Defense Mobile Reviews See All Defense Mobile News

Defense Mobile -- Mobile services for those who have served -- a new nationwide 4G mobile service, built by veterans, supported exclusively by veterans, and designed to connect and improve the lives of active duty military, veterans, and their families.

Show me:

+
Filters

Sort results by:

Up to 25% off French Market Coffee with Subscribe and Save.
Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
15% off Sweetleaf Organics.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
10% off Haribo Roulettes.
Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

Average user reviews

Based on 7 Reviews

Overall
3.285715
Service Quality
3.142855
Customer Service
3
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Horrible company

Posted on: August 11th, 2016 by scottmcgill

I switched to them because I thought I was supporting veterans as I am a veteran as well. (30 years navy) I should have known better. I had the service for about 2 months or less and they, without warning, turned our service off. My wife lost the number she had for over 15 years. They then refused to respond to my innumerable requests for porting of our number. I sent in at least 20 request help tickets and tried to call every day. Oh, and by the way, they turned their phone off so they wouldn't have to deal with the backlash. I feel sorry for the poor active duty service members like me who got their phones turned off on deployment. These people are deplorable and should be sued.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
3

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Defense Mobile offers great plans, but service is lacking

Posted on: June 19th, 2016 by beeker

I switched from Verizon Jan '16. Number porting took 20-60 minutes for each device (I was told I was one of the first to activate multiple phones on Verizon service). Some Defense Mobile CDMA SIM cards were faulty--had to wait for a replacement to be mailed to me before one handset could be ported over. After a month, a SIM card on a different phone went bad (thought it was the new phone--sent phone to Samsung factory and they said it was the SIM card). Another wait, another SIM card, finally all is great. Oops, not so fast. Then I discovered that "Advanced Calling", also called "HD Voice", would not activate. So I can't experience what 4G LTE clearer calling or video calls are like. I submitted a trouble ticket in early June to ask if/when this may be remedied but have recieved no response yet after two weeks. Also, for unknown reasons, all my phones switched from displaying Verizon 4G LTE service to only 3G service in early June '16. After I upgraded my Samsung Galaxy S5 to Android 6.0 (Marshmallow) from Android 5.0 by connection to computer, 4G LTE service was restored.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
3

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not ready for prime time yet.

Posted on: June 7th, 2016 by dmckann

Had Defense Mobile for three months now.. noticed during initial signup with a old phone everything was smooth moving from Verizon Business wireless was easy. Then when attempting to move my family from Verizon Wireless Family plan everything went sideways. Defense mobile has horrible customer service hours, started to transfer my wifes Iphone and that failed miserably, website is a constant loop of madness which never addresses what phone number from verizon your porting over, I gave up on my wife and daughters numbers when verizon offered to match defense mobile. Today i am getting "your service has been interrupted" and have been on hold with defense mobile for 20 minutes waiting on a answer. I setup a trouble ticket three days ago about a random phone number listed on my account, but have not heard anything back. For a good laugh look at the porting instructions for verizon wireless (postpaid) on defense mobiles website..haha I love the concept of this company, they just need to work on their business structure. price is great and in big city areas i heard the quality is equal to all other providers. -Dominic

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
2

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Number Porting / Customer Service Disaster

Posted on: November 7th, 2015 by tc

I decided to switch to Defense Mobile from Straight Talk. After purchasing sim cards and service plans I used the web site to attempt to activate service. After several days and no port, no emails, nothing, I decided to open a support ticket. I got a reply from a customer service technician stating that the port was in a delayed status and they were awaiting a response from Straight Talk. I then contact Straight Talk and was advised that the numbers had been released and everything was complete on their end. I opened another support ticket and am still awaiting a response. I attempted to contact Customer Support by telephone but I was on hold for over 20 minutes without speaking to anyone. I eventually had to hang up without being helped. Defense Mobiles FAQ's advise that most ports are completed in 10 minutes; however the process could take up to 72 hours. Since well over 72 hours has passed and Customer Support is not responding to my request for assistance I am pretty frustrated and have no idea what to do to fix the problem. If you were to request a new phone number from Defense Wireless you probably won't share the same experience that I have had, but be aware of an extended wait if you plan to port your phone number from another carrier. Based on my experiences I cannot recommend Defense Wireless.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Defense Mobile :)

Posted on: July 22nd, 2015 by devildog345

One of my phones with AT&T was off contract a few months ago so I decided why not try this Defense Mobile service. It's prepaid without contracts so there was really no risk. I ended up being very surprised by the service I got! I was expecting it to be just another prepaid phone company. Turns out this a company that's competing with the Big Dogs (ATT, VZ, T-mo etc) but at the price of Cricket! I have the same exact coverage I used to have, better service and pay a fraction of the price. I am going to pay the early termination fees on my other lines because I just don't want to deal with AT&T anymore and I save enough here to make up for it. Plus my kids think its so cool to have it say "DEFENSE" or "MARINES" on their phones instead of "AT&T" (I do too...). If you're eligible for this service and not taking advantage of it, you're doing something wrong. James S. SSgt USMC Ret

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Defense Mobile - So far so good!

Posted on: July 6th, 2015 by USSHopper2

I switched from ATT to Defense Mobile back in January and have had a great experience so far. I pay about half of what I paid for on ATT, with the same exact coverage and more LTE data. I love the mission of the company and cannot get over the quality of their customer service. I try not to call customer service as much as I can with other companies (spending hours talking to a call center in India is not a great use of my time). With Defense Mobile, I actually enjoy talking to the reps! They are all Veterans and are eager to help in any way they can - which is really refreshing. If you're hesitant about Defense Mobile, don't be. They are the real deal and are offering a level of service that extremely rare in this industry.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
4

Would Recommend to a friend.

DEFENSE MOBILE

Posted on: March 16th, 2015 by ARBarnes

Defense Mobile is a new no contract wireless provider that only serves veterans and military families. Their plans are not the cheapest but for the money you get a lot more than other lower grade pre-paid carriers. They have unlimited talk & Text plans with 4g LTE data. Their web site is www.defensemobile.com - I have had their service now for months and I came from AT&T. I waited for a while to get visual voicemail but now that have it and so the experience is 100% like AT&T but I save about 50% off of what my old bill used to be AND I get additional stuff! free email account byname@armymobile.com (was kin of a pain to set up) but with free 25GB of storage. An app called Milsource which is really helpful when it comes to hunting for veteran benefits, I found out my state gives me a property tax credit that I didn't know about $$$!! and I got their debit master card called Milicash and its a great debit card and got me an additional 10% off my phone bill for paying my monthly bill with it and I guess it gets you cash back on other purchases and military discounts. Overall their customer service is a 10 out of 10 and I like that they give back to military charities, they send a nice email out talking about their giving which is a nice touch. I recommended them to about 5 or 6 fiends who are also now customers. I really like this company and want to see them do well.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
5

Would Recommend to a friend.

Defense Mobile

Posted on: November 29th, 2014 by

Great Service from 100% veterans! Best Carrier Networks ! Easy to verify veteran or active duty status and join. Great value adds: Veteran benefits application MiliSource helped find thousands in value we didn't know we were eligible for.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com