A new Instagram feature is now rolling out to select users for testing, and it could change the way some folks use the service.
Instagram is now testing a feature called Favorites. With it, you can choose followers to be in your Favorites group and then share posts that only those people can see. You can add and remove people from your Favorites group whenever you’d like, and people won’t be notified when they’re added or removed from your Favorites group.
When you share a post or a Story, you can choose to share it publicly or with your Favorites. If you share it with your Favorites group, only those people in that group can see your post, and they’ll know that they’re seeing a Favorites post because there’ll be a green “Favorites” badge on the post.
You’ll also have a Favorites tab in your profile that’ll let people in your Favorites group see your previous posts. If someone isn’t in your Favorites group, this tab will appear empty.
Instagram has confirmed that it’s now testing Favorites with a small percentage of its users. A wider rollout could happen in the coming months.
We’ll have to wait and see if Favorites actually rolls out to all Instagram users, but it certainly could happen. Favorites could spur some Instagram users to share more on the service since they know that they can post things that only select users can see, and that’s something that I’m sure Instagram would love.
What do you think of this Favorites feature?