With the exception of the occasional "oops," when you delete something, you want it to be...well...deleted. So you delete it, knowing that you'll never see it again. Right? Wrong (well, when it comes to the iPhone). Apparently, a bug exists in OS 3.0 where the user (or anyone who knows what they're doing, for that matter) can type the e-mail subject line text into spotlight, and bring up previously deleted e-mails.
As it stands, Spotlight's search cache doesn't seem to sync with the message client, and the real kicker is that no one quite knows when the sync actually takes place. Engadget Mobile duplicated the issue on their devices, and Matt Janssen, discoverer of the flaw, has been able to find e-mails from months back. Rumors are that the bug has been fixed in OS 3.1, but until it launches, they're just that - rumors. Anyone else been able to duplicate the problem?
Source: Engadget Mobile