Helio Reviews See All Helio News

Helio was created after a $440 million joint venture of Internet service provider Earthlink Inc. and South Korean carrier SK Telecom Co. They offer a new mobile brand that gives young, passionate consumers the type of wireless experience they have been looking for. They have designed their service offerings to enhance communication with your community through numerous networking and entertainment applications. Helio is currently the only service provider that offers a custom mobile MySpace service, allowing customers to manage their MySpace mail and comments while on the go. Stay visual with friends and family members by using their photo blogging feature to post directly from your Helio device to your MySpace account.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Pages

Average user reviews

Based on 19 Reviews

Overall
3.473685
Service Quality
3.36842
Customer Service
3.421055
Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Helio's customer service SUCKS!

Posted on: July 30th, 2009 by Shannon H

The good: Great deviceGreat plansThe bad: poor customer servicepoor choice of customer insurance, The Signal sucks as well. Summary: I had my Helio Ocean for a little over a year and was very happy. It wasn't until I lost my phone that I started having problems. Helio uses "The Signal" for their cell phone insurance. The Signal gives customers 2 claims to use per 12 months....I set up a claim once for my phone's water damage in which they sent me a defective phone. When calling helio they told me I needed to call the signal. so I set up a claim. They send another phone...months later I end up misplacing the phone and when I go to make a claim, it's denied because of my two previous claims. Who would have thought that the claim I put in for the defective phone THEY sent me would be counted against me!? This pissed me off and I decided to cancel my service...there was no reason why now that I'd genuinely loss the phone that The Signal or Helio couldn't work with me. My only options were to upgrade my phone at $150 or to purchase a new Ocean at $260....what is the point of insurance if it does nothing for me!? An hour after canceling my service, I received a phone call that someone had found my phone. I call Helio to see if they can stop the cancellation on the service. TWO different reps told me that the cancellation fee of $175 would be waived. A few days later I check my account to see how much I owe....$111 which is correct for the $99 unlimited plan I have. Two days later when I go to pay the bill, my account says $440 or something to that effect. When I call to find out the breakdown of my bill they couldn't even give me the breakdown saying they can't view what's in the next billing cycle. I'm also told that the 175 is probably on the account....what kind of sense does that make if days after I canceled it wasn't added to the bill, but then a week later it is!?!? The customer should not have to see information that should be handled behind the scenes. Helio's customer service has done nothing but piss me off in the past 2 weeks. I was fine the first year because everything I needed to handle could be handled by me. I can't wait for the day where I am financially okay to cancel this service and go to another provider...there's no way I'm stayin in another 2 year plan with them...no way. If I hadn't found they phone, I would have left the service canceled. I will raise HELL if I call back in 2 days and they tell me that $175 fee cannot be waived. Helio is not in the business of trying to keep their customers.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Best I've had.

Posted on: January 27th, 2009 by Loreli M.

The good: Excellent reception. Cool devices. Good rates. The bad: Ocean sometimes freezes. Not enough device choices. Sometimes get texts from random people, when I text to ask who it is they say they didn't text me which is weird (happened about 4 times). No local number - I'm from Peoria and my number comes up as Rock Island. Summary: The only problem I had with this phone that I had to call customer service about was it was supposed to be activated already when I recieved it in the mail and it was not. The woman I spoke to was very helpful and we got it activated in no time. I went on a road trip to Boston this summer and I remember having reception the entire way. We even went up to New Hampshire into the middle of nowhere and the only two people with reception were me and another person who had Helio. Others had Sprint and AT&T. For unlimited EVERYTHING (but mins) they have a great deal going on. I just wish they'd get some more devices!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Helio is the best service I ever had!!!!!!!!!

Posted on: December 10th, 2008 by Anonymous

The good: I travel for a living and I have not been to a place where I didn't get service. Great customer service.Battery life is good.Devices have tons of features.Plans are not expensive for what you get. The bad: NEW PHONES!!!! where are they?My contract is over and still no new phones?Summary: I signed up with Helio when they first started, I purchased the Hero and it was a great phone. Then the Ocean came out, had to have it. It has been a great phone, no problems at all, it does everything I could ask for in a phone (device, sorry Helio). But its time for something new or I am switching carriers. I want to wait for Ocean 2 but I don't think its worth the wait. Helio announced Ocean 2 early 2008, and they keep pushing it back. Whats the deal? Other than that, I would recommend it to anyone.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Helio is horrible.

Posted on: October 24th, 2008 by Erika Burch

The good: None.The bad: Phone never connects to internet. Slow, slow, slow. Had to have the company reset my phone, and lost all pictures and apps. Summary: Same complaints as all the others. Customer service sucks, but they do smile, which adds insult to injury when I have a problem. Paying my bill over the phone takes a MINIMUM of 9 minutes and 20 seconds. I live in West Palm Beach Florida, and the only place near my house that sells Helio is over 50 miles away. I didn't know this when I moved here from Illinois this year. There is no actual building I can go to for help with my phone, and trying to understand them over the phone is useless.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Don't Buy any Apps or Games!

Posted on: June 30th, 2008 by Name Name

When the Internet froze on my Helio, the device required a factory reset. While they encourage you to backup your contacts and photos, nothing can be done regarding apps and games. If you buy a bunch of them, you lose them all. Stupid policy.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

sucks

Posted on: June 16th, 2008 by Jodi Lawler

The good: NONEThe bad: Poor customer service, faulty devicesSummary: Helio stinks, they have horrible customer service. They solve none of your problems. I have had to get a phone for the 3rd time, Ocean phone freezes continually, I can't wait to get out of my contract! They dont care when my phone freezes and I lose all my information phone numbers pictures. They do not care for their custmers inconvience, they make it feel like its your fault!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

HELIO Stinks!

Posted on: May 28th, 2008 by Lola U

The good: NONEThe bad: Poor customer service, faulty devices, unreliable network.Summary: To make it short and to the point, Helio sucks, they have horrible customer service with smiles, they are really nice but solve none of your problems even after explaning it for the 20th time, network stinks I go on roaming everywhere, when an airplane passes i loss reception, internet is down for days at a time, Ocean phone freezes continually, I can't wait to get out of my contract!!! Dont recommend anyone in Texas to get HELIO

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Service

Posted on: May 23rd, 2008 by Anonymous

The good: Internet options, lots of memory, good service reception in no reception areas. Great phones to choose from,The bad: The myspace freezes sometimes when your on it.Summary: On my ocean I get good service and great reception on the internet functions. I like the fact that I can save photos, music, and videos to my memory card and phone. I also like that when people call their pic shows up and they can have a speacalized ringtone. I also like how their is a space for their email and im info when imputing a call.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Helio is AMAZING.

Posted on: April 16th, 2008 by Cody Kelly

The good: Everything. 99$ plan, only way to go over is buyign ringtones and international calls =DThe bad: none.Summary: I've had Sprint, T-Mobile, AT&T,Verizon. And none come close to the customer service. They have their 99$ plans, but nothing gives you everything like Helio does. Great Phones. I have the Ocean I love it compared to my Sidekick LX =} . Love the service. Service EVERYWHERE. Myspace, Facebook. Its got it alll.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Drift

Posted on: March 30th, 2008 by Megan Saltenberger

The good: It can take the memory card, unlike the Heat, the smaller version of this. Small, light, and has decent battery life.The bad: Battery sometimes falls off in my pocket since there is no real case made for it.Summary: I got the Drift because after three months my Heat phone wouldn't let me dial. I got this phone and was just as happy if not more so with the features that came with this phone. They rushed me out another phone and for unlimited text messaging, picture messaging and 500 minutes is a good deal. It also comes with unlimited GPS, internet and just about anything else you can think of. With insurance included I am still happy with the price of my phone.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages