SunCom now T-Mobile Reviews See All SunCom now T-Mobile News

As of August 30, 2008, SunCom was acquired by T-Mobile and will operate under the T-Mobile brand. SunCom operated its own independent GSM network in several southeastern states where T-Mobile has had little presence. SunCom customers will be absorbed by T-Mobile and most SunCom dealers will become part of the T-Mobile dealer network.

Company Overview: SunCom provides digital wireless services in the Southeastern United States and parts of the Caribbean. The company was founded in 1999 as Triton PCD Holdings.

Special Plan Features: Unlimited, regional, and national plans available; Business plans available; Danger Hiptop and other Web/data plans available; Pay-as-you-go plans available.

Unique Features: Mobile-to-Anyone allows unlimited calling to and from any 10 wireless or landline numbers; Napster Mobile allows purchase and downloading of songs direct to mobile phone.

Pros: Innovative billing and service features; Good selection of cutting-edge phones.

Cons: Unlimited nights/weekends and mobile-to-mobile are $15/mo extra on all plans.

Coverage: Regional in North and South Carolina, and parts of Georgia, Tennessee, and Virginia. Caribbean coverage in Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Network Benefits: Local, state, and national service available.

Customer Service: See Consumer Reviews

Show me:

Pages

Average user reviews

Based on 47 Reviews

Overall
2.12766
Service Quality
2.106385
Customer Service
1.93617
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Suncom

Posted on: August 22nd, 2008 by ya yua

The good: Unlimited texts and minutesThe bad: Worst service ever never get service anywhere, not at school or anywhereSummary: I hate suncom so much i never get service anywhere it really is just terrible and the phones always break and i have to pay 100

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Suncom Service is the Worst

Posted on: August 11th, 2008 by Cindy Campbell

The good: Cheap (until you actually use something)The bad: Unpredictable service areas, undecipherable plan options, overages, poor customer serviceSummary: I've got a family plan with 4 phones. Not ONCE in the times that I've added/changed anything have they ever gotten it right on the first try. Always takes 3-4 calls with customer service people who provided the extra touch of making you feel as if you are stupid.Dialing is hit or miss. LOTS of times you dial a number only to sit and hear nothing... and then dropped line. May take 2 or 3 tries, especially to other suncom customers.Dead service areas throughout the state Why am I still here, let's just say be careful of making any type of changes to you plan (even upgrading a phone), as it results in a plan renewal you were unaware of.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Very dissapointed with SunCom service

Posted on: August 7th, 2008 by Alex Evans

The good: Nothing(some of the phones are cool)The bad: Everything(dropped calls 110% guaranteed) Summary: I was forced to switch to SUNCOM when AT&T merged. The service was okay at the beginning and now after 3-4 years, I am 100% SURE that I will NEVER have a conversation on my cell phone again. Do you want to know why?Well, my calls are dropped 110% of the time. No lie, I never have service. My mother also has suncom and NEVER has service.Its gotten down right Ridiculous, so please suncom, STEP UR GAME UP, or ... no thats your only option.SUNCOM IS HORRIBLE NOW!After these next 1.5 years, I'm getting rid if this suncom plan. The only reason why I am on it, its because of my mother. But however, by that time I will be able to go with VERIZON, or something that has SERVICE.I tried calling customer service, and they just told me they would call me back.WHAT IS THE POINT OF HAVING A PHONE, IF YOU NEVER HAVE SERVICE. POINT BLANK PERIOD, SUN COM SUCK!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Sub-COM!

Posted on: June 14th, 2008 by Anonymous

The good: Cheap!The bad: Don't get me started.Summary: Our family has had Suncom since it pretty much came out, it's been fine for the first 4 years, until we start actually using our phones alot more. Text messages and Voice mails take 15-30 minutes to get delievered to our phones, NO customer service to speak of, dropped calls, no service when clearly, we should have service. We've paid overages when we shouldn't have. One time we had a $700 phone bill. We've paid $200 even a month for SIX years, plus numerous OUTRAGEOUS overages, plus phone replacements. We've had most of their phones, and they just all quit, Suncom doens't do anything about it.Online billing is a joke, their website is poorely designed, can't easily get around to what you're needing to see on your account. This is the absolute worst phone company to date, they don't even need to call themselves a phone company, they're so horrible. All of our friends and family have had the same expierence, and they disconnected theirs.The thing is, we have 4 lines, that's $800 we can't afford.THANK GOD T-mobile bought them out, maybe we can finally have a real phone company.Hopefully they'll be better.STAY AWAY FROM SUNCOM, nothing but scum.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

SUNCOM SERVICE.. PLANS.. CUSTOMER SERVICE...

Posted on: June 13th, 2008 by Nick B

The good: Great rates, service plan flexibility, well-trained CSR's.The bad: None that other providers don't experience.Summary: I've read through most of these SunCom reviews and something that a lot of you need to understand.. is that the problems you're experiencing are common accross the country. SO much goes into cell phone technology that 100% dependability is impossible. The folks at SunCom DO stand behind their service and their promises. Dropped calls, for example is when you switch from your home network to a roaming network. IT HAPPENS WITH EVERY PROVIDER! There is no way to maintain a call when it switches over to a forien network. Oh, and ALL cell phone towers use "line-of-sight". So trees, buildings, mountains, etc. interfear with calls on every network. Advice to you: when you sign up for cell phone service go to their website, look at the coverage maps. If you live Waaaaayyy out in the country with no coverage area... get a landline! You'll know what to expect. Don't blame the company for your oen poor research! I can say that I've heard that SunCom is adding 300+ towers in southern South Carolina alone in the next 6 months. After the T-Mobile merger, all current SunCom customers will KEEP THEIR UNPLANS... How can you beat this? T-Mobile will expand the power of the network, while existing SunCom customers will be able to take advantage of the new technology at the same old (cheap) pricing! Bottom line.. these problems listed in this forum are things you'll experience with any provider. It just gets blown out of proportion when it happens to YOU.. then you tend to say that it must be YOUR provider, only. That is NOT the case. Switch to another service.. and come back here and tell us how bad they are... ok?

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

my 2 cents

Posted on: June 10th, 2008 by jeremy black

I was with verizon for three years or so, i decided to go with suncom for a number of reasons. first off the rates were better. as i looked into it i saw they had merged with t-mobile.i know out west they have been a carrier for a long time and have good customer service and signal. i would say that suncom has as good of a signal as verizon in my area

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Customer Service Horrible

Posted on: May 17th, 2008 by Anonymous

The good: Unlimited long distanceThe bad: Horrible to deal withSummary: Received a phone for my daughter that quit after 9 months. Went into Suncom to complain and he told me that there was nothing he could do except that I send the phone to Sony to get it fixed. He would supply me with a replacement until the Sony came back for a $15.00 dollar a month extra charge(some loner huh). He told me I would have to call the company(Suncom) so I did only to have the woman tell me the same thing. I even asked them to sell me a phone at a discounted price(they would not even do that).All in all the first two people I talked to were very proffessional and kind until I asked to talk to the womans supervisor. She was by far the worst person I ever had to talk with. She was very rude, talked to me like I was a child (DO NOT LIKE THAT) because I did not fully understand all of what she was explaining to me (you know ...well we can do this but you will have to pay this amount and we will do that but you have to do this and that). She did offer me $100 off a phone in the end (provided I extended my contract another 2 years) but by this time I had enough of her snotty attitude towards me so I told her to just cancel the account. I had second thoughts 30 minutes later and called back to cancel my cancellation(they wanted a $200 cancellation fee)so I went ahead and paid full price for another phone (they had me...at least until my contract runs out). I will never use Suncom again and I can't wait till my contract is up. I hope this helps anyone that is considering them as a provider. I will tell anyone who asks me about the company the same thing. Suncom...you dropped the ball on my loyalty as a customer.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

SunCom is Pretty Good

Posted on: March 25th, 2008 by Jule Dragstrem

The good: Low prices compared to other companies.The bad: Insurance can only be bought for a short period of time. Poor reception in one area.Summary: SunCom is a pretty fair company. Yes, you can only buy insurance for a short period of time. They tell you that right up front. Second, my husband and I did not have to renew a plan once our 2 yr. deal ended. The company has been very gracious and helpful.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Suncom is Ok.

Posted on: March 19th, 2008 by Irene Haskins

The good: I barely ever have a dropped call.They have never taken too much money from me.the unlimited calling plan.The bad: Crappy phones.Summary: I have had suncom for about 2 years now. maybe 3. and i haven't had a problem with it. the only thing i don't like about them is that their phones aren't very fancy. even though that doesn't really matter. but i want a phone with a full keyboard for texting. and they don't have nice cheap ones for that. i think they should get sidekicks like tmobile. other then that the service is great.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

SunCom reps must be the ones writing the positive reviews

Posted on: March 8th, 2008 by Glen Moody

The good: They had the best service for my first 4 years; when they had the slogan "We get it." The bad: Apparently they don't "get it" anymore. They let their towers die out and replaced good signals with "no signals." Dropped calls are now routine since they let many of their tower leases expire. I owned the first cell phone in this end of the state and this is the worst service and signal there has ever been here.Summary: For a few years SunCom was a dream with their 'truth in wireless billing" and the "unplan." Now they add on fake charges, extra charges, charge $40 for an extra line that they said would be $20, have lousy signal, always end up roaming outside my county; that is recent too. It's time for them to turn off the light. I'm switching to Verizon after 6 years with SunCom and they don't care. Good riddance, SunCom!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages