Tracfone Reviews

Company Overview: TracFone is a prepaid wireless provider. The company is a subsidiary of América Móvil, and also operates Net10 Wireless.

Network Benefits: TracFone does not operate its own network, but operates as an MVNO reselling service from over 30 other providers.

Special Plan Features: Prepaid services only; Remaining minutes balanced tracked on handset.

Unique Features: Refer-a-Friend offers free service minutes in exchange for referring a friend who purchases service.

Pros: Flexible service options without contract commitment; Inexpensive handsets (often refurbished); Phones and service available direct from Website and at stores nationwide; Choice between many networks and technologies.

Cons: More expensive than contracted service from national carriers.

Technology Used: GSM, TDMA, and CDMA.

Primary Coverage Area: Nationwide.

Customer Service: TracFone's service is both very popular and widely complained about with regard to phone activation and other technical problems, call quality, customer service, and general business practices.

Average user reviews

Based on 249 Reviews

Overall
2.40964
Service Quality
2.464
Customer Service
1.864
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

I was Charged for services I never got.

Posted on: November 17th, 2014 by Anonymous

My phone was low on minutes so I went on line to purchase more. They processed my credit card but never gave me the minutes. E-mails and phone calls later where never answered. Ultimately had to but a GoPhone. Tracphone billed me but never gave me the minutes. They refused to credit me. I have complained to the BBB.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Ripoff company

Posted on: October 31st, 2014 by Anonymous

I had tracfone for years. I tried to buy a years worth of minutes each time I had to add time or minutes. The last phone I had was an android, hated it. When that phone got ran over by a lawnmower, I bought a different phone. At that time I had over 3500 minutes. I was told by an impossible-to-understand customer service rep that the minutes could not be transferred back to a non-android phone. No reason why that can't be done, just that it couldn't. I refuse to give them one more dime, so I am stuck with a new phone I can't return to the store and out of hundreds of dollars for the 3500 minutes they stole from me. I went with Consumer Cellular for a great plan for a reasonable price. STAY AWAY FROM TRACFONE!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

My and I have purchased 5 Tracfones.

Posted on: October 27th, 2014 by Anonymous

Between my wife and I we have had 5 Tracfones and will soon be buying 2 more. Sometimes getting a phone activated has been a nightmare. I am happy enough with the value that I willing to put up the activation woes. The new Android phones are great for a person who is unwilling to pay for a cutting edge phone and the high monthly rates.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Unable to help with this phone

Posted on: October 14th, 2014 by Anonymous

I am trying to get help with my free Tracfone to set up voicemail, I follow prompts and doesn't help. I have no way of putting an app on it because of the type of phone. In the live chat it says what carrier? I don't know because it was set up as a free phone with 250 mins a month. It doesn't say on the phone who the carrier is. I have called the phone number and get instructions on how to do the tutorial, but that won't help because this phone doesn't have an option to get an app. Was thinking of buying minutes but have decided not worth it.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Better off without it

Posted on: October 10th, 2014 by Gabby Colon

Ive been trying to connect my phone for a month, but between their useless website and thier poor excuse for customer service, I just stopped wasting my time and just got a Metro PCS plan and phone. Tracfone=WackFone

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

i have service bars phone says home always service unavailable

Posted on: October 5th, 2014 by Ruth Bruch

service unavailable this phone service THUMBS DOWN

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Helped more than I expected!

Posted on: September 25th, 2014 by Judy Pirnia

I recently set up Tracfones for my mom and dad. They live halfway to nowhere where even the big carriers have spotty service. They didn't want to pay an expensive contract when service is always spotty, so we went with Tracfone. My parents wanted to keep their old mobile phone numbers. My brother is the owner of their family plan, but was out of town, so I needed to do the switch without him. I had the wrong password for the old account, but Tracfone worked with me, and even called the old number back a few times until we got the access to the old plan figured out. They really helped me complete that process. After sleeping through the night, the minutes were still not appearing on my mom's phone, so I called customer service again from a different phone. There was no record of the minutes for the new phone (which makes no sense because you need minutes registered to activate the phone). The representative worked with me to recover the minutes, and compensated me a day of service time because of the delay. My dad?s phone was working, complete with his old phone number, in about 30 minutes. Much easier and less eventful. He swears he gets better service with his new phone, but it may just be his excitement. I left my parents? to travel back home, leaving both parents happy with their new phones. It was a trying process, but I am very happy with Tracfone?s response to my problems. I would recommend Tracfone to any of my friends or family.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Poor service

Posted on: September 9th, 2014 by A.j. Bourque

Tracfone has a great phone service until you have to deal with customer service. I once tried to buy a year worth of minutes I got 60 days no refund. Drop my phone in the water tried to keep the same number poor service , tried to add minutes to the new phone the put the minutes on the dead phone again no help from customer service. Now I have to get a new sims card, guees what they sent the wrong sims card now we will try again to see if they can get it right I hope I get the right sims card this time. Good luck

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Bad advice from sales person

Posted on: September 1st, 2014 by Bobby Highland

Oct., 2013 I purchased ZTE valet. Advised sales person service in this area was not good but he insisted this phone would be perfect and service the best I could get. It took over an hour for him to get it programed. I had to return to the store 3 times to get it activated. A month later it was inactivated again even tho I had a 1 year card in it. I have to go 25 miles from my home to get service while all my neighbors have service right in their homes. Going to find something else when card expires although I still have over 2300 minutes left. Money wasted!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
0
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

4 years and it's been great

Posted on: August 24th, 2014 by John Smith

I never had a problem on my 3rd phone now.. I can't comment on customer service for I never needed to contact them. bargain rates

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages