ALLTEL Wireless Reviews

Purchased by Verizon Wireless on January 9, 2009, Alltel Wireless is still operating on its own in certain markets per the agreement. Package plans combine Alltel wireless, home telephone, and Internet services; regional and national plans are also available, with free nationwide long distance. Most of their plans have unlimited nights/weekends, too. Their "My Circle" feature provides free calling to select numbers on any carrier's network. Check out Alltel Wireless reviews.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Average user reviews

Based on 110 Reviews

Overall
3.01818
Service Quality
2.972725
Customer Service
2.927275
Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

I Miss Alltel

Posted on: March 30th, 2010 by Brandon Greene

The good: Great coverage, flexible plans with low pricing.The bad: Bought by Verizon.Summary: Alltel was the best wireless provider in the Southeast. They had a decent (not great) selection of phones, were very military friendly, and on two occasions they saved me the hassle of having HUGE bills by retroactively applying an account upgrade. For example, I was on the Carolina only plan, went to California for military duty, and came home with $500 in roaming charges. They CALLED ME and said that I had a huge bill, and allowed me to retroactively upgrade to the Nationwide plan ($5 more for the same minutes) to get rid of the charges. The same thing happened when I started texting, I was given the option to add unlimited texting for $5/mo. Very flexible, very customer-oriented.That all changed when Verizon purchased them. The signal coverage remains the same, but now I'm being pressured into Verizon plans I don't want, and have been told different lies by different con-artist salespeople about the future of my account. These people are on commission and want to sell a new Verizon phone and account, which is understandable. However, when the Verizon site states clearly that I can keep my current Alltel plan and still upgrade to a new phone, and the guys in the store tell me contradictory information, it's frustrating. Verizon's phone selection is absolutely terrible, often several months behind the offerings of other carriers, and they seem intent on offering only the ugliest, bulkiest phones possible. Also frustrating is waiting in long lines only to be skipped over and not helped after waiting sometimes up to 45 minutes. This isn't in one place...Fayetteville, Southern Pines, Kernersville, Greensboro, all the same story. I was willing to see past these issues because I understand the merger is a difficult transition, and I still have fond memories of Alltel...however there comes a point when you realize that the Verizon sales reps DO NOT CARE TO DO BUSINESS WITH YOU. I'm an Android (Google Phone) developer, and while Droid is a nice phone, it's not worth the hassle of dealing with Verizon. Never again. I've switched to T-Mobile and it's great.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

ALLTEL-TERRIBLE C.S.

Posted on: August 11th, 2009 by Anonymous

The good: Excellent network. Have been with alltel for about 5 years and have dropped very few calls. I get services everywhere.The bad: Alltel customer service is unacceptable. Most tech support employees do not know what they are talking about, lying constantly and telling different stories. They do not know the product and all think the company works differently. In store associates are even worse!!! They give you attitude, lie and tell you tech support is wrong. I had a manager get mouthy with me on the phone WHILE lying to me. Although the network is great, it is NOT NOT NOT worth the terrible customer service. Summary: Scenario#1-I have an account with only an air card on it and wanted to set up myaccount so I could pay online. I was on the phone w/ alltel tech support 15 (i kid you not!) times all telling me they had sent a letter out to me with a code you typically receive via text that I was unable to receive w/ only an aircard. I still have not received this letter. I was finally passed through to a supervisor who was suddenly able to give me the code over the phone.Scenario#2-My cell phone is also w/ alltel on a family plan w/ my dad as the head of the account. I am currently going through some issues with my lg rhythm (powers down random, touch wheel doesn't always work) and am already on my second replacement. My first replacement the send button didn't work. THEY DON'T CARE IF THERE IS A PROBLEM W/ A PHONE!!! They are giving me the run around and not helping at all. This replacement I received today already has had some glitches.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Decent basic Stuff

Posted on: July 23rd, 2009 by Mike Smetzer

The good: Fair price. Good reception travelling.The bad: Contracts (of course)Summary: Got Alltel 5 1/2 years ago after moving to South Dakota from Fla(ATT). Went to the retailer and ask about Cells in SD.Showed me a brochure with their "plans". I had been online and found a $20 a month plan and asked about that. Begrudgingly he said yeah it was available, so I got it. 100 mins free plus Nites&weekends free. (I use my phone mostly as a clock). Lost my phone and needed a new one. Got it ($30) and (of course) got socked into another 2 yr contract. OK, fine. Well, just lost it again a few days ago and got a it replaced ($180). Fortunately, my lost phone was returned and had NO PROB returning replacement phone for a full refund, no questions asked. I'm not a "power user", just a "it's handy to have" user. So for $26 a month(with taxes and etc) they meet my needs and wants completely. I have no doubt that others have had problems, but my experience has been very good (plus I still only pay $26 a month.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Lots of dropped calls now

Posted on: July 8th, 2009 by Fred Holden

The good: Until Verizon, they were great. Over the past two months, I get dropped at least once per day. The bad: Over the past two months, I get dropped at least once per day. I'm going elsewhere. Summary: My cell is my business phone. I can't afford to get dropped when talking to clients. I called Alltel to complain and was told they would follow-up and get back to me. They never did! Alltel needs to drop Verizon.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Why Choose Alltel??

Posted on: June 12th, 2009 by Kayla Lamers

The good: I have an add a line phone so its cheapThe bad: bad customer service, lies, contracts, lies, employees don't know what they are talking about.Summary: I have had Alltel for 4 years it started out ok except when it came to get a new phone when mine broke before my contract was up. My phone litterally split in 2 and they told me i had to pay full price for a new phone and i told them i didnt want a new phone and i wasnt paying the bill for the 2 months i didnt have a phone and they tried to take me to court on it and i won. And then i add insurance on my bill after that phone broke got a normal flip lasted about a year and 3 months before it wouldnt stay charged anymore and the buttons hardly worked, but had 3 months again with out a phone because cant get a new phone at a reasonable price until 3 months before your 2 years is up. Then my 3rd phone was my favorite phone i loved it of course it was out of stock. So after my tragic accident my phone was in a million pieces so it didnt work explained my accident with insurance on my phone they refused to work with me to get a new phone i was willing to pay th $50 for a new one but that isnt what they wanted they wanted me to pay $300 for a new one because i had just gotten the one that was wrecked in my accident. So i actually backed down for a little bit then went in to corporate office and rose a little hell cause i was honestly just getting fed up. And seriously if i wasnt on a plan with my parents and only had to pay $30 a month for my phone i would so go somewhere else but now were on the 4th phone the cool LG Scoop esspecially made for texting with the cool slide out keyboard... ya ok it would be cool if ya could text on the keyboard with out it taking a pause every minute and if the buttons actually worked. I have been into the corporate office 75 times since march of 09 complaining about this phone no one seems to give to hoots about THEIR CUSTOMERS SATISFACTION...in my opinion when you are giving up $50 of your money to get a new phone to replace the problem ya had with your recent one you shouldnt have to get the same phone as you have you already know what is going to go wrong with it after only having it 3 months. Plus the LG Scoop got a recall on it for delay of texting and call dropping but you think Alltel could let anyone know that when they ask why the phone isnt working no they keep it to their self because they dont want to DEAL WITH THE CUSTOMER...FIGURE THAT ONE OUT. I honestly hope Verizon will better serve the Alltel customers cause after reading all these other reviews I realize that i am not the only not liking Alltel lately.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Been with Alltel Since '97

Posted on: April 25th, 2009 by J M

The good: Good service, competitive rates, decent phones.The bad: "Charge card" rebates. Doesn't have free or $1 phones anymore. Not sure how the Verizon buy-out will impact them.Summary: I've never had any problems with Alltel. Back when I first looked for a cellular provider they were the only company to offer family plans with decent rates. I've never had a problem with getting rebates and I've gotten several. All of the people I've dealt with were nice and helpful. They even bent the rules to get me warranty coverage on a phone and on another occasion to get me into a plan that better fit my needs. I was disappointed when the last rebates I got came in the form of charge cards, which meant I had to spend the money. The cards can be a hassle too.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Here's The Deal

Posted on: April 20th, 2009 by Matt Jablonsky

The good: Best service in remote areas, Great customer service, Improved rebate program, Did I mention best remote area service?The bad: Verizon bought them...Summary: Here's the thing...When you order your phone online, you are forfeiting your right to good customer service. If you handle things through an agent they will not be able to help you because you purchased through a third party, and we all know there are far more agents than retail stores.Having worked for Alltel for the last three and a half years I will say I'm appalled that some of you had to go through those kind of experiences, but it's up to you to escalate the situation to get what you need taken care of.The thing so many customers fail to realize, is that for the reps there is always another customer in line, so yes there are times when things get lost in the shuffle but if you don't care enough to follow through on your issues, why should we?The rebate process has been drastically improved although once again I'll say if you didn't get your rebate, it's YOUR fault. If you're not getting anywhere with email, wouldn't you think there's a next step you should take? Come in to see the rep. I have personally secured over 500 mail-in rebates for my customers when they were initially refused, there's always a way, are you willing to find it?Bottom line, we offer the best rates for the best service around. Sure T-mobile might have lower prices, but I assure you Alltel will work in more places. It's just a crying shame Verizon bought us out...

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

No Rebate ever recieved from Alltel

Posted on: March 18th, 2009 by Anonymous

The good: The LG scoop has a nice keyboard but the phone is not quality made as you may think.The bad: I followed the directions to the tee to received 50 dollar rebate last October 2008. It is March 2009 and I have not recieved a rebate yet.Summary: To buy a new phone they added 2 more years to my contract. If I could have done it over again I would have waited until the contract was over and buy one of those...use as you go phone or buy a one year contract somewhere else. I am really tired of 2 year contracts. I would really like to go down to one phone and not have two for right now. I emailed Alltel about not receiving the rebate and no reply. From what I have read this seems normal. I feel Alltel is really not customer friendly and it will show in sales in a couple of years when people decide to go somewhere else. I don't see a future in Alltel.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Rebate Scam

Posted on: March 13th, 2009 by Ray Nanney

The good: Great sale pitches.The bad: No company integrity. Use customers as stepping stones to further riches. Promises are seldom if ever fulfilled. Delivery dates a joke. Prevarications to customers numerous and lies backed up by more lies. Please, people stay away from ALLtel. Summary: Been with Alltel 6 years. But no more when my present contract expires. I have six phones and all will be taken to another company. I have inthe past submitted 4 rebates. Only one of the four have been paid. I am not stupid. All required forms and info have been mailed and remailed but no rebate. The concept is if you are gauged and hassled enough you will give up, say to "H" with it and the company never pays the rebate(s). Funds remain the company account.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Don't waste your Money or time!!!

Posted on: February 23rd, 2009 by Craig Jones

The good: Been a customer for 6 years... I guess that doesn't mean much anymore these daysThe bad: Bad company policies, hidden contract obligation even after contract expires.Summary: Do not sign up service for Alltel!!!! Let me give you some background. I was a 6 year customer, always paid my bill on time. But when I had to cancel after my contract expired here is what occurred. Apparently their contract has fine print stating final bills are not prorated.. I'm not under contract anymore, but because I canceled in the middle of a contract I still have have to pay the full month which for the life of me can't find out how this is legal. How is it that when a contract expires and I am still obligated to pay after I cancel. I guess the world will never know. Any Case never sign up, all Cell phone companies are crooked don't get me wrong but this one is the dirtiest of them all.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages