Amp'd Reviews See All Amp'd News

Company Profile: Amp'd Mobile is a Mobile Virtual Network Operator (MVNO) launched in late 2005 to target the 18-35 year old market. The company, headquartered in Los Angeles, CA, is backed by MTV and Universal Music Group and features mobile entertainment through streaming video clips and downloadable music and games.

Network Benefits: Verizon-owned cellular network provides excellent nationwide coverage and service; Exclusive entertainment offerings downloadable via high-speed EvDO connections.

Special Plan Features: Monthly and pre-paid plans available with voice, messaging, push-to-talk, and Amp'd Live entertainment services as optional add-ons; Unlimited monthly voice and messaging plans available.

Unique Features: Extensive "Amp'd Live" entertainment offerings including mobile gaming community, streaming and downloadable audio/video; Text, picture, and video messaging available; Amp'd exclusive handsets feature advanced multimedia capabilities

Pros: Unique entertainment and messaging services designed to appeal to youth market; Verizon-owned network means reliable coverage and service; Amp'd 1000 plan represents value for heavy text messengers

Technology Used: Amp'd Mobile operates on Verizon's CDMA EvDO network.

Coverage: National

Customer Service: See Consumer Reviews

Show me:

+
Filters

Sort results by:

Up to 25% off French Market Coffee with Subscribe and Save.
Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
15% off Sweetleaf Organics.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
10% off Haribo Roulettes.
Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
Get $50 off iphone 7 Plus. Use code VZWDEAL. Excludes upgrades. Use Code: VZWDEAL
Valid Until: September 30th, 2018

Average user reviews

Based on 6 Reviews

Overall
1
Service Quality
1.333335
Customer Service
1
Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Disgrace for current technology and for business.

Posted on: July 23rd, 2007 by Peter U

The good: Pros: Cheap minutes. Works everywhere.The bad: Cons: 1 - Customer Service unprofessional. They only collect money. ALL other issues Amp?d CS directs to tech support group. But?! 2 - There is no technical service in Amp?d. Perhaps they have desk or even room with sign on it, but it?s empty. You may stay on-line for hours to get disconnected after all. 3 - Be aware, that Amp?d will try to charge you for unused minutes. 4 - Be ready that Amp?d will not honor their financial obligation / contract (e.g. rebate). I don?t care how much Amp's owns tSummary: I do not recommend Amp?d mobile services as cellular provider. Amp?d is disgrace for intelligence, current technology, business, and capitalism.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Ampd Mobile is a complete mess

Posted on: July 4th, 2007 by H ANYIAM

The good: Nothing good about themThe bad: Messed up customer serviceComplete lack of technical or sercice supportPainful long hours of wait sometimes up to 3 hours of wait for a customer service representative.Poor billing management.Ampd mobile is a complete mess.Summary: Messed up customer serviceComplete lack of technical or sercice supportPainful long hours of wait sometimes up to 3 hours of wait for a customer service representative.Poor billing management.Ampd mobile is a complete mess.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Amp'd Blames Best Buy, Could Not Get Customer Service to....

Posted on: June 4th, 2007 by T Smith

The good: No pros. The bad: Could not get through to customer service since first activated. The retailer Best Buy had trouble getting through to activate my service.Summary: Amp'd Mobile has been a problem for us from day one. When I finally got through after hours or days, said they were sorry but didn't take care of issues which were many.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Horrible Service!!!

Posted on: May 5th, 2007 by Sean M

The good: CheapThe bad: You get what you pay for.Summary: This was a secondary phone for my family/nanny. Ampd on 2 seperate occasions messed up the account and even changed the name on my account to someone I didn't know. They had to assign a new number to my phone because they couldn't figure out how the account got changed. After spending hours on the phone and the second problem on the account, I asked for a refund of my money for unused minutes, they said NO! Run from Ampd

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

No, no, and no!

Posted on: April 4th, 2007 by Elizabeth Nagy

The good: Nothing.The bad: A lot.Summary: I bought their first phone before last Christmas for $160 at Circiut City. After a month, I had to return it to the store, because some buttons stopped to work. After Christmas, the same phone was free with the service. Thanks. Since I bought that phone, I was a weekly caller to the customer service because they promised me to have 500 minutes for $30. Within a week the 500 minutes was gone. And I know, I used the phone daily for 3 minutes at max. They do not have online call transcript, the supervisor was not willing to tell me her name, they cut off the phone in the middle of a conversation because of lack of minutes. Now, I am filing a complaint against them. No use of the phone without their plan. They, said they do not refund that money. We'll see.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Lots of potential, but..

Posted on: February 7th, 2006 by Anonymous

The good: Small, looks cool, high resolution & contrast, intense graphics, acceptable photo/video camera.The bad: Very weak battery, the MP3 player freezes up on side loaded music files after using song controls, EVDO signal drops out continuously in spite of being in a heavily covered area, annoying Live portal browser, difficult to web browse because of uncomfortably large fonts, lackluster tech support.Summary: The phone's form factor is small, relatively resistant to easy scratching, and generally.. cool. The slide up function is smooth and affects a slight "Matrix"(as in, "red or blue pill") appeal when it locks into place. Physically speaking, it is a nice vacation from the standard snap-open phones on the market. ==== As of early February, the Amp'd Live portal is still in a relatively new state, and requires a strong EVDO signal for even basic access. Unfortunately, my signal constantly drops in & out in the Northern VA/DC area, which prevents me from accessing the portal at all. Although the manual says that you can preview content, there appears to be no real ability to do so without paying for it first. Although the portal has several content channels, they are limited mostly to small video clips, trailers and "radio popular" music. Channel surfing is extremely annoying because you're stuck hearing music and channel intro's over & over. Web browsing is fast, but difficult because of the unconfigurably large font sizes. ====I have acquired a large collection of digital music over the years and found the ability to copy MP3's to the MicroSD card quite enticing. Unfortunately, the music player refuses to play music once you use the song controls(pause, rewind, etc..). Power cycling the phone was the only way to unfreeze the player, and even then it would only play if I let it go synchronously through the whole list without pausing or stopping it at all. Tech support's only solution was for me to purchase music through the Live portal. This was obviously not an acceptible solution. If they ever fix this, keep in mind that you're limited to the size of the MicroSD card. So far I haven't been able to find any above 512MB, although 1GB was recently announced by Sandisk. ====The default battery is very weak, and needed at least two chargings in a 24 hour period without heavy usage. It has a screen lock feature to prevent accidental calls, but the interface still responds to button presses by flashing it's lights and waking up the screensaver. The lights also flash when it loses & gains back it's EVDO signal resulting in additional battery burn. Amp'd offers a battery upgrade, but I have not tested it. ====Voice reception is fine and the speaker is LOUD. Ringtone volume ranges between loud and extremely loud, and I was often forced to keep it on vibrate without literally throwing people into shock. Basic features like assigning pre-included pictures to contacts often resulted in errors such as "File is corrupt". Power cycling the phone sometimes fixed this, however. The video recorder frequently locks up when you stop, however the recording remains intact after forcing an exit. ====The Amp'd tech support and CSR were often nice, but their solutions were always limited to solutions such as: reset the phone with a * numeric code, power cycle the phone, take the battery out for a few minutes, reformat

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com