Verizon Wireless Reviews See All Verizon Wireless News

Use PhoneDog to compare Verizon Wireless cell phones and plans. With our impressive lineup, you'll find the best Verizon Wireless cell phone plan or phone to fit your needs! We also provide the latest reviews on Verizon Wireless, America's #1 wireless provider.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Established in 2000, Verizon Wireless is the largest network provider in all of America. Known as the Big Red, Verizon Wireless provides the best coverage for all their users. If they won’t cover you, there’s a big chance that nobody else will. Apart from offering coast-to-coast coverage, Big Red is popular for its consistent speed and uptime reliability. Not to mention, Verizon Wireless offers a wide array of cell phone options to choose from.

Are you considering getting a contract with Verizon Wireless? Check out some of the reviews left by other customers just like you. Read what these people have to say about Big Red and why they would recommend it to other users. With these reviews, you can find out how well Verizon Wireless values its customers.

Do you have your own Verizon Wireless story to share? Send your review and help out other users!

Average user reviews

Based on 406 Reviews

Overall
2.53941
Service Quality
2.776415
Customer Service
2.54054
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon Wireless

Posted on: March 23rd, 2015 by VerizonTruth

We decided to update to smartphones in December 2014. We have been with verizon for over 15 years. We looked at other providers but decided on loyalty. Big mistake. First, we upgraded mid billing cycle so we called their customer service and made them aware of the issue. They told us what to do and we did what they said. On our next bill we received a late fee (which they reversed). In December we signed up for the greatly advertised shared 10 GB for 110. Obviously, our bills were more because of our phone leases (about 50.00 total). We then decided to pay off our phones hoping to get to that elusive 110.00. We just received our bill and it was 5.00 more than our last bill. I'm sure this is all legal fine print, but call me stupid but that's not the way we work. In our opinion there is no shared 10 GB plan for 110. You either pay 160 to lease the phones or you pay 170 to not lease the phones. Both of these are nowhere near 110. Decide for yourself but don't listen to verizon's advertisements. Thanks

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
2

Would Recommend to a friend.

edge plan

Posted on: March 6th, 2015 by orvyt

do not use the edge plan!!! total rip off, was told numerous times by the agent there would be no raise in my monthly rates only one time 20.83 charge to up grade, you have to turn in your old phone or pay 299.00 you get nothing for it and pay 499.00 dollars for new phone.20.83 per month for 24 months no recourse as it was after 14 days when I discovered exactly what I got into, why would you pay 499.00 for a phone you could get free in 6 months, as soon as get it payed down to where another comp will buy out the contract am leaving phone service is actually not bad but I hate being taken advantage of and lied too o.t.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Monopoly of a Company

Posted on: March 2nd, 2015 by Angry2

Verizon is by far the worst company I have ever had to deal with and we were customers since before when it was All-tel (a great company btw). Every time you call with a complaint or a dispute about a bill they make it seem like you are getting your issue resolved and then boom- next bill some new B.S. charges that don't even make sense. Furthermore, they got a family member of mine to accept a tablet under false pretenses. She understood the deal with her new phone was a free tablet and she thought that meant free! Well, no there was a $35 registration fee. A $10 activation fee and a one month prorated fee, which once all was said and done and you add in taxes and surcharges, the bill was over $50 higher. She never even opened the box and when she went to return the device saying she only took it under the false pretenses, they wanted to charge a $70 b.s. restocking fee! This company is the worst ever. I have already pulled 2 of 4 of my phones and can not wait until my contracts are up for the other 2 and be rid of this crap for good! And I haven't even gotten started on the service in my area!!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon Wireless - coverage

Posted on: March 2nd, 2015 by jodmdavi

Work around Indiana University Bloomington campus. If you check the map Verizon shows great coverage around the whole campus. However, since December 2014 I have dropped calls all around campus. Three calls to tech support, several chat sessions, and 5 stores visits later. I have been issued two new SIM cards, a new phone, and been told they know there is a problem. Any solution? Nope...basically just have to deal with it. They now are labeling this as a variable coverage area..meaning there will be dropped calls due to buildings and people. Population or buildings havent changed greatly since December. The map still shows perfect coverage around Bloomington, IN campus....but drop calls happen EVERY day. There has been no offer of help, just the fact that the problem exists. You might as well go to straight talk and save yourself $35-$50 for crappy service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Terrible Customer Service.

Posted on: February 11th, 2015 by wickmandevon1

I started my Verizon contract in November 2012, which means it ended November 2014. Upon my contract coming up to end, I shopped around with other service providers to see if I could get a better rate. Verizon wouldn't budge from their ridiculous $92.81/month FOR ONE LINE, so I told them to CANCEL my contract on November 2, 2014 (end date of contract). However, Verizon failed to do so, and continued to roll over my contract into prepaid month-to-month, WITHOUT PERMISSION FROM CUSTOMER, and were continuously charging me for a phone that I did not use. I called Verizon on FOUR separate occasions between November 2014 and Today. I was told on previous call about 3 weeks ago that they were going to speak to a supervisor and pro-rate my bill for that charges that I didnt use. The phone was completely shut off since November, and I was being charged for it. Not only that, but I had already started another contract with T-Mobile, and wasn't even using a Verizon line at all anymore. So.. I received another bill in the mail today for the same ridiculous amount of $92.81 for a phone that WASN'T BEING USED. I call customer service, the lady brings up my bill, and tells me that she can see where the phone wasn't being used at all during the month of november, but proceeds to tell me that if I didn't go into a Verizon store to cancel it, then it would roll over to prepaid. She also tells me that they aren't going to do anything about the charges, and she doesn't have any record of my conversation with the previous rep 3 weeks ago, about talking to the supervisor. So what are the end results?? I either pay the bill or it goes to collections. Which is absolutely ABSURD! Not only did I go in the store to have it canceled on November 2, 2014, but Verizon has the audacity to treat me as if I'm stupid, claimed "I never went to the store because there's no proof because the genius customer service rep didn't bring the account up in store", and continue to bill me regardless. Needless to say, Verizon is overpriced, their customer service sucks, and WATCH OUT, because if you don't cancel your contract, they will continue to abuse privileges and turn your contract into pre-paid once the end date is up. I highly recommend T-Mobile now. I've used them since this Verizon fiasco, and I've had zero problems, and saved $30/month. Thanks T-mobile. Good riddance, Verizon.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon

Posted on: February 5th, 2015 by Rbrice

The experience with Verizon customer service was unbelievable. I was on the phone for 5 hours trying to have people to solve my problem. Everytime I asked to talk to supervisor I was told that all supervisors are busy or customer representatives were pretending they were supervisors and were not able to help me with my issue at all. One of the representatives was pretending that he could not hear me on the phone while I could hear him and all other people in the office. That customer representative did not want to connect me with the supervisor so he made it seem like there was a problem with the connection service and eventually hung up on me. Another representative told me that I am not allowed to hold him on the line to solve my problem he would have to hang up on me. I would never ever recommend people to get involved with Verizon!!! You will waste your whole day trying to have them help you with whatever problem you might have. If you value yourself as a customer and value your time please refrain from Verizon at all cost!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

bye bye verizon

Posted on: January 7th, 2015 by nzj

Thanks a lot for the faulty phone replacement Verizon, snail mail shipment of my next replacement phone (even though under my insurance you promised over night shipment), and terrible customer service. I have cancelled my phone and have no intentions of coming back. Every one of representatives sucked more than the last. I have options and zero tolerance for pretentious providers. Losing customers one at a time. Good luck with your poor business model, its catching up to you

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon is a ripoff company

Posted on: January 5th, 2015 by JohnDough

Why would a company not offer refund for the unused portion of the month the service was cancelled in? Why would they keep on telling me procedure, procedure, procedure.... pass me from department to department.... and then still tell me they can't do anything? I never signed any thing that stated this 'procedure'. I don't pay for services unless they are offered to me. Clearly when 3/4 of the month wasn't offered why would I pay for it. They auto deducted it from my account on file without my permission. Really... $134 of service for 7 days??? What makes you think this is correct business practice. You will never ever get my business back. I will tell all my friends & family to go elsewhere when their contract ends and make sure anyone selling verizon junk in a store looses all nearby customers. VERIZON CAN LICK DONKEY GO NADS... AVOID AT ALL COST

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon left us stranded in Thailand

Posted on: December 30th, 2014 by Pattijo009

During our first day of our 3 week trip in Thailand my husbands wallet was stolen. Two weeks prior to our trip I phoned Verizon to have our international cell usage enabled. Imagine our surprise as we were at the Police Station trying to call our credit card companies and our Verizon cell phones would not work at all. I was able to email my mom to have her call verizon to enable international cell use. I gave her all our passwords and security codes and they would not help. I live chatted with Verizon and they told me to call a 1-800 number, DUH! Our phones won't work, AT ALL! I then phoned a friend who works for verizon and gave her all our passwords and security codes to see if she could enable international use on our phones, they would not allow that either. Imagine being in a foreign country in an emergency crisis situation and your call company won't help you at ALL!!!! I am so angry at Verizon. I will never use them again. They suck!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon Rep Screwed up my phone!!!!

Posted on: December 18th, 2014 by jeffjackson

To start with I have a Verizon business account. I have 8 tablets and 6 phones from them. I went in to upgrade my personal tablet and the sales girl recommends I get a Bluetooth headset as my phone is ringing off the hook. I have a Droid Razor and this was a Plantronics headset. So I say ok, its $100. I have her set it up and everything. I get the new tablet and go out of the store. I am cruising around and using the Bluetooth, no problems. I get home and turn off the Bluetooth and low and behold the mic on my phone doesn't work. My customers are calling and can't hear me, my wife nobody can hear me. I try turning off phone, unpairing Bluetooth even go as far as factory reseting my phone. NO GOOD. I have my wife take the phone to Verizon, they tell her there is a problem with the mic. There is no problem with the Bluetooth. I tell them that this happened after their sales girl installed Bluetooth. SORRY, YOUR PROBLEM. What a joke. I spend 10k a year with them. So, to fix it need new $200 phone. HORRIBLE SERVICE!!!! I am getting finished with my contracts and getting someone else!!! I can't believe this!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages