Cricket Wireless Reviews See All Cricket Wireless News

Company Overview: Cricket Wireless a subsidiary of AT&T Mobility. Cricket is headquartered in Atlanta, GA.

Technology Used: Cricket operates a GSM network that is owned by AT&T.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Pages

Average user reviews

Based on 167 Reviews

Overall
2.20958
Service Quality
2.13095
Customer Service
1.868265
Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Should have done more research on Cricket Wireless

Posted on: November 17th, 2015 by Deanka

When I started with Cricket a little over a month ago, it was a somewhat dubious start. I ordered the SIM card online because I didn't have to pay the $25 activation fee that way. When the card came with the adapter, it was really hard to get in, it was somewhat warped on one end. So hard, in fact, that I took it up to the store to have one of the CSR's do it so I didn't break it. I don't know how he jury rigged it in there, but it worked. A little over a month later, my phone stops working. This was my phone that I ported, not a cricket wireless phone. I go in yesterday to presumably just swap the cards out. No, my entire card reader is damaged and won't read a SIM card at all. So now, i'm forced to purchase another phone. I had to turn in my old phone just to get a $15.00 discount, and they were only willing to give me a $5.00 discount on a case. There is no manager at this location, only a district manager who comes in once a day at different times. There are exactly 2 people who work in this store at all times. Having never been into a cricket wireless store, I don't even know if this is a corporate store or what. The customer service line can only tell me that they have satellite office. The CSR at the store, when I asked if this was a corporate store or a satellite office said, "it's just a store." So I called customer service because I don't think I should have to pay at least full price for a brand new phone when it was one of their CSR's who damaged the phone in the first place. That phone, an LG G Vista was barely a year old, and the trade in was only $15! The customer service rep that i spoke with last night couldn't do anything and told me to call back today. Which I did, and got no where. They kept telling me i'd have to contact the manager at the store. And I kept telling them there was no such person. According to them, their customer service line is only set up for technical issues and to receive payments. What?! I spoke to one supervisor who told me i needed to go back to the store. And i kept saying, that doesn't make any sense, i was talking to customer service, why should i have to go all the way back to the store? So the supervisor tells me she's the only one of authority on the floor and she couldn't do anything. Since I wasn't hanging up, she put me on hold for another 5 minutes or so and then a manager miraculously appeared. I was on hold waiting for them to escalate to a supervisor for a LONG time. So I had to listen to the manager tell me how there is a manager at every store, how they aren't responsible and that i'd have to go back to the store. I called the store, and was told that the district manager stops in at different times everyday and to leave my name and number and they'd call me back. Yeah, right. I also learned last night that the person who put the SIM card in my car got fired a couple of weeks ago. None of this is fair business practice and I AM LIVID. Not only that, but I have a Samsung HM1900 Bluetooth that I was assured would work with this new phone, it does not. And, when I asked the customer service rep for the corporate office number? They said they didn't have access to that information! UPDATE: Just received a text message about my complaint today. A TEXT MESSAGE! Apparently, they think I deliberately waited until after the customer service rep who damaged my phone was FIRED, before I brought my phone back. As if I have any control over hiring or firing practices at cricket wireless! Did I mention that I got a text message reply?!?! And no matter how many times I tried to explain it to the reps over the phone, that I could not POSSIBLY have known when this guy got fired, i'm still being blamed. The card reader just stopped working that day, at like 6 o'clock in the evening. How would I have planned that?! I thought I was getting a good deal when I went to cricket wireless, now I see they are just like all the rest. I cannot believe they are blaming this on me.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Sinking FAST!

Posted on: September 1st, 2015 by tangeetr

Crickets new 4g service is worse than the CDMA service EVER was. Frequent drop outs, spotty service, and nonexistent customer service seems to be their NEW way of doing business. I found out the hard way that Cricket now does not allow us to make a payment through our bank accounts. I changed my account number online with my bank, made my 1st new scheduled payment 6 days in advance of my due date... Long story short, I was given bad information.., Cricket shut off my phone. I paid another $110 so I'd still have the use of my phone, and then called my bank to see what was happening. We decided to do a stop payment. I called Cricket to ask for proper billing information, and was given a hard time by a so called customer service rep reading off a script... He told me I have a choice on paying my bill... Just not thru my bank... Seriously? I have had Cricket since 2003, and until today have had only one problem, but I'm about done. I use my bank to pay EVERYTHING... Do people not use banks anymore? Anyway, I hear there are other, more consistent networks for around the same cost with employees that practice customer service skills... And provide proper billing information to let customer actually pay through a bank of their CHOICE... I do not appreciate being forced to do anything. I heard ATT bought out Cricket, but it feels like they are just running Cricket into the ground... I Suddenly am not a fan of either ATT or Cricket, or any company they are affiliated with. I know I'm not the only freshly alienated customer... There are many more to come... I'm telling ALL my friends!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Leaving Cricket!

Posted on: August 6th, 2015 by DISsatisfied Customer

I used to like Cricket but now it is getting poor quality products. Phones made in China that don't work, then when you take them back while still under warranty they tell you, you have to call Cricket. You call Cricket and you get the Flippines, Malaysia, India or some other foreign country. The person on the other end barely speaks English, and doesn't comprehend it at all. The IQ is lower than 3 as a requirement. I have 4 lines, plus several family members & friends and we are ALL looking into another phone company. SO Long Cricket, thanks for Nothing but POOR service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
4

Would Recommend to a friend.

Cricket - So far so good

Posted on: July 28th, 2015 by nathanedwards

Just dumped Verizon. I got tired of being a loyal 8 year customer paying about 170 for 2 lines and watching TV ads offering 4 lines for a $100 to everyone and anyone. Why didn't I get a call saying 'hey loyal customer we are going to lower your rate'? I researched Cricket for a couple of weeks and made the switch last week. Store and reps were very helpful and the port over process worked with no issues. Data was copied over with no issues however there were a couple of contacts that didn't make it. No biggie. I have plenty of 'bars' and everything works as well as when I was with the big V. The biggest reason to try Cricket is there are NO contracts. I can cancel anytime and I like being able to shop and save. I'm not paying for a massive marketing campaign. All I want to do is make phone calls, send a txt, read the web now and then. I'm saving $80 a month for the same service!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

VAMPIRES = CRICKET WIRELESS

Posted on: June 25th, 2015 by robersondouge

The only difference between vampires and Cricket wireless is the fact that instead of sucking your blood they suck all your money. I had left Metro Pcs because I was told by some friends that Cricket services is good and since i joined them i've had nothing but problems and headache. the most recent issue that arose was that after they had me enroll in some kind of plans to make two payments for my bill for the month in 7 days time frame, they went and change the date of my billing cycle and instead of paying my remaining $60 payment they wanted me to pay $135. Really? I then asked them to work with me by either changing back the date or put me back in their payment plans so that my service can be reactivated, they plainly told me "NO" and that i would have to pay the entire amount of $135 or my service will remain disconnected and eventually loosing my five(5) lines with them.... so i ask myself, if they refuse to work with me in any way and it's either their way or get lost, where is their so-called customer satisfaction? because surely i was not and still am not satisfied nor impress with their service. And here's something else, when i first got my service with cricket i had 4 lines connected for $135/month and i was told by their "customer service" that once i have the 5th line connected the payment would "automatically" drop from $135 to $100..... Come to find out it was all a bunch of crap because up to this point going on 3 months after i added to 5th line i am still paying $135/month. I did ask the rep on the phone to speak to a supervisor and after he transferred me i realize that the supervisor was not willing to help me because she was telling me that she does not have access to this and that. how can you be a supervisor and not having a little more access to things that the normal representatives have access to. and here is the bigger lie, when i asked her to speak to someone above her, she had the never to tell me that there is no one above her except the owner of the company and that the owner doesn't have the time to talk to me about those kind of stuff.... Really? where does cricket dig those dumb people to handle their customer's issues and provide service? I have many friends and family with cricket and i speak in many events that hold hundreds of people at the time; and trust me when i say that i will make it my business to discourage any body with cricket service or who's thinking about getting cricket service. I will go to every blog and social media sites i know of, and i will report this to the BBB; Because this is the worst customer service i have ever had. you have no customer satisfaction whatsoever, your customer reps are poorly trained about your company because all the information i was provided never stand and they contradict one another, you provide no refund to the customer even though the money they pay hasn't yet been used for their plans. Overall, the only thing Cricket wireless cares about is getting the consumer's money from them and not caring for their needs or wanting to help solve their issues. THEY PRETEND THAT THEY CARE AND SAY THEY WILL ASSIST... WELL ONE OF THEM JUST CALLED ME AND GAVE ME THE SAME CRAP THAT THEY TOLD ME FROM THE BEGINNING AND THAT I WILL LOSE ALL MY NUMBERS..... THEY BLOCKED ME FROM THE PAGE TO AVOID MY COMMENTS EXPOSING THEM.... IN ANOTHER WORD THEY TOLD ME TO GO SCREW MYSELF. THIS IS THE KIND OF CUSTOMER SERVICE THAT CRICKET OFFERS TO THE CONSUMER... STAY AWAY FROM THEM... THEY WILL SUCK YOU DRY TOO. https://www.facebook.com/cricketnation?fref=photo

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
2

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Unfair Charges and Service

Posted on: June 7th, 2015 by Azure133

I have been a loyal Cricket customer for several years now. I've always paid my bill on time, and I am on Auto pay. However, recently, all Cricket customers were forced to change to the new GSM network. I was not informed of this until I went to Cricket about a phone I had dropped and needed replacing. Apparently some other people got their service cut off without any warning. Their communication severely needs work in this area. When I went to get my new phone activated, they charged me a $25 activation fee. According to my friend who works at Cricket at another location, this charge was not supposed to be incurred. I also requested that my phone be unlocked for my recent trip to Italy. I was told that since I've been a customer for over 6 months, this would not be a problem. However, when I called to unlock my phone a few weeks before to the trip, they refused to unlock it because I've only been a GSM customer for a few months. However, they forced all Cricket customers to switch to GSM without even informing us of this requirement. How hard is it to unlock a phone for me when I've been a customer for several years? This resulted in me not getting service or data for the entire 11 days while I was in Italy, but I still got charged the full amount. This also caused me a lot of issues finding my way around Italy with no GPS, no thanks to Cricket. I'm strongly considering finding a new company because I've been charged very unfairly with Cricket.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
2

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Did Not Receive 3rd Month Free as Promised - Scam

Posted on: May 27th, 2015 by michael_fritz

We went in this store at the end of this past March to sign up for 3 lines of service. We chose to leave Verizon due to the affordable monthly costs. Upon signing up were were promised the 3rd month would be free. This was their big promotion. After spending $700 on phones, cases, the month of service the third month came. When we called customer service close to our due date they said the store had to apply the credit. Then we call the store and they said no customer service has to. A few days later we call customer service again they said we were not eligible for the 3rd month free . They stated that we were not put on the correct plan to qualify. Ok we were the customer.and it was not our fault that the person offering us this promo was not aware of Crickets terms. They told us that they were never informed by corporate that they had to put new customers on a certain rate plan to be eligible. Then I was told that 4 other customers got scammed by this as well. Calling customer service is a joke. Your talking to someone in a foreign country who has such a strong accent you can't even understand a word they are saying. After countless attempts by the store manager and another employee on chat with a supervisor it was still denied. They told me "sorry we tried". So I gave up and just paid over $100 for the the month I was initially promised would be FREE! I will continue to stay with Cricket for only 2 reasons. Better reception & lower monthly bill. Just stop making offers and promises you won't be able to keep to your customers. I know the manager and the employee did make a good effort to try to resolve this but at the same time I am out over $100 not getting this promotion I was promised. Not a good way to do business. Beware of these offers that sound too good to be true. One mistake during the signup process can cost you!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

So far, so good!

Posted on: May 12th, 2015 by tehalchemist

Just ported over from virgin mobile and so far I'm pleased. I took the offer for the free after rebate Nokia 530 and the flat 35$ a month after auto pay plan. I plan on upgrading phones at the end of the year when new Windows 10 phones come out as there should be lots of options with AT&T's selection of phones that can also be used on Crickets service since they are owned by AT&T and used there Cell towers. After my phone arrived by UPS it was a snap to set up online. I called customer service to change my account pin number for personal preference and it was no problem. Customer service was outsourced to country outside the US and the Agent seemed to be reading from a script for everything but she was pleasant enough, easy to understand, and handled my request as needed. So far I am pleased with Cricket. My signal and coverage has improved and I will save a few dollars a month with the flat 35$ a month plan. They also have a referral program as other reviewers here have noted. If your take referral within your first month of service you receive 25$ as does the referrer. This is my personal referral link. Please use and help the both of us make some money, Thanks! https://mycricket.sparkrefer.com/5D63kGc

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Cricket Wireless deserves a 0 in customer service

Posted on: April 13th, 2015 by blackcurry

Got message on phone saying my account payment was due on the 9th of April. Checked my bank statement and Cricket had received my payment and cashed the check. I called and told them I had all ready paid and they had my money. Asked woman speaking marginal English for an email address so I could prove that they had received and cashed my check. Marginal English woman ignored my request, even after I repeated it several times. I asked to speak to a supervisor or at least someone with a better command of English. She cut me off. April 9th I had surgery to remove kidney stones. Came home to find that my phone account had been placed on suspension for non payment. I again called Cricket with the same result....none. By this time I was fit to be tied, so I switched my phone service to Verizon. Service would not completely transfer due to Cricket holding my account on suspension. Went to a local office with proof of payment. They informed me that it would be another 72 hours before the account was released. I have now been without a phone for 5 days due to the incompetence of the Cricket payment processing system. This is the worst customer service I have ever seen. If I could have given a 0 in the ratings, I would have. Will never do business with Cricket again. Believe it or not, they are calling this an "expedited" claim. Will never recommend Cricket to anybody.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
4

Would Recommend to a friend.

Best Price for the Coverage

Posted on: April 3rd, 2015 by m8rjv

Cricket, which is owned by AT&T, is pretty much the best price for the AT&T coverage it offers. It doesn't have the best customer service (which isn't really a surprise since it is owned by AT&T), but for $35/month for unlimited talk, text and 2.5GB of data, I can overlook the bad customer service because, hopefully, I won't be dealing with them too often. With that said, I have 2 pieces of advice for those looking to switch to Cricket: 1.) DON'T fall for the Rebate and 2.) Take advantage of the $25 credit referrals. 1.) Don't get lured into their "free" phones! I (and many others you can read about online) have never received the rebate, even after hours of talking to reps on the phone and online. If that didn't take up enough time, the time and energy to keep remembering to check online to see your rebate's progress just isn't worth it. It's much better to just bring your own device and insert their sim. 2.) Also, if you’re planning to or just joined Cricket, make sure to take advantage of the FREE $25 credit!: https://mycricket.sparkrefer.com/4atZNFW. If you use a referral within your first month of service Cricket will give the new customer and the referrer $25 in credit! (This has been the only promo in Cricket that I have found to work lol.) So, Cricket's customer service isn't anything to rave about, but for a simple, affordable monthly plan, Cricket can't be beat!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages

// Datonics pro-market tag //