Cricket Reviews

Company Overview: Cricket Communications is the operating subsidiary of Leap Wireless International. Cricket is headquartered in San Diego, CA.

Network Benefits: Text and picture messaging.

Special Plan Features: All plans offer unlimited anytime calling within Cricket service area. Cricket Clicks downloadable games, ringtones, and entertainment. Flex Bucket billing plan for a la carte additional services.

Unique Features: Unlimited services with no long-term commitments or credit checks required. Cricket Rewards customer incentive program.

Pros: Excellent pricing on unlimited calling offered through long distance and local-only plans.

Cons: Limited number of compatible SIM-free handsets. Limited messaging and data services.

Technology Used: Cricket operates an all-digital CDMA network. Cricket phones do not use SIM (Subscriber Identity Module) cards.

Coverage: Service coverage is offered in over 40 U.S. states.

Customer Service: See Consumer Reviews

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Average user reviews

Based on 155 Reviews

Overall
2.23226
Service Quality
2.134615
Customer Service
1.87742
Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Wow. Outstanding deal!

Posted on: November 16th, 2014 by Steve Buechler

Get a $25 account credit when you switch to Cricket Wireless using the following discount coupon code: https://mycricket.sparkrefer.com/4LbvvSs I bought the Unlocked Moto X (2nd Gen) from Motorola.com and then got the Cricket Wireless Sim Card and I'm up and running on their $35 p. Month Plan!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

so so bad!

Posted on: October 31st, 2014 by Julia Wood

I purchased a Nokia Lumia 1320 from Cricket's website. The battery didn't seem to work well so I called customer service to see if they had any suggestions and to confirm the details of their return policy. I was disconnected twice. Finally, after calling for the third time, they connected me with a phone operator in India who told me that they could help me if I gave them my credit card details. I proceeded suspiciously, however I was desperate to speak with someone about what to do with the phone (the website stated that it must be returned within seven days). After giving my credit card number, the call was disconnected. Sure enough, my credit card was stolen and I have no doubts it was from that call. After this nonsense, I sent it back (still within 7 days mind you). Two months later, they sent me the phone back saying that I had not returned it in time (they were somehow just deciding that two months later?). In the end, I had to have American Express cancel the charge, speak with an additional 3 customer service reps (after being on hold for over an hour twice and being hung up on!), and write a letter to AT&T expressing my anger. Basically, if you make the mistake of using this horrible service, be prepared to be frustrated, robbed, and disconnected from customer service representatives. And for safety measures, buy it with a reputable credit card like AMEX in case you need additional protection from their games. This is the first bad review I have ever written. PLEASE DON'T SUPPORT THIS COMPANY AND ITS TRICKS.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

horrible customer service and impossible to establish an account

Posted on: October 23rd, 2014 by marie felli

this company is horrible customer service is awful after being run around for 2 days trying to port a # and get a sim card i tried to cancel order and they refused to do it

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Worst Company Ever

Posted on: October 23rd, 2014 by Anonymous

I have never had so much trouble trying to establish service as with this company!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Excellent Value

Posted on: October 20th, 2014 by Anonymous

My Verizon contract just expired, and I immediately changed to Cricket. I have an iPhone 5 from my Verizon contract, which I wanted to keep and use with my new service provider. The Cricket associates were very helpful (they are paid on commission) and quickly and efficiently got me going with my new plan. Thus far, my service in my area has IMPROVED with Cricket. I will say that my service with Verizon was always problematic at my home, whether inside or outside. I want to say that I am very happy with Cricket and very happy with the reduction in monthly costs.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

GREAT experience!

Posted on: October 19th, 2014 by Anonymous

The store associates were super efficient and friendly. I was up and running in no time, and my port was instant. I got 5 lines for $100 a month with a generous $500 credit. I had T-Mobile. Now, I pay even less and get much better, reliable LTE, Also, I can get a free entry-level Android or Windows smartphone just for paying my bill on time. T-Mobile offered no free phones what-so-ever. It seems like everyone has warranty exchange issues with Cricket. I won't have that issue since I am a BYOP customer. We brought 3 iPhone 5, 1 iPhone 5s, and 1 iPhone 6 from T-Mobile to Cricket Wireless with no issues. Calling, texting, data, and visual voicemail work flawlessly. My family was so happy to have AT&T coverage back after a horrible year with T-Mobile.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Pay attention to what they DON'T tell you

Posted on: October 9th, 2014 by Gerco Dries

At $35/mo, it's a steal. A very good deal indeed. But pay attention to what's NOT on the plan description pages: On the $35 plan, you get unlimited domestic talk/text, which is nice. What they don't say is that International calls and texts are IMPOSSIBLE on this plan. No pay-per-message or pay-per-call, just IMPOSSIBLE. On the so-called International plan, you can place calls and texts to 35 countries, which is nice. What they don't tell you is that calls and texts to OTHER countries are IMPOSSIBLE, just as above. No pay-per-use, just not possible. I shouldn't have to check whether international texts and calls are possible. Every other mobile provider offers this so it didn't occur to me that it was even possible for this service to NOT be offered. When I contacted them to ask how to add credit for international calls and texts, they just pointed me to the legal page that explains what *IS* possible and doesn't mention any other options outside of those 35 countries and unlimited packages. You win Cricket. You suckered me into a month of service by leaving out crucial information from your product pages. I hope you're proud of yourself, good bye! At least I learned a valuable lesson. Never assume anything, even if you've never seen a provider without international service (however expensive it may be), you still need to check everything. Next time I'll make sure to check whether the service will work both inside and outside of the house and I'll make sure to ask if it will work while I'm drinking or eating as well, you never know!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Cell service great, customer service stinks!

Posted on: October 9th, 2014 by Molly Farrington

I purchase a smart phone and service in early August. The service piggy-backs on AT&T in my area (CT) so the service is great; better than Sprint/Virgin Mobile. The cost is even better-- only $35 per month. However, I had to return my first phone because I thought I could port my number to it and found out after activation that I could not. Called customer service to find out how to return the phone. After four calls to them on the same afternoon, I finally found someone who gave me an address to return the phone to. After dozens of calls since then they never found my phone. I found out that they gave me an incorrect address, a business they no longer have a relationship with, and the phone was sent to someplace else and it is in effect lost! I had to do a credit-card charge-back in order to get my refund. Their web site was very unclear how to do a number porting when purchasing a phone, which is why I got into this mess.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Just like everyone else.... CRICKET SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted on: September 23rd, 2014 by Anonymous

All I can say is DON'T DO IT!!! What a horrible company. Just a few things you should be aware of. The biggest being that yes, they offer LTE, BUT.. and it's a big BUT... They Throttle you to a max of 8 Mbps!!!! They also do NOT allow tethering. In addition, when in Colorado, my friends AT&T phone (same 5S as me) worked most areas on the E system when my cricket phone was DEAD for hours!!! I can assure you, Cricket is not all it is cracked up to be. Look elsewhere. I will also echo many others complaints on customer service. It sucks almost as bad as the company itself. Nobody speaks english so good luck communicating without asking them to repeat everything 3 times. Couple more things: when i first received the Sim card, within 30 minutes I 6 calls from bill collectors for whoever what that # before me. Immediately called Cricket and they insisted I had to pay $15 for a new #. Seriously? Then to top it off, they charged me on Saturday 9/20 (posted 9/22 to account) for the month. AT&T cancelled service when they switched my account on Sunday 9/21. They refused to refuse a penny. I just contacted Capital One and Disputed the charge. Overall, piece of crap company, Service and Customer Service. If you choose to not listen to all of the poor reviews on here, you deserve what you are about to get.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

warrenty exchange

Posted on: September 11th, 2014 by Francisco Mesar

Chat Transcript Please wait while we find an agent to assist you. You have been connected to Jonathan. francisco mesar: hi Jonathan: Thank you for reaching the New Cricket :) My Name is Jonathan and I will be happy to assist you today... Whom do I have the pleasure to be speaking today? francisco mesar: : Jonathan: hi =D francisco mesar: my name is francisme mesar my phone numer is 5714714532 francisco mesar: I bought a neww cell phone sometime in june or july Jonathan: hi francisme how are you? francisco mesar: and the phone stop working francisco mesar: im pretty upset with you guys Jonathan: OMG that is really bad Jonathan: you know sometimes this happens with any device francisco mesar: I sent it to warrenty on agoust 25 you guys receved in agoust 27 francisco mesar: and sice the I don't have a cell phone francisco mesar: today ypu guys send me device who was fixed but doent work francisco mesar: o if you guy don't give me a solution today im gonna change my provider francisco mesar: it is crazy Jonathan: how come you say it is fixed but does not work Jonathan: what is happening with the new phone you got= Jonathan: ? francisco mesar: yes francisco mesar: my rmn is 8633179 francisco mesar: and the order number francisco mesar: rt11979702 francisco mesar: is a nokia lumia 1320 Jonathan: ok, and why is not working, what is happening with it? francisco mesar: i like cricke t been a customer for a while francisco mesar: i don't know francisco mesar: i charge and it doent charge francisco mesar: i wanna a new phone or a change the company Jonathan: ok, you are totally right on being upset and as the phone they sent you does not work you will need to go with the warranty dept again Jonathan: in regards to the days we will help you with those once you get the phone working francisco mesar: ok so i have to wait another 20 days for have a phone francisco mesar: that's what you try to tell me ? francisco mesar: and that if the next phone work Jonathan: as the phone is not working then it needs to be replaced, I know it does not sound right for you but that is the only way to replace a phone francisco mesar: where is the custumer service francisco mesar: it is crazy is nothing you can do ? i mean i haven't have a cell phone for long time francisco mesar: if u check the ran numer you will see Jonathan: I know that but this is a process handed directly with the phone's manufacturer Jonathan: we don't have any way to skip that francisco mesar: ok is somebody who i can speak with i mean someone can do something francisco mesar: it is crazy Jonathan: yes Sr. you can contact the warranty dept Jonathan: the customer service number is 800-274-2538 option 4 francisco mesar: i did call 20 time already francisco mesar: then and the have attitude and the didn't fix my problem francisco mesar: cuzz i wouldn't be talking to you Jonathan: what happen is that most probably the resolution they are giving you is not the want you want, and really sorry but that is how the warranty process work, we do not expects the phone to be damage but you know that may happen from time to time Jonathan: then we have to replace them, unfortunately on your case it happens twice but that is what it needs to be done francisco mesar: but they told me it was cover under warrenty Jonathan: correct and that is the reason why we can replace it francisco mesar: with a broken phone

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages