Tello Reviews See All Tello News

Tello is a no contract cell phone carrier that lets users customize their plan to fit their needs. With Tello, you can pick the amount of minutes, data, and text messages you need each month. Compare Tello cell phone plans below, and read Tello reviews. Tello plans also include calling to Mexico and Canada as a standard part of the plan. If you have experience with Tello, consider writing your own review.

Show me:

+
Advanced Options

Sort results by:

Average user reviews

Based on 19 Reviews

Overall
4.94737
Service Quality
4.68421
Customer Service
5
Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Tello Rocks!

Posted on: March 28th, 2017 by Bhlmeyer

I am really amazed at such good customer service, seemingly USA-based, and very prompt, knowledgeable, and curteous for a MVNO. I am equally pleased with their other company, Keep Calling, for our international long distance needs. The ability to set our plans up according to our needs is really useful for us. The paygo is great for our youngest two homeschooled teens who use wifi mostly, but when away from home need some texts at 1 cent each. No minimums on paygo and no real expiration! Porting in our numbers was effortless and quick, and we were able to use our own Sprint phones with the sim cards currently installed. I would recommend for anyone that is in area with good native Sprint coverage. Give em a try!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

TELLO - Best option I could find

Posted on: March 28th, 2017 by idic

When RingPlus went down I did a lot of research and settled on Tello. We have two cell phones on plans and one on pay-as-you-go. The plans are well tailored to our usage needs and the pay-as-you-go option lets us have an emergency back-up cell sitting right next to our Ooma voip landline phone for when the power goes out. I always like to have a back-up for my back-up. Since the pay-as-you-go deposit never expires (so long as you make at least one call every six months) my $10 deposit will keep that phone alive for years. Good international calling rates and 24/7 customer service don't hurt either.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

AAA+ Customer Service

Posted on: March 20th, 2017 by ammsell

I have tello for pre-teen phone with limited service and did not want to pay $30 to our carrier just for him to have a phone in case of emergencies. We pay $11 per month!!! We have had Tello for several months and every time I call, a person answers the phone with pleasant attitude. We switched to a new phone a few months in and the customer service rep answered the phone all 5 times I called and helped me tremendously. They are always helpful and if they can't help, you may be on a short hold but they will come back an answer. And they remind you that they are there 24/7!!! The big carriers should take pointers from Tello. When our contract is up at the end of this year, our family is switching everyone to Tello. It is hard to find companies with "GREAT" customer service these days. The price is right and the service is great. I have no complaints and would give a 10 star if I could.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
4

Would Recommend to a friend.

Tello--New for me, but so far, great service

Posted on: March 11th, 2017 by luislast

I came to Tello from different accounts I had on PagePlus Cellular and FreedomPop. The customer service is so much better with Tello. Agents at PagePlus are intractable if they decide you are incorrect. A good service person listens, and even if he/she believes you are in error, is willing to compromise to keep your business. Those at FreedomPop are so stupid and poorly trained, you'd think they were lobotomized patients rounded up from a burned down home for the insane. Phone service is also better than with FreedomPop, even though both are MVNOs that use the Sprint network--at FreedomPop, I often had to dial at least twice to complete a call, and the other party often couldn't hear me well, or would complain that there was an echo on the line. So far call quality is comparable with PagePlus, which uses the Verizon network (arguably the best network, but also the most expensive by far). Also, if you want to speakt to an agent at FreedomPop, (1) you have to pay an extra amount per month(!), and (2) you can only call during business hours--that means if you have a problem at 10PM on a Thursday, or 12 noon on a Saturday, too bad, you have to wait until the next business day! So you could be unable to make or receive a call for nearly 40 hours! Have you ever heard of something so ridiculous? What do you do if you have an emergency, or a vital personal call (birth, death, etc.)? The many different options for plans at Tello also mean that, depending on your needs, you can either save money or only pay a little more than just about any other carrier around (I won't say "every" carrier, since I have only compared as dozen or so). Lastly, you don't have to buy a cell phone from Tello--you can bring any CDMA or many GSM phones, as long as they are not locked, saving you more money. Highly recommended!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

First Impression

Posted on: March 6th, 2017 by dayhiker007

My experience was positive. I did a lot of looking around for a company who presented themselves to my satisfaction through their website. I also made many calls of inquiry. At this point I am satisfied that my research and instinct payed off. This is a high bar to meet so I hope this company can maintain these qualities for the long haul.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Tello will change the course of PAY AS YOU GO for cell phone users.

Posted on: February 27th, 2017 by OG

I'm super pleased with your CS and is much better than my former carrier. They used service tickets and 3 days to a week later you might get a response. My wife and niece are next to join Tello, I'm the Ginny pig. Your PAY AS YOU GO CREDIT is the main reason I went with Tello. 6 months to use up your minutes or until you run out and then auto top up at $2 for a 5.10,20 and 50 dollar plan. That's unheard of for a small user and why we left Virgin Mobil. Keep up the great work and they say customer service is gone, you just proved the Nay Sayers wrong. Thanks again Bill

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Superior customer service for Tello

Posted on: February 25th, 2017 by neenerbred1

I worked with two agents as I needed to call back and they were both wonderful and so helpful! I know one of their names was Oscar so please tell him for me how great he was! Thank you!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Amazing new company incredible unlimited plans and pay as you go

Posted on: February 13th, 2017 by aalbie6

I was a little exceptical about this company at first,I was an ringplus customer but since the company is closing I was desperately looking for a new cell provider,then I came across tello,is great that you can choose your own plan,customize your plan or pay as you go with 3 cents USA calls rates.in my case iam interested in unlimited calling since I use an free android app for texting,so I choosed the $15 unlimited calling plan without texts or data,instead I use WiFi for my internet needs.solo all I pay is $15 plus 2 dollars and something for taxes but is a great deal since you can customize your plan needs,for those with texting needs unlimited texting is available for only $3 so really you can pick your plan at your way.I was paying $35 with other companies in the past but now I really save money.other good thing is you can use your own sprint,boost mobile,virgin mobile approved smartphone even they have their own bring your own device check tool that is very helpful for checking your phone before selecting your plan.in my case I had ported 2 cell numbers to tello and in less than fifteen minutes the porting have been successfully and the programming instructions easy to understand.iam amazed with tello.keep going tello

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Great plan for data/text

Posted on: January 29th, 2017 by jons_wp

I rarely make voice calls and do only minimal text messaging. I'm usually within range of wifi service, but I wanted to finally upgrade my pay-per-minute dumb phone to something smarter, mostly for some data access while away from home and the occasional voice or SMS message. So I didn't want some monthly plan that would cost a lot for a bunch of voice minutes I'm never going to use. Tello had very good plan options and low-cost per-minute and per-MB rates. I chose the "bring your own phone" setup and bought an unlocked Motorola G4 Play (Android). Then I ordered a SIM card and a pay-as-you-go balance of $20. Installing the SIM card and activating the phone on the cell network via Tello's website was a piece of cake. Then I called Tello to port my existing dumb-phone number to the new phone. The service agent was very helpful and friendly, and my old number was ported without any problems (I think I called on a Friday, and it did take a couple of "business" days to complete the process). I've only been on Tello for a few weeks now, but I'm quite happy with everything so far. The pay-as-you-go data plan suits my needs very well, and after fiddling with some Android settings to reduce cell-network background data usage, I think I can probably go several months at a time before topping up my balance. I deducted one star for service quality only because I don't know how the Sprint coverage will be outside my home area (NY metro area).

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Excellent customer service

Posted on: January 20th, 2017 by PhoneBug

I just joined a few days ago, with idea of possibly retrieving a phone number from a former provider Tello contacted me quickly by email that I gave them incorrect information, that phone was not associated with that number, but number was available. Spoke to a support rep the next day, and despite the complication of the issue, he calmly worked through it, and with escalation to another support level, I was able to port my old number to another unlocked phone. In addition to this, the tello app can be used with wifi alone to make calls, and you can see your usage. The phone quality is excellent, unlike the mvno I ported from. So I very much recommend this company as a Sprint service provider.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages