Centennial Wireless Reviews

Company Overview: Centennial Wireless is now Verizon Wireless. As of July 31, 2011, Centennial Wireless became a part of the Verizon family.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Average user reviews

Based on 37 Reviews

Overall
2.43243
Service Quality
2.83784
Customer Service
2.16216
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

A bunch of uneducated crooks

Posted on: February 25th, 2010 by Kayla Vargas

The good: nothinggggggg whatsoeverrrrrrThe bad: Everything.Summary: Well I signed up with them for there internet service July of 2009.They promised me a fix rate for "unlimited"internet for 50$ a month.First 3 bills came that exact promised charge of 50$.All of a sudden we`ve been getting bills for 70$ and 80$, and when I asked why, they said it was because we were going over gigs?WTF.This month theyve cut off my service every week!I pay them 70$ and re-install it for a week , then cut it off again.The second week they cut it off, we asked what was the balance we had to pay, and it shot up to 200$!!!!I am so very angry with this company, you speak to the personel on the phone and they`re rude, you show up at the store, and the manager will just shrug her shoulders at your disability to pay so much , for just TEN stupid gigs of internet,which was a hidden thing they will never tell you. DON`t EVEN LOOK TOWARDS CENTENNIALS WAY! They will just suck you dry.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Centennial LIES

Posted on: January 28th, 2010 by Robin Moody

The good: Their service was reliableThe bad: Their customer service is deplorableSummary: I recently switched to AT & T after having Centennial for over 8 years. I have not had a contract since 2005. I would pay full price for a phone upgrade as to avoid another contract. When I switched providers, I was told that it would take 30 days to close my account. They did the same thing when my husband died and I dropped his line. Charged me for 30 days, yet my husband's phone was cut off immediately. I expected a final bill for less than $100, so one can imagine my surprise when I received a statement (with NO details) for over $350. I tried calling and was never able to talk to a real person. Finally Centennial's collection department called and wanted to know why I have not paid my bill. You can imagine the surprise when I told the lady I was so glad she had called. I questioned why the bill was so high and she said it was because I had to buy out my contract. I told her to produce a contract and then we would talk. Please do your research and get back with me. It took her several days to call me back saying, "you are right,there is NO contract, I have to get someone to credit your account". Fine, call me and let me know what my balance is and I will pay what I owe, not a penny more. She calls me today to tell me that I have to return the last phone I purchased because it was a promotional price or I will have to pay the contract. I paid over $100 for a phone I just found on Nokia'a website for $33. Now I have to locate the paperwork that came with the phone to prove to them that I paid full price for a phone. And I still owe them the $99.45 for service I didn't have. If you deal with Centennial, save ALL of your paperwork, you will need it when you terminate your service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Not as bad as people think

Posted on: November 2nd, 2009 by Richard Montgomery

The good: Service (Where I live and use it)The bad: Lack of variety and new technology in phonesSummary: Our family has had centennial wireless (or at least a partent company) for over 20 years, and there's a reason why we've stuck with them for so long. If you're willing to take time to work with them and be polite you can really get a lot done. I think people who have problems are the people who fail to read the fine print before making decisions. Employees may mess up every once in a while and miscommunicate a policy, but you also have an obligation to read the fine print and legally understand what you're getting yourself into. The cell service, at least in michigan where I have used it is unparalled to anyone. I get better service in low service areas than Alltel, Nextel, Verizon, as well as many other national coverages.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

worse than sprint!

Posted on: July 11th, 2009 by Marty m

The good: great coverageThe bad: everything elseSummary: salesperson lied about the details of the "when you want it" program. I specifically asked if I could get a new phone at the same new contract price without renewing my contract, and the salesperson told me yes, I could. Well, my phone broke after about 5 months and I soon found out the salesperson lied. I would have to pay full retail price for a new phone, you don't really get a deal until after 2 years. centennial refuses to stand by what the salesperson said to sucker me in. also many bills have extra random charges that I have to call customer service to get removed. they say customer satisfaction is their number one goal. HA! nothing could be further from the truth.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Switching Out

Posted on: May 24th, 2009 by Anonymous

The good: good service.The bad: phonesSummary: Centennial wireless' phones are horrible! I have been through so many of them, and i have to pay $30 everytime, not that its a problem paying it, it just gets tiring for how many times you have to pay it. I had the sony ericsson walkman and out of no where it just went pyscho! The workers are ok, but they are very cheap, they won't cut you any slack, even after how many years i've been with them. The bills are outragious!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

this company is the worst ever!

Posted on: May 14th, 2009 by natalie johnson

The good: none at all The bad: every thingSummary: i have only had this company sence november of 2008 and it now may of 2009 and they have over charged us every bill that we have ever gotten oh wait we never got a bill they say the send out a bills but thats a lie if we did i have only gotten three!! and they would turn our phones of cause we wouldnt pay our bill!! and then we got the $69 plan the shared plan i like to call it the rip of plan and they charge us over 150 a month!! and the reason we got these phones was because i was 8 months pregnant and the week i was due my husband was in school in indy and we told them that we cant spend over 100 on the bill each month and you know what he said it would never be that high what a lie!! this company should not be used!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Buyer beware

Posted on: November 21st, 2008 by Anonymous

The good: noneThe bad: If you cancel your account and port your # to a different carrier - Centennial will continue to bill you for these services. My son took my old phone # and changed carriers and I am stuck paying for text messages that he sent with the new carrier because Centennial claims they can not cancel our account for 30 days after the cancellation date - so we are being double billed. "Sorry...but that's our policy"Summary: I would never use Centennial again. Their coverage is the worst as well. We are a goofy family, we have a nextel, alltel, sprint and had a centennial but that now became verison. Of them all Alltel has the best coverage.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Absolute worst

Posted on: November 20th, 2008 by Anonymous Anonymous

The good: Nice looking sales storesThe bad: EverythingSummary: Not only the worst cell phone company, but by far the worst company all together I have ever worked with. Extremely rude and threatening upper management (never have I had a company actually THREATEN me before, and make deliberate attempts at blackmailing me into continuing service). Was told I would be charged extra if I didn't agree not to contact the Better Business Bureau. A lot of shady events, faulty record keeping, hidden charges, etc. Did not cancel plan and continued to charge me for months, somehow they got away with it because of silent agreements somewhere in the contract, which they won't let me see. Can't advise anyone enough not to deal with this company. Was great a few years ago, has seriously crashed and burned.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Terrible customer service, management lies too.

Posted on: October 28th, 2008 by K. G.

The good: Good signal almost everywhere, good insurance plan. The bad: Customer service is rude and they place you on hold for over 10 minutes at times.Summary: I purchased a phone with centennial wireless a year ago. When I did this I was told my deposit would be refunded to me after a year of service. I called them last week and was told that it was after 12 months of on time payments that I would get my refund. I had paid late a couple of times. The in store rep informed me that I should call customer service to see if they could work something out for me. Then I called into customer service tonight and was placed on hold for over 10 minutes while a "manager" was consulted. She came on the phone and informed me that what I paid was in fact a non refundable retainer fee. I tried to explain to her that when I signed up for the account I specifically asked the rep, who happens to be the regional manager if it would be refunded to me and he said yes. I also explained to her that had I known it wasn't refundable I would have taken my business elsewhere. She said that she would credit my account 50 dollars for the inconvienience. I am still trying to get in touch with that manager to get my whole hundred dollars back, Why would I give them a hundred bucks just because?

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Worst customer service!

Posted on: September 25th, 2008 by T G

The good: free incoming callsThe bad: High prices, tons of extra fees, terrible customer service, old phones...Summary: This company has the worst customer service I have ever experienced! I had finished my contract with them and switched to another company with better phone service and lower prices, and they continued to charge me for another month and a half because I had not sent in a written request for cancellation thirty day prior to switching, even though my contract was up! Talking to someone who knows anything that is happening with your account is a challenge too. If you do make sure you have nothing happening for at least an hour because that is at least how long you will have to wait on hold. When I did get through they were rude! I would not recommend this phone company to anyone!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages