Tracfone Reviews See All Tracfone News

Company Overview: TracFone is a prepaid wireless provider. The company is a subsidiary of América Móvil, and also operates Net10 Wireless.

Network Benefits: TracFone does not operate its own network, but operates as an MVNO reselling service from over 30 other providers.

Special Plan Features: Prepaid services only; Remaining minutes balanced tracked on handset.

Unique Features: Refer-a-Friend offers free service minutes in exchange for referring a friend who purchases service.

Pros: Flexible service options without contract commitment; Inexpensive handsets (often refurbished); Phones and service available direct from Website and at stores nationwide; Choice between many networks and technologies.

Cons: More expensive than contracted service from national carriers.

Technology Used: GSM, TDMA, and CDMA.

Primary Coverage Area: Nationwide.

Customer Service: TracFone's service is both very popular and widely complained about with regard to phone activation and other technical problems, call quality, customer service, and general business practices.

Show me:

Free Shipping on any order.

Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

$48 off and Free Shipping on Samsung GS6.

Use Code: DEAL48
Valid Until: July 8th, 2015

$36 off and Free Shipping on LG Leon.

Valid Until: July 8th, 2015

$30 off and Free Shipping on Samsung Galaxy Prevail LTE.

Use Code: PREVAIL7CJ30
Valid Until: July 14th, 2015

$20 off and Free Shipping on Moto G.

Use Code: MOTOG7CJ20
Valid Until: July 14th, 2015

$20 off and Free Shipping on HTC Desire 510.

Use Code: 510GOODSHOP40
Valid Until: July 13th, 2015

Pages

Average user reviews

Based on 254 Reviews

Overall
2.413385
Service Quality
2.466665
Customer Service
1.87059
Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
4

Would Recommend to a friend.

Tracfone LG Optimus Dynamic L39C

Posted on: May 22nd, 2015 by Mike

My Wife and I have been with Tracfone for over 15+ years. This was my first Android and I realized I didn't understand nothing about it. I will agree with most of the comments concerning Customer Service it can seem very poor at times. Remember this is a "Cheap Carrier". Once you get that all worked out you have a nice basic android. This Phone has always worked perfect for my Wife and I. Some massive changes to my phone have been made it is a true custom device. You can tweak these phones and have features that only come with the "High End Devices". Oh!!! I almost forgot it's "Free" and very easy to figure out. Once you figure out how to ""Root"" this Phone you can customize it to the Max. You are only limited by your own imagination and the modules(50+)that are available for your device which is running 4.1.2 JellyBean. You can put a 32GB SDcard in this phone which I did and make sure you get the Series '10' Super Ultra 32GB Card. It will cost more but will be worth it when you are looking for speed while using your device. First off ""Root"" this phone then D/L SuperUser SU. Then D/L Root Checker it will tell you if the device has "Root". I used TowelRoot <--(Look up on YouTube) it's very simple and you don't need a PC. Go to the Xposed Module Site and D/L Xposed Module Installer <--(Look up on YouTube) once that is done you have access to all the Modules that will work for your device. Go to the Xposed Module Repository and have fun customizing your device. XDA Developers Web Site has so much information about Android and anything you can think of concerning "Root" and they are very friendly and helpful. PS.. I am a Senior Citizen 6 Months ago I didn't even know what a Android was much less how to use it. If I can do this you can too. "Rooting Voids Warranty" This LG L39C Tracfone runs like it has just been given 36 Shots of Expresso right in its Left Ventricle. (Good Luck)

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Don't use Tracfone

Posted on: May 4th, 2015 by gguesss

I thought I would upgrade to a smartphone. They sent me a broken one and told me they could not port my number back over to my old Tracfone. I went over a week without a cell phone. My replacement cell phone arrived and I called to have them port the old number from the original smart phone to the replacement. They told me it would take 15 minutes to 2 days to port.. After 2 days and no service I called back. They said that my phone number had been ported back to my original non-smart phone during the last contact with their representative. The new representative moved my number back from my original non-smart phone to my new smart phone and it activated immediately. I have Wifi and 3 bars on my phone, but have not been able to go online...while KB's have been being deducted. After dealing with the representative tonight that could not discover why I could not access any online services, I asked to speak to a supervisor. After rudely telling me she could not find a problem, she told me I had to go back to the zip code where I activated the phone for it to work. I AM SITTING IN THE SAME CHAIR WHERE THE PHONE WAS ACTIVATED!!! These people are complete idiots! I works tech support for Sprint, Alltel and Verizon and never heard so many excuses or had so many repeat phone calls to successfully activate a smart phone. I've talked to Lolia and Neiby in Columbia, Carlo and Jerimey in the Philippines, Leslona in Uruguay and at least 10 other people with fake names and none no what they are doing. DO NOT USE TRACFONE!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
2

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Worst customer service I have ever experienced

Posted on: April 22nd, 2015 by abosoailam

Network is good. But it takes long time to activate the line and adding a lot of codes to the phone. Also it is a pain to make any change to your line. My phone was stolen and I had to stay on phone for almost one hour till I transferred the line to a new phone. I called today and the representative made fun of me because I mis-pronounced a word! I do not recommend it at all! I tried others for a short visit like Puretalk and it was much easier to deal with.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Tracfone; how is it more expensive???????????

Posted on: April 3rd, 2015 by buzzvader

We have been using Tracfone for years and I don't understand how Tracfone is more expensive than ANY contracted service. It has cost my wife and I very little to use Tracfone compared to Verizon and we have been able to use the service all over the US without any problem. As for customer service, the phone reps have been very kind; you just have to be patient with them. Yes, I have had some difficulty understanding some at times but nothing that can't be overcome with a little patience. If you call up and start yelling at them you won't be very successful. I've noticed that with customer service you have to realize these are people who are trying to HELP you and they're not your enemy. Most of the time it's something YOU failed to do or something technical and not their fault. You might get a bad phone occasionally but most of the time everything works. I could be wrong because I haven't used a lot of different carriers but I'd like someone to show me how Tracfone is more expensive than any major carrier.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

CUSTOMER SERVICE IS PATHETIC

Posted on: March 22nd, 2015 by USA

OMG I have live cahteed 4 times with 4 different people noone wants to do there JOB. And a simple answer they type a link which have been there just needed verification. Called the Customer Services could hardly understand the guy thought I was dialing FLA like the # stated but NO I am out of the USA. I would NEVER purchase a phone like I was going to with this company. Just one simple question and again NO ONE had any common sense. Than told I could purchace the phone thru them BUT go to another store in my area for a card when this is supposdly bundled. It's a wonder QVC who I spoke to does NOT recommend you. People get in the USA where people are willing to do a job. Just PATHETIC.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

tracfone

Posted on: March 8th, 2015 by classicpassion

Tracfone is great for people who wants to be anonymous like *** and *** as well as ***** that's it and can afford the high dollar minute cards or minutes purchase !! other than that ..it is a money motivated company ! using a "low paid outsourcing customer service " who sometime you could understand and most you can't ?! they are wholesalers who rent bulk minutes from the big boys and retail them to the public in the U.S particularly for high many dollars return on the huge minutes number they pay for 1 cent only !! nothing Free beware ? not even calling their CUSTOMER SERVICE they love you to make a mistake so they can charge you more MY EXPERIENCE WITH THEM IS SUCKS !! I THOUGHT NO ONE IS GOING TO TOP VERIZON FOR SUCKS CUSTOMER SERVICE AFTER THEY GET YOU IN A CONTRACT .BUT TO BE FAIR VERIZON HAS THE BEST OF THE BEST AND WORKED HARD AS WELL AS PAID SO MUCH TO MAKE IT THAT WAY ...BUT TF IS A BONE WITH NO MEAT LEFT ON IT ..JUST FOR THE DOGS ...LOL .LOL BUT NOW TRACFONE IS #1 IN BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

I was Charged for services I never got.

Posted on: November 17th, 2014 by Anonymous

My phone was low on minutes so I went on line to purchase more. They processed my credit card but never gave me the minutes. E-mails and phone calls later where never answered. Ultimately had to but a GoPhone. Tracphone billed me but never gave me the minutes. They refused to credit me. I have complained to the BBB.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Ripoff company

Posted on: October 31st, 2014 by Anonymous

I had tracfone for years. I tried to buy a years worth of minutes each time I had to add time or minutes. The last phone I had was an android, hated it. When that phone got ran over by a lawnmower, I bought a different phone. At that time I had over 3500 minutes. I was told by an impossible-to-understand customer service rep that the minutes could not be transferred back to a non-android phone. No reason why that can't be done, just that it couldn't. I refuse to give them one more dime, so I am stuck with a new phone I can't return to the store and out of hundreds of dollars for the 3500 minutes they stole from me. I went with Consumer Cellular for a great plan for a reasonable price. STAY AWAY FROM TRACFONE!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

My and I have purchased 5 Tracfones.

Posted on: October 27th, 2014 by Anonymous

Between my wife and I we have had 5 Tracfones and will soon be buying 2 more. Sometimes getting a phone activated has been a nightmare. I am happy enough with the value that I willing to put up the activation woes. The new Android phones are great for a person who is unwilling to pay for a cutting edge phone and the high monthly rates.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Unable to help with this phone

Posted on: October 14th, 2014 by Anonymous

I am trying to get help with my free Tracfone to set up voicemail, I follow prompts and doesn't help. I have no way of putting an app on it because of the type of phone. In the live chat it says what carrier? I don't know because it was set up as a free phone with 250 mins a month. It doesn't say on the phone who the carrier is. I have called the phone number and get instructions on how to do the tutorial, but that won't help because this phone doesn't have an option to get an app. Was thinking of buying minutes but have decided not worth it.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages