SouthernLINC Wireless Reviews See All SouthernLINC Wireless News

Company Overview: SouthernLINC Wireless is a wireless communications network backed by the strength and reliability of Southern Company - the parent company of four electric utilities in the Southeast: Alabama Power, Georgia Power, Gulf Power and Mississippi Power, which are also SouthernLINC Wireless customers. In addition, SouthernLINC Wireless provides reliable wireless communications service, including mobile phones, to a wide range of businesses and consumers within our 127,000 square-mile coverage area that includes Alabama, Georgia, southeastern Mississippi, and the Florida Panhandle.

Network Benefits: Standard wireless voice combined with push-to-talk service; Wireless Web and email services including BlackBerry support; Special mobile data services for businesses, public safety groups, and others.

Special Plan Features: Instant LINC push-to-talk minutes, free incoming text messages, monthly plans available for under $30/mo.

Unique Features: Family Reunion plans share cell and Instant LINC minutes with up to three additional lines; several rugged/weatherproof phones available.

Pros: Family Reunion plans offer good value with push-to-talk services.

Cons: Not all plans include nationwide long distance; limited number of handsets available; better priced plans require two year service agreement.

Coverage: Regional coverage in the Southeastern U.S. including Mississippi, Alabama, Georgia, and Florida.

Customer Service: SoutherLINC has been praised for their service during Hurricane Katrina and other severe weather in their coverage area.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

20% off select Accessories.

Use Code: TMO20
Valid Until: December 30th, 2016

20% off select Beats Headsets.

Terms: web only
Use Code: TMOS20
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

Free Sim Card when you bring in Phone or Tablet.

Use Code: FREESIM
Valid Until: December 31st, 2016

Free Ground Shipping when you buy a BYOP 4G LTE SIM kit bundle (4G LTE SIM kit and airtime card) order of $16 or more.

Terms: This offer is only available with the purchase of any BYOP 4G LTE SIM kit or BYOP 4G LTE SIM kit airtime bundle through October 24, 2016.
Valid Until: October 24th, 2016

Deals from Verizon Wireless + Free Shipping.

Valid Until: December 30th, 2017

Free Ground Shipping when you buy a Home Phone or Home Phone Bundle.

Terms: This offer is only available with the purchase of any Home Phone and/or Home Phone & airtime card bundle through October 24, 2016
Valid Until: October 24th, 2016

Free Ground Shipping when you buy a phone, phone bundle (phone + airtime card) over $19.99.

Terms: This offer is only available with the purchase of any phones and/or phone & airtime card bundle through October 24, 2016.
Valid Until: October 24th, 2016

Free Ground Shipping when you buy a BYOT SIM or BYOT SIM bundle (BYOT SIM + Data Plan).

Terms: This offer is only available with the purchase of any BYOT SIM and/or BYOT SIM & Data Plan bundle through October 24, 2016
Valid Until: October 24th, 2016

Free Ground Shipping when you buy a BYOP SIM Bundle (BYOP SIM + Airtime Card) of $16 or more.

Terms: This offer is only available with the purchase of a BYOP SIM & airtime card bundle through October 24, 2016.
Valid Until: October 24th, 2016

Free Ground Shipping when you buy a Remote Alert System, Add-On Accessories or Remote Alert System Bundle (Remote Alert System + airtime card).

Terms: This offer is only available with the purchase of any Remote Alert System, Add-On Accessories or Remote Alert System & airtime card bundle through October 24, 2016.
Valid Until: October 24th, 2016

Pages

Average user reviews

Based on 4 Reviews

Overall
3
Service Quality
2.5
Customer Service
3.5
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

No service

Posted on: November 2nd, 2009 by A Louder

After 10 years I am about to leave Southern Linc. Their service began great but has declined year after year. My latest phone was the last straw. I literally can not make a phone call and they say they will not look at my new phone because the moisture tab is light pink. Apparently humidity will void your warranty and yet they still sell the phones everyday in South Georgia. Now I am locked into a two year contract with no cell capability and spotty push to talk service. This limited capability all comes with a price tag equal to that of my wife's Blackberry with email and internet service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

spotty service

Posted on: February 26th, 2007 by Jennie Adams

The good: Great phone with a great deal.The bad: very spotty coverage, garbled phone calls, extreme delays in messaging. Summary: Have only had service 3 months. Garbled calls, spotty service, dropped calls, delayed messaging, and no return of emails (preferred method of contact cause phone doesnt work half the time). Its looking like its worth the 200 cancellation fee to switch.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

My I870

Posted on: September 24th, 2006 by Ricardo Colon

The good: It has great signal in the county areThe bad: If you go out of the county it tends to drop callsSummary: I am pleased with this phone, and the carrier, I only wish they would put another tower to help in less drop calls.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

more rural towers

Posted on: August 24th, 2006 by mitzi green

The good: ease of use, wonderful service inside city limits,many locations of retail stores, updates per text msg on plans, sales etc.The bad: no rural towers.Summary: Overall, I am satisfied with my Southern Line service. The only drawback for me is the fact that I live in a rural area where the nearest tower is miles up the road. If I need to "linc" someone while I am at home, I have to either get in my car and go up the road or walk around in my yard until hopefully I find a spot where the linc will beep on and I can get through to someone!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com