Sometimes when you're doing things online, you'd prefer to keep your browsing habits to yourself. This applies to YouTube, too, which is why the video streaming service is now rolling out an Incognito Mode.
An Incognito Mode is now widely rolling out in the YouTube app for Android after going through limited testing earlier this year. When enabled, you'll see "Turn on Incognito" at the bottom of your Account page. Turning on Incognito Mode will mean that your search and viewing histories are not being recorded and you'll see a "You're incognito" bar at the bottom of the app that you can tap to quickly disable Incognito Mode.
One thing that's worth noting about Incognito Mode is that your activity may still be visible to other parties. "Your activity might still be visible to your employer, school, or internet service provider," Google warns when you enable Incognito Mode for the first time.
Incognito Mode is a nice addition to YouTube. Sometimes you feel like watching something that might be a little embarrassing if someone saw it in your watch history or something that you don't want to influence your video recommendations. Now you can quickly toggle Incognito Mode on and enjoy those videos without worry.