intermittent, so I just chalk it up to a glitch in their network and don't bother calling customer service.I've been very happy with Alltel, and hate that they've been bought by Verizon. I'll have to switch because Verizon is anti-gun. I'm afraid that any other major carrier I try will be horrible.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Service

Posted on: April 26th, 2008 by Zacharey Copprell

The good: Good coverageThe bad: Horrible customer serviceSummary: They wouldn't help me they were rude and they did not help me what so ever. i will not deal with them again.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

REVISED REVIEW

Posted on: September 12th, 2007 by Don Staats

The good: Good CoverageThe bad: Company store NOT the place to purchase or service phoneSummary: In a previous review I stated that phone was largely useless. I got very little help from the ALLTEL company store in finding out the problems. I finally went to a wireless store that sold ALLTEL and other phones. They suggested the phone I had was defective. On previous trips to ALLTEL I had suggested that the phone was defective with no results. Following the advice of the non ALLTEL phone store,I finally went in demanding a replacement phone. They reluctantly issued me one. Now, the phone works fine!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

ALLTEL IS OKAY WITH ME

Posted on: August 28th, 2007 by CAROLYN HARRIS

I like ALLTEL okay. No problem with the service and customer service is good in the store, I have never had problems with my service and no problem with phone going out in areas with lots of trees, etc. I recommend Alltel.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Buyer Beware!

Posted on: August 23rd, 2007 by J B

The good: Good coverageThe bad: Minutes expire nowCustomer service is poorCharged for checking voicemail from another phoneCharge you .75/day even the days you don't use your phoneSummary: Buyer Beware! Alltel changed the plan to include expiration dates! Now when you purchase minutes you are given a time when they would expire. Apparently, this is not across the board. My parents have the same plan and plan does not expire. When I called customer service three times, finally I was told the reason was because I signed up two days after the policy went in place! My rep did not know this at the time, but my minutes still expire! I went to refill my minutes at a store so that I could put a smaller amount on my phone than what you are allowed to online. That rep handed me a customer survey, which I answered when I got home. Today I receive a voicemail on my prepaid phone telling me to call them back. I did not even give them my prepaid or home phone number. Now I have to pay for all those minutes. I sent an email to the company and got a canned response back that had nothing to do with the email. Also, every time you call customer service and give your prepaid phone number, you are passed off to another call center located overseas (I think).So do your research before committing!The only good thing is that they have decent phones to choose from if you go to an Alltel owned store. There are stores out there that are allowed to sell alltel, but are owned by another company and provide shoddy service and try to tell you that you can't choose any phone provided. With prepaid you are allowed to choose any phone that postpaid customers have, so don't let any rep tell you otherwise. Another positive is that you can add .1 to your plan. I haven't tried this yet, but I will probably try this in two months when I have to add more minutes if I am still with them. However, be warned that you are charged tax on the "minutes" that you buy.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Poor customer service, incoming calls fail

Posted on: August 23rd, 2007 by Matt Brown

The good: cheap, customer service is perkyThe bad: incoming calls fail to reach me, customer service is unhelpful and gives incorrect informationSummary: Got this plan because a postpaid plan was just way more than I needed. I only make a few minutes of calls per week--Most of the time it's me calling my wife to check in, or she's calling me to pick up something on my way home. This seemed like the ideal package. And at first it was.Then my wife discovered that she can't call me: She calls my number and all she hears are clicks. My phone never rings or makes any indication of an incoming or missed call. Callers get a message saying I can't be reached (I don't have voicemail). We can do this experiment when I have the phone in my hand and it shows I have good reception. Then the "joystick" on my phone went dead. I was within the 1 year warranty. I took it to the store, waited in an interminable line to have someone tell me that my prepaid phone wasn't warranted. As politely as I could, I pointed out paperwork that said it was warranted. Then they told me, "Oops. Our bad. Yes it is warranted. We have to send it off for two weeks." Grumble.Two weeks later, I still have no phone. I call the local number to check up and get the offshore call center. They can't help me. I go back to the store (get there before they open this time) and am now told that it takes 4 to 6 weeks for a repair. Beware. You get no more than what you pay for, and sometimes you don't even get that.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

I love Alltel

Posted on: August 8th, 2007 by Christopher D.

The good: Great coverage,decent phones,good plansThe bad: noneSummary: I have Alltel u prepaid 400 monthly plan since i signed up on July 12 2007,I have had service with Alltel for 28 days now.Gerat coverage,decent plans,cool phones.good customer service.I live in the rurual area,and have great coverage,I never drop a call.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages