Virgin Mobile Reviews

Compare Virgin Mobile cell phone plans and phones by using our comparison tool below. You can also take a look at Virgin Mobile user ratings and reviews. 

Show me:

+

Sort results by:

Established in 2002, Virgin Mobile offers worry-free, no-contract wireless plans for any and every consumer. They offer great coverage via Sprint’s network paired with flexibility and fun. And the best part? You don’t have to be locked into a contract to enjoy all of Virgin Mobile’s benefits.

Are you wondering if Virgin Mobile is your best bet? Check out some of our reviews from customers like you. Find out what people are saying about Virgin Mobile and whether they would recommend the coverage and customer service to other users. These reviews are the best way to find out exactly what it’s like to be a Virgin Mobile customer.

Have your own Virgin Mobile experience? Share it with us!

Average user reviews

Based on 146 Reviews

Overall
2.08904
Service Quality
2.15278
Customer Service
2.041095
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Horrible!!!

Posted on: November 22nd, 2014 by TaliInGA

I wish I could give this a 0! This was the worst company ever! I bought an LG Tribute with unlimited Talk, text, and data. The phone wouldn't activate over their website, so I had to call the Customer Service. I talked to one lady that I could hardly understand, she couldn't figure it out so she sent me to another person, who then made me repeat exactly what I said to the first lady, who then sent me to another person that made me repeat what I said to the first 2 people who then "accidentally" hung up on me. I could hardly understand any of them, never got any help, went around in circles for 2 hours and phone is still not activated. Phone will be going back to Best Buy tomorrow and I'll be going with a different company for sure!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

horrible signal strength eventhough coverage map showed it perfect

Posted on: November 12th, 2014 by Anonymous

horrible signal strength even though coverage map showed it perfect, had a painful amount of dropped calls and missing texts.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

They are crooks!

Posted on: October 24th, 2014 by Anonymous

I have maintained a Virgin Mobile account for my mom for many years. When she died, I was told that I would get a refund. They said not to close the account or the refund could not be processed and they assigned a case no. When no refund came, I called back and was given a list of 7 or 8 things I needed to fax them. Death certificate, probate papers, funeral parlor cards, obituary, funeral parlor website and more. I did all this and heard nothing. I called to check on the refund and after 2 calls and 50 minutes on the phone, I was told that they could not process the refund because the account had been closed. NOT BY ME! This is fraud. A deliberate effort by Virgin Mobile to make the refund impossible. I have no recourse, short of a lawsuit, but I wanted everyone to know the kind of company they are dealing with. PCK

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Cheap Price But You Get What You Pay For

Posted on: October 3rd, 2014 by Warren Dutton

I have AT&T service, but it is pricey (I pay almost $100 a month). So, I researched pay-as-you go plans, and found Virgin Mobile to be very reasonable - $35 a month for unlimited texts and data, and 300 minutes of talk time, and I purchased a Samsung Galaxy S3 for $200. I live in NJ, not far from NYC, and the phone mostly works well in this geographic location - mostly; it is pretty consistent, but I do have dropped calls and periods of absolutely no phone or data service. Also, I travel a lot for work, and I have had several problems with service and data in Washington, D.C., Raleigh, North Carolina, St. Louis, Missouri, Memphis, Tennessee, Ardmore, Oklahoma, Atlanta, Georgia, Chicago, Illinois, and San Francisco and San Diego California. In some cases, service and data are intermittent at best; however, in the mid west, service was absolutely non-existent - I could not make a phone call or connect to data - I had absolutely no service at all. This is a great plan for a teenager or an adult that lives in the NY/NJ area and doesn't travel far from home.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Irresponsible of Virgin Mobile

Posted on: September 29th, 2014 by Mah Ali

Virgin overcharged me £105/- but my plan only £16.50 called 15 times mailed many many times I can't understand they never give proper responsible reply. Really got fed up loosing patience. Is therecany reporting council there like Consumer Coulsil in UK

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not good on online purchase returns

Posted on: September 24th, 2014 by Elizabeth Frost

I ordered my initial phone online, and didn't receive it until about a week later. I wasn't happy with the phone, and called them directly. Online returns can be returned 14 days from the date ordered. I tried the phone for a week and called them and let them know I was returning the phone. I was instructed to return the phone in the small plastic envelope they provided, and dropped it in the nearest mailbox. It is now two weeks later, and I still haven't received a refund. Their response to my email about why I haven't been issued a refund was they wanted the tracking number. DUH! I don't have a tracking number. When I got a new Virgin Mobile phone I went to a store that sold them, and you get 30 days to return the phone if you do not like it. I haven been thru 3 of them phones, and am not happy with the product. I am going to a different phone company.....Virgin Mobile is not worth it!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Thieves

Posted on: September 22nd, 2014 by Geoff Petrasek

Service was intermittent. I went w/o data but was never reimbursed. Customer service was inconsistent and un-American. Habla Espanol? Don't waste your money.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

The are a gang of thieves

Posted on: August 13th, 2014 by Álvaro Miguel Ortega

I want to explain what has been my experience. I have spent only a month in Canada using their services. I checked daily my balanced and i was very worried about paying the correct day because I don't live in Canada and I hope I won't come back. The balance never moved, and i couldn't see any detail about my usage. The day when I was supposed to pay I saw a quantity and I paid without asking anything, the same day. My monthly bill was fron the 7 of July till the 7 of August. So in August the 7th I was ready and I paid immediately. 5 days later they sent me an e-mail saying that I owed like 350 bucks. My surprise was that they were charging me the calls that i was receiving from my girlfriend and they were suppose to be data calls because she had Skype credit. I'm still fighting with this amount of thieves because they don,t tell you your real usage, they keep it as secret as possible tu steal your money. So my advise is never ever get into a virgin shop, they will cheat you because they only want your money. According to the customer service they are a gang of heartless blackmailers. When i tryed to explain that i'm studying here for only a month,that i wanted to pay but I I could'tt pay 350 buck because I didn't have them (only one week for my departure you can imagine my bank account), that i wanted to pay but i was leaving the countrty in a week and they tryed to sell me a 2 YEARS PLAN THAT I WAS NOT USING of 45 bucks a month. They told me they could reduce my balance in 100 bucks more or less but if i sign a 2 years contract that I wouldn,t use because in a week i was taking a plane to the US and I am not comming back to Canada. They take advantage of your aknoledge. So please never ask anything in that company. Never sign any kind of contract or similar if you don't want to be stolen. They are making the worst publicity of a wonderful country wich is Canada. I would feel really ashamed to work in that company.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Poor service, too many dropped calls. I do NOT reccommend.

Posted on: August 12th, 2014 by J W

I've had Virgin Mobile for 2 years now, and to say the least, it is very crappy service. I have the iPhone 4. For the past year, there will be periods of time (about 3-4 weeks at a time) where the phone will drop EVERY call I make or receive. I took it to Apple, thinking it was an issue with the phone, but guess what?? It was all because of the carrier. In all reality, the phone itself had not dropped a single call when I was shown the diagnostics report from an Apple Genius Bar tech. Out of the 23 calls I made/recieved, 19 were dropped within a 2 week period. I don't even know why it drops a lot of the time; I get texts perfectly fine and there's a tower right by my house that gives me 3-5 bars. Not to mention, Virgin is very slow, coverage is spotty, and at times Virgin will randomly turn off 3G and only allow me to use GPRS/EDGE, which is about the speed of dial-up, if even that. I'm very disappointed with their service. I shouldn't have to tell people they can only text me because I can't hold a conversation with them without failed calls. I am switching to AT&T as soon as possible. Avoid this company if phone calls are important to you! There's a reason it's so cheap.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Never get VIRGIN service. They'll F u like a VIRGIN

Posted on: August 7th, 2014 by Anonymous

After landing in Canada I got 2 cellular lines. One from Fido & another from Virgin. Somehow there were sixty four more charged on my bill making it 0ne hundred since I got connected to a US based number. There is same long distance message either you call US or Canada. I explained this to the customer service & the Asian girl was not patient enough to understand & hung up. Second time I called, Todd (second customer service rep) tried to give me a credit (goodwill credit) of thirty six & since I was not fully satisfied, spoke to his supervisor DJ (Employee # EY46067) who came up with a nineteen dollar discount & doesn't have the manners to listen to the customer. He was trying to put words in my mouth that I agree to the charges. And totally rude, cutting my conversation off many times. I don't understand how these guys get jobs in customer service, where they rip off customers. Total waste of 1.5 hrs disputing the charges. Please do not get Virgin cellular services because they will somehow try to squeeze money out of you. Hence proved...how Richard Branson makes billions even after going bankrupt.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages