Verizon Wireless Reviews See All Verizon Wireless News

Use PhoneDog to compare Verizon Wireless cell phones and plans. With our impressive lineup, you'll find the best Verizon Wireless cell phone plan or phone to fit your needs! We also provide the latest reviews on Verizon Wireless, America's #1 wireless provider.

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Established in 2000, Verizon Wireless is the largest network provider in all of America. Known as the Big Red, Verizon Wireless provides the best coverage for all their users. If they won’t cover you, there’s a big chance that nobody else will. Apart from offering coast-to-coast coverage, Big Red is popular for its consistent speed and uptime reliability. Not to mention, Verizon Wireless offers a wide array of cell phone options to choose from.

Are you considering getting a contract with Verizon Wireless? Check out some of the reviews left by other customers just like you. Read what these people have to say about Big Red and why they would recommend it to other users. With these reviews, you can find out how well Verizon Wireless values its customers.

Do you have your own Verizon Wireless story to share? Send your review and help out other users!

Average user reviews

Based on 411 Reviews

Overall
2.525545
Service Quality
2.75971
Customer Service
2.521845
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

STAY AWAY FROM THE LIARS!!

Posted on: August 26th, 2015 by cpatch

First off if I could put negative stars I definitely would. My fiance had a grandfather plan and paid $130. We were looking to add my phone knowing if we did he would be taken off that plan so we wanted to do our research. The rep at a Verizon store in Lancaster, PA, helped us out. He was great and seemed like a pro so we trusted him completely. He was able to get us both a new phone, 20 gb plan, and we were told, after he broke down all of the charges, that we were paying $170 a month. Adding a phone and going from $130 to $170 was completely doable which is why we signed. Then... we received our bill. $300.... so of course we called because it was a complete shock to us. We were then told that our bill would be $250/mo. After sitting on multiple phone calls with Verizon we were told to not pay the bill, by the director, until they completed an investigation and got back with us. Well then we started receiving phone calls that our bill was past due and we were being charged, etc. The management finally returned our call and said that since we did not have proof we were locked in paying $250. Verizon is a nationwide company. If their representative that was sent to a month long training tells me that my bill is going to be something it better be that same price. I am beyond pissed. After putting up with all of Verizon's bs over the past 20 years of my life I am finally done and I plan on calling them every single day with my lawyer on the phone until I eiher A get this resolved peacefully or B annoy the living daylights out of them so they fix my bill. Verizon.. you just f-ed with the wrong person. To all the readers... run away! Worst company EVER!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

disgusted

Posted on: August 3rd, 2015 by mr1969mr

In November of 2013 2 of the phones on my plan had malfunctioned for the second time in 6 months. I called Verizon and they were giving me the run around up to and until march 2014, the whole entire time the lines never worked they charged me full plan charges, the Verizon agent told me.to call the insurance and tell them the phones and I told the agent I was not going to lie and they said that would.be the only way to get the phones replaced and I told him no way because if the insurance company looked at my records for any reason they would see that this was a 5 month battle. T-Mobile had a promotion and I checked them out and prior to.switching I called Verizon and I told them considering what happened if they did not replace the phones I would leave and they told me leave. I applied for fios service and they denied me service because there was a balance at Verizon wireless and I told them the story and I told them I was not paying it because Verizon failed to provide the service and they wanted me to lie and the girl in verification did not care at all

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon Wireless

Posted on: May 15th, 2015 by jstringfield

This company is terrible. Accidentally paid the wrong amount online, and when I called to ask them to refund the extra amount that was not due, they said that they would get on it right away. They did not. After calling five more times and hearing repeatedly that they would refund me, someone finally told me that they were not going to refund me and that it would go towards my next bill. The customer service rep was very unfriendly and not willing to help me with the problem. BYE VERIZON.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
3

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

verizon no service

Posted on: April 12th, 2015 by flareg@bellsouth.net

Interesting affair. I purchased a couple of phones last year. They advertise a great price but part of that is a $50 rebate. After going through a pile of paperwork to apply, they sent me 2 fifty dollar cards, one for each phone. I received them and put them away thinking I would use them as Christmas gifts. I sent them off and both people I sent them to sent them back saying they were no good. I purchased replacement cards and sent them out but how embarrassing is that? I called today to see what happened. Seems they expire after 6 months and both cards expired at the end of December. I asked for new cards. Nope. They won't do that. After 90 minutes on the phone a nice agent named Ashley said she would give me a discount on my plan of $16 a month (I have 4 phones and they offered 4 per month per phone) for a year. That would give me more than the $100. I agreed. Later that day I received a calls from technical service at Verizon. I could not get to it before they hung up so I called back. Seems that the offer Ashley made me was not true. They said instead she gave me a $50 credit and they were sorry for the bad info. I asked about the other $50. The agent I was talking to said all she could do is $20 as that was her limit. I asked who could give me the other $50. She gave me a supervisor. He said all he could do (refused even the $20) was move me to a different plan and he could discount the price so I save 140 over the next year. Only one problem. After the first year the plan will cost me $40 a month more than the one I have now. Ryan refused to do anything else. Can you guess how irritated I was at that point. 150 minutes on the phone and I am out $50. How stupid is this? Like many I spend over $2000 a year for the service. And they are too wrapped up in their "policy" to offer a credit to make me whole. Anyone else had this problem? Seems like a class action suit in the making and Verizon and deep pockets. Just a side note. Federal law requires them to tell you when they are recording a call. They forgot to do that in every case.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not outstanding!

Posted on: March 31st, 2015 by FISHERMAN

VERIZON ADMITS I am in a low signal strength area. They advertise 4G, I have never seen 4G, occaisionally 3G, often 1X, and all too frequently LIMITED. So quality sucks. When repeatedly complaining and getting no satisfactory answers or compensation, I have turned them into FCC often. My major complaint is that I am on metered service, so every time I get booted for signal strength, I have to re-download page after page after page. Of course, my useage appears to be extreme. Not to mention how many forms I have to refill,banking that gets dropped, games that can't be finished, posts that have to be repeated. All at my expense. Again, when I finally spoke with some one who speaks English as a first language, it was admitted Verizon does not have 4G service in all areas. Yet that is what I am paying for, and i get about five minutes before i have to reboot. I have repeatedly asked to be compensated for overage charges I am billed. Instead they gave me more bytes free. I asked to be relieved from my contract. Denied.I asked to be given unlimited use instead of metered. Denied. So bottom line, I have two months left on my two year contract, I have over paid for metered service by $20 each month, for almost two years. When this contract ends. I will add another phone company to the list of those I with which I will not do business. Century Link is the other. Wasted hours speaking with customer service reps, hours rebooting sites, and no acceptable solutions. Basically, they don't care.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon Wireless

Posted on: March 23rd, 2015 by VerizonTruth

We decided to update to smartphones in December 2014. We have been with verizon for over 15 years. We looked at other providers but decided on loyalty. Big mistake. First, we upgraded mid billing cycle so we called their customer service and made them aware of the issue. They told us what to do and we did what they said. On our next bill we received a late fee (which they reversed). In December we signed up for the greatly advertised shared 10 GB for 110. Obviously, our bills were more because of our phone leases (about 50.00 total). We then decided to pay off our phones hoping to get to that elusive 110.00. We just received our bill and it was 5.00 more than our last bill. I'm sure this is all legal fine print, but call me stupid but that's not the way we work. In our opinion there is no shared 10 GB plan for 110. You either pay 160 to lease the phones or you pay 170 to not lease the phones. Both of these are nowhere near 110. Decide for yourself but don't listen to verizon's advertisements. Thanks

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
2

Would Recommend to a friend.

edge plan

Posted on: March 6th, 2015 by orvyt

do not use the edge plan!!! total rip off, was told numerous times by the agent there would be no raise in my monthly rates only one time 20.83 charge to up grade, you have to turn in your old phone or pay 299.00 you get nothing for it and pay 499.00 dollars for new phone.20.83 per month for 24 months no recourse as it was after 14 days when I discovered exactly what I got into, why would you pay 499.00 for a phone you could get free in 6 months, as soon as get it payed down to where another comp will buy out the contract am leaving phone service is actually not bad but I hate being taken advantage of and lied too o.t.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Monopoly of a Company

Posted on: March 2nd, 2015 by Angry2

Verizon is by far the worst company I have ever had to deal with and we were customers since before when it was All-tel (a great company btw). Every time you call with a complaint or a dispute about a bill they make it seem like you are getting your issue resolved and then boom- next bill some new B.S. charges that don't even make sense. Furthermore, they got a family member of mine to accept a tablet under false pretenses. She understood the deal with her new phone was a free tablet and she thought that meant free! Well, no there was a $35 registration fee. A $10 activation fee and a one month prorated fee, which once all was said and done and you add in taxes and surcharges, the bill was over $50 higher. She never even opened the box and when she went to return the device saying she only took it under the false pretenses, they wanted to charge a $70 b.s. restocking fee! This company is the worst ever. I have already pulled 2 of 4 of my phones and can not wait until my contracts are up for the other 2 and be rid of this crap for good! And I haven't even gotten started on the service in my area!!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Verizon Wireless - coverage

Posted on: March 2nd, 2015 by jodmdavi

Work around Indiana University Bloomington campus. If you check the map Verizon shows great coverage around the whole campus. However, since December 2014 I have dropped calls all around campus. Three calls to tech support, several chat sessions, and 5 stores visits later. I have been issued two new SIM cards, a new phone, and been told they know there is a problem. Any solution? Nope...basically just have to deal with it. They now are labeling this as a variable coverage area..meaning there will be dropped calls due to buildings and people. Population or buildings havent changed greatly since December. The map still shows perfect coverage around Bloomington, IN campus....but drop calls happen EVERY day. There has been no offer of help, just the fact that the problem exists. You might as well go to straight talk and save yourself $35-$50 for crappy service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Terrible Customer Service.

Posted on: February 11th, 2015 by wickmandevon1

I started my Verizon contract in November 2012, which means it ended November 2014. Upon my contract coming up to end, I shopped around with other service providers to see if I could get a better rate. Verizon wouldn't budge from their ridiculous $92.81/month FOR ONE LINE, so I told them to CANCEL my contract on November 2, 2014 (end date of contract). However, Verizon failed to do so, and continued to roll over my contract into prepaid month-to-month, WITHOUT PERMISSION FROM CUSTOMER, and were continuously charging me for a phone that I did not use. I called Verizon on FOUR separate occasions between November 2014 and Today. I was told on previous call about 3 weeks ago that they were going to speak to a supervisor and pro-rate my bill for that charges that I didnt use. The phone was completely shut off since November, and I was being charged for it. Not only that, but I had already started another contract with T-Mobile, and wasn't even using a Verizon line at all anymore. So.. I received another bill in the mail today for the same ridiculous amount of $92.81 for a phone that WASN'T BEING USED. I call customer service, the lady brings up my bill, and tells me that she can see where the phone wasn't being used at all during the month of november, but proceeds to tell me that if I didn't go into a Verizon store to cancel it, then it would roll over to prepaid. She also tells me that they aren't going to do anything about the charges, and she doesn't have any record of my conversation with the previous rep 3 weeks ago, about talking to the supervisor. So what are the end results?? I either pay the bill or it goes to collections. Which is absolutely ABSURD! Not only did I go in the store to have it canceled on November 2, 2014, but Verizon has the audacity to treat me as if I'm stupid, claimed "I never went to the store because there's no proof because the genius customer service rep didn't bring the account up in store", and continue to bill me regardless. Needless to say, Verizon is overpriced, their customer service sucks, and WATCH OUT, because if you don't cancel your contract, they will continue to abuse privileges and turn your contract into pre-paid once the end date is up. I highly recommend T-Mobile now. I've used them since this Verizon fiasco, and I've had zero problems, and saved $30/month. Thanks T-mobile. Good riddance, Verizon.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages