Nextel Reviews

Company Profile: Nextel is part of the Sprint Nextel Corporation, which was officially formed in August 2005 following the successful acquisition of NEXTEL Communications by Sprint Communications for $35 billion. Sprint was founded as The Brown Telephone Company in 1899 in Abilene, KS. Sprint Nextel (aka "Sprint") is now headquartered in Reston, VA.

Network Benefits: Voice services including Push-to-Talk; High speed wireless data. Special Plan Features: Nextel together with Sprint offer plans starting at a Basic 200 all the way up to Simply Everything.

Unique Features: Push-to-talk service; GPS location services; Business services including mobile Java applications.

Pros: Extensive coverage for voice and high speed data services; Merger with Nextel means free calling between many Sprint and Nextel subscribers; Extensive business services.

Cons: Limited number of handets; Fewer data and entertainment options than available from Sprint; Limited push-to-talk compatibility with Sprint customers.

Technology Used: iDEN network using TDMA-based technology. WiDEN packet-data protocol used for data services.

Coverage: Nationwide. Sprint is planning marketing push in 2008 to convert Nextel users to Sprint's CDMA PCS network. Sprint Nextel plans to absorb Nextel brand into Sprint PCS by 2010.

Customer Service Review: See Consumer Reviews

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Average user reviews

Based on 63 Reviews

Overall
2.031745
Service Quality
2.15873
Customer Service
2.25397
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

NEXTEL IS A NIGHTMARE

Posted on: May 22nd, 2008 by Melissa Sass

The good: NONEThe bad: Anything you can possibly imagineSummary: I've had my nextel for 2 years. The battery life lasts only ONE hour while talking, and 1/2 a day while idle. I added my husband to my plan with no extra fees. Yeah, I go no extra fees, but they added an extra year to my plan! They say one price for a shared plan, and after taxes and other bullsh** fees, you're paying more than you would if you had 2 separate plans. Customer service...my 9-year old is more helpful than those people. They ask you if you have a complaint and when you tell them, all they do is apologize. Fix the darn problem, don't say you're sorry!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Customer Service

Posted on: May 20th, 2008 by melissa miller

The good: Great customer service when you get Nextel people not Sprint peopleThe bad: Being linked with Sprint Customer serviceSummary: The merger between the two companies have left a poor taste in my mouth. I love being a Nextel customer. When the merger happened, yes there were more towers but the kind friendly people disappeared and were replaced by people that are not willing to go the extra mile to satisfy your needs, have trouble with the English language and seem like they would rather be playing golf with their neighbor than helping you.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Tons of excessive charges

Posted on: April 23rd, 2008 by Luke Eaton

The good: remotely tough phonesThe bad: Everything, this company is terrible. Their customer service is garbage, they have extreme start up fees and will charge you the full amount for breaking a contract if you switch your number over just 1 day before your contract ends. In addition, be prepared to drop at least 10 calls a day even in densely populated areas. Summary: Basically, this company is a complete waste of money, terrible service everywhere, horrible customer service, overcharge for everything from the day you start with them. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone. I barely know anyone that has this terrible company anymore, everyone is switching away from them. Don't make the mistake of switching over your number one day before your contract ends. They will charge you the full cancellation fee anyways.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Drop them before they drop you!

Posted on: April 2nd, 2008 by D Ferranti

The good: NONEThe bad: No service, dropped calls, complete run around when you call customer service. Phones to expensive, no discount for long term customers.Summary: Been with Nextel for 10 years on and off, have 4 phones, Drive a truck North South East West. OTR I have NO SERVICE more often then not. I even carried a T-Mobile phone just to compare, their service area was way better then Nextel. And I travel the Interstate not back roads. Trucks are gone so is Nextel, I will buy out of my contract. Can't stand them.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Nextel from He__

Posted on: January 28th, 2008 by DONNA WIKE

The good: NOTHINGThe bad: 2 cans and a string works just as wellSummary: First of all, they sent phones out late. And they count your cancellation from date of order, not date of delivery date. Phones would not pick up. So bad, my husband's employer said he needed to do something, because they need to contact him on road. Well, we cancelled and got charged $400. Tried to explain to Nextel about late delivery of phones to no avail. We would rather use phone cards if they were last company on earth. Customer service sucks. We now call them Nextel from He__

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

stay away

Posted on: December 23rd, 2007 by dan convery

The good: direct connectThe bad: customer service, dropped callsSummary: I can live with the dropped calls and the subpar coverage because the the direct connect feature is so convienent for my buisness. But ever since Sprint took over Nextel Customer servie has gotten so bad that I'm willing to break the contract on every phone we have with Nextel just to get away from Sprint. I just spent over 3 hours on the phone getting put on hold and switched back and forth between sprint and nextel customer service departments. They try to market themselves as on big company. but as soon as something goes wrong sprint blames nextel and nextel blames sprint. nothing ever seems to get resolved. I'm going to have to learn to live without the direct connect feature. these guys just aren't worth the trouble

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

NEXTEL STINKS

Posted on: September 14th, 2007 by Wayne Smith

The good: NONEThe bad: LOTS, Droped calls, no service, etc.Summary: Where do i begin, years ago they were great,then they desided to market to genral public, 2 way got busy. Next sold to Sprint, has realy gone do hill from there, drop calls, no service, etc. were it all used to work. You can beat them at there own game, keep track off your service requests and after a while sue them to get out of contract, no judge will make you stay with company that is not performing.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

READY does not mean you have service!!!!

Posted on: August 27th, 2007 by TANYA TAFT

The good: PTT was a big seller for me and the service was excellent, went it was just Nextel!!!The bad: READY in place where the Nextel word usually is, does not mean quailty service. In fact, it mean all service is restricted. Even when your bill is paid, you can not use your phone.Summary: When I called about my phone saying READY all the time, they told me it was my phone. I was told to take it to a service center, which I did more than three diffrent times. Each time they could not do anything, because it was not saying it at that particular time. I have been a customer for five years, with three phones on my account and they are all doing the same thing. Nextel continues to tell me that it is not a network problem. I know different and I am about to get out as soon as I can. Just don't do it!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Why I am leaving Nextel

Posted on: August 21st, 2007 by Charles Brown

The good: Push to talkThe bad: CUSTOMER SERVICELoyalty to customerSummary: Before Sprint took over, Nextel was very easy to work with. They would deal with customers individually and most times come to solution if there was a problem - and they were always courteous. However, ever since Sprint took over and brought their legacy of non-customer service it has gone to pot. No one at customer service can ever do anything reasonable. They surely must be reading from a script of do's and don'ts. I have been a Nextel user for years, but when my contract ends next month - that's it. I am leaving. And the straw that broke the camel's back was when I asked them to waive extending my contract if I increased my phone plan and added a line. They would not budge on it .. so neither will I. I will greatly miss the PTT, but I will not for one day miss Sprint.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Run!

Posted on: August 6th, 2007 by Angela D

The good: My husband is with Sprint/Nextel... other than that... ???The bad: Tomorrow I am finally going to breaking my contract with Nextel... and the opportunity has not come soon enough! The only reasons I have stayed as long as I have (about 2 years)... 1: my husband is stuck with this carrier due to work, 2: I did not want to shell out the $200 to break my contract, and 3: I was 'tricked' into renewing my contract.Where do I begin... horrible customer service. When my husband and I moved here and were going to switch to Nextel we wanted to keep our numbersSummary: I have done alot of research in the past couple of weeks, as I have been wanting to switch for a very long time now. Nextel/Sprint continually rank very low in all nearly polls and in all categories of ratings... from online polls to Consumer Reports (they do an annual issue dedicated to cell phones & coverage... most recently January, 2007). In other words, I am not in the minority in my bad experiences, so if you don't feel like I have given enough valid examples as to why you should RUN! then read up on it yourself! My husband is also just as unhappy with Nextel... the covereage, the services, the prices, the customer service, etc, etc... but as I said, he's stuck due to his work. It will actually hurt us to talk to each other now, as we will not be able to use any sort of mobile-to-mobile minutes, but it's going to be worth it to me!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages