Google today announced a few improvements that it's making to its apps and services to boost user privacy and security.
First up, Google Maps is gaining an Incognito Mode. When enabled, Maps activity like the places that you search for won't be saved to your Google Account and won't be used to personalize your Google Maps experience.
Incognito Mode for Google Maps is now rolling out on Android and will arrive on iOS soon. To enable it, tap on your profile photo and then select "Turn on Incognito mode". When it's on, you'll see a black bar across the top of your screen telling you that Incognito Mode is on.
Google is also expanding the auto-delete feature that it first added to Location History and Web & App Activity. Auto-delete is now available for your YouTube history, letting you choose if you want your data to be deleted manually, every three months, or every 18 months.
Next are improved privacy controls for Google Assistant. You can ask the Assistant, "Hey Google, how do you keep my data safe?" for an explanation on Google's data privacy and security efforts. If you'd like to delete data, you can say something like "Hey Google, delete the last thing I said to you" or "Hey Google, delete everything I said to you last week".
These improved Google Assistant privacy controls are rolling out in English next week, with support for all other languages coming next month.