Qwest Wireless Reviews See All Qwest Wireless News

Company Overview: Qwest is a major telecommunications carrier offering landline, wireless, and other services including backbone data and digital television. Qwest's Wireless Services segment resells Sprint wireless services under an agreement with Sprint Nextel. Headquarters are in Denver, CO.

Network Benefits: All benefits of Sprint's network, including data and messaging services and Sprint's Vision and Power Vision wireless Web services.

Special Plan Features: Monthly plans ranging from 60 minutes/month to unlimited minutes/month available. Pay as you go plans available.

Unique Features: Bundles available combining wireless with residential phone, Internet, and Digital TV service. Wire/wireless phone integration services available. Business services available.

Pros: Bundled plans combining wireless phone with home wireline phone, Internet, and DirecTV offer good value. Unique wireless/wireline telephone integration services. Sprint PCS network offers nationwide coverage and extensive data services.

Cons: Expensive compared to major national carriers; Service only available to customers in 14-state region.

Coverage: Nationwide coverage, but service is only available to customers in a 14-state region of the Western United States.

Customer Service: Qwest has been fined by Federal and state commissions for "slamming," the practice of switching local telephone customers over to Qwest long distance service without first obtaining their permission. Qwest has also been involved in accounting scandals and fined $250 million by the SEC for various financial problems.

Show me:

+
Advanced Options

Sort results by:

15% off Phones Sitewide + Free Overnight Shipping.

Use Code: TF15OFF
Valid Until: September 30th, 2017

15% off Phones Sitewide + Free Overnight Shipping.

Terms: Only applicable to phone and phone bundle orders. Max discount of $100.
Use Code: NT15OFF
Valid Until: September 30th, 2017

Up to 25% off French Market Coffee with Subscribe and Save.

Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

15% off Sweetleaf Organics.

Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

10% off Haribo Roulettes.

Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

Get $100 off iPhone 7 or 7 Plus. Code VZWDEAL. Excludes upgrades.

Use Code: VZWDEAL
Valid Until: September 30th, 2017

Free Overnight Shipping on any Phone You order.

Terms: Overnight orders must be placed before 3pm EST for next day delivery. Saturday and Sunday are excluded.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2017

Free Overnight Shipping on almost Everything.

Terms: Offer not valid on phone and phone bundle purchases of less than $19.99 or airtime only purchases
Valid Until: December 31st, 2017

Pages

Average user reviews

Based on 13 Reviews

Overall
2.23077
Service Quality
2.23077
Customer Service
2.30769
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Qwest voted most pathetic

Posted on: February 13th, 2009 by robyn brown

The good: Hard put to think of a single redeeming factorThe bad: Terrible customer serviceHorrible website with information so out of date or lagging in accuracy it is unusableEndless run around on the phonePoor cellular coverage. Weak signal. Spotty reception. No roll over minutes.DSL bandwidth is expensive and throughput below advertised. Failed often and needed regular repairSummary: I had Qwest service for nearly 8 years. I wish I would have dumped it sooner or better yet, never had to use them in the first place. They were at the time the only one able to provide landline to my house.Qwest has been a source of unrelenting disappointment and frustration.Their billing SUCKS.It never shows accurately amount due, or payments made. The account portion of the website lags so badly (weeks) that it is useless as a customer tool. The online account information also does not provide the same information the printed bill does even though Qwest claims its the same.If you have to use Qwest then get a paper bill sent to you and keep it filed away. You will need it when you do call them about the problems you will have.Only the land-line to the house was reliable.The wireless service was overpriced and in the city of Portland got spotty reception. I live not to far from downtown and had to talk to one side of my house or outside to get a signal.. one that would drop often.Customer service across the board was terrible. Every time I called I was transferred many many times across many departments. Each time they had to verify a long list of data to make sure I was who I said I was, even if I had been on the phone with them for an hour they would do this.I had DSL which was slow. Below was they advertise. They had to make several trips to my house because it would simply stop working. When the day came to get rid of DSL in favor of Comcast cable internet I had to spend 1.5 hours on the phone.1.5 hours of endless call transfer and hassle JUST TO DISCONNECT THE DSL.This account is by no means isolated. It typified my experience each time I had to deal with customer service.The day I dumped Qwest as a provider is burned into my memory as a day of great relief and joy. I've learned a new level of loathing as it pertains to corporations.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
3
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Not all bad

Posted on: June 27th, 2008 by Ethan Stern

The good: *Sprint network*Friendly sales reps (despite what others have said)*Good rate plans in comparison to other companiesThe bad: *Bad selection of phones*Cust. Svc. only available in 14 state regionSummary: I have had Qwest Wireless since the days of USWEST Advanced PCS and honestly, I'll admit, I have not always had the best experiences with them. However, here's the real truth...Qwest Wireless is an MVNO using Sprint's CDMA network. They also use ONLY phones that Sprint uses (and has had for at least 120 days before Qwest) or approves. So if you blame bad reception on Qwest, it's really not their fault, it's Sprint. Because of their contract with Sprint, the selection is limited, but they do still manage a good selection of camera phones, slim phones, and a few good PDA's (like Moto Q, HTC Fusion, Etc...). Overall, their rate plan is actually pretty competitive. Their data plan is INCREDIBLY cheap compared to other major carriers (Only $30 for unlimited if you're a DSL subscriber). The retail store sales rep's are actually incredibily helpful! I have gone through many many phones (my fault, drop them a lot... :-) and each time they will give me a warranty replacement in store for the same one or a better one if available. Honestly, it's a really good service if you're looking for a nice wireless service with nationwide coverage and bundle discounts with local, dsl, long distance, etc.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Katana II

Posted on: May 14th, 2008 by Kathleen Cockrell

The good: Slender and fits in your pocket.Camera is easy to use. The phone is user friendly until it locks.The bad: It locks up and there is no way to unlock it.The antanna is in the bottom and people can't hear you on the phone while the phone is in the case. When it says Full Lock nobody knows how to unlock the phone. Then is is not useable anymore.Summary: I'm NOT happy. The phone has full lock on it and NOBODY seems to know how to unlock it. I don't understand that nobody knows how to unlock a full lock. I have pictures in it. I can not replace these pictures. What good is a picture phone if you can't get the pictures out of it! Quest said my pictures will be lost. Not going to happen. I'm not sending the camera phone back until I find a way to get my pictures out!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

I dont get it

Posted on: May 13th, 2008 by Roger Kerzmann

The good: It's cheap it has new deals,and new phonesThe bad: not much service, not many phonesSummary: I would advice people in the southern western civilization to get this carrier because it is not all that bad, because they charge me total 200 flat for cell phones(3), home phone(unlimited calls), direct TV, and High speed broadband internet.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Aweful

Posted on: March 29th, 2008 by Joe Cell User

I experience dropped calls almost daily. When I call customer service, they don't seem to know what they are doing. They know that I can't end the contract early, so they don't care how they treat me. N O T recomended at all!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Misleading sales reps?

Posted on: October 24th, 2007 by Mark Cloer

My wife was under the clear impression that she was under a one year contract. After repeated problems, lost calls and poor service she changed carriers. Qwest charged our bill over $200.00 for ending the contract early, even though she was at almost two years of service. I spoke with "DJ" who claims his employee number is 9273. DJ stated that they do not have a copy of her contract and said it was our problem that they do not keep copies of contracts. He refused to provide us with any evidence that the contract was for two years.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Choose and Choose Wisely

Posted on: October 7th, 2007 by Craig Long

The good: Good selection of updated phonesThe bad: Bad connections, dropped callsSummary: I have had 3 different phones with this company. 1st phone didnt work at all. Then the Qwest gave me a phone that could get out anywhere. You could be in a cave and still have reception, but would not pick up my missed calls. So I went back to Qwest and they sent me another phone. Worked good for about a week. This phone I have now you could be sitting ontop of a tower and not have reception. Im tired of fooling with this company.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Bad customer service

Posted on: May 1st, 2007 by Jenny Myers

The good: I do like the idea of combining internet, telephone and wirelessThe bad: Horrible customer serviceSummary: I just recently transferred my cell phone family plan to qwest for the convenience of billing. My daughter less than a month into the plan had her cell phone stolen.I have been trying to work with Qwest for a replacement camera phone, which was what she had at a reasonable price. They refuse to work with me. I threatened to find a compatable cell phone on ebay, and even went so far as obtaining the ESN number of the phone as suggested by Qwest. But the manager of the wireless department told me they were not able to access anyone's account and could not help me at all. So they would not be able to tell me if any of the those cell phones would work for me. I even threatened to take my regular phone service and internet elsewhere, but they don't seem to care. Unfortunately I am tied into the cell phone service for the service plan, but I will have to change all of my other accounts.I am willing to pay a fair price for a replacement camera phone, but they want me to pay $190. Which I do not have and my teenager does not have. So I am completely screwed and they refuse to work with me.Very unhappy with Qwest and would not recommend them to anyone. I have been a loyal customer for over 20 years.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Cheap phone

Posted on: March 25th, 2007 by Terry Williams

The good: Personally, I can't think of anyThe bad: Qwest service is just not up to par in my opinion. My cell phone is a cheap piece of junk. I dislike the recorder for incoming messages and don't like that it's the first feature on the phone. No matter where I am using my phone, it constantly beeps while I'm having a conversation as if I'm either losing the call, or it's a low battery or someone else is calling in, and none of this is the case. The battery life is less than stellar. In reviewing different models, I found that there are just noSummary: I truly would not recommend this phone to anyone. In fact, my daughter has this same phone with another carrier and she dislikes her phone as much as I dislike mine.I will not renew my wireless contract with Qwest.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Service straight from the fires of Hades!

Posted on: October 20th, 2006 by Jane Bradstreet

The good: Convenient billing for internet, long distance, local and wireless in one.Good roaming plan.The bad: Incompetent customer service that fails to respond to emails, doesn't know answers to questions when called.Summary: I let a friend talk me into this service and really wish I had not. I am struggling to figure out how to pay the termination fees for the serivce if I switch to another provider.And I am upset so few providers have service in the Grand Canyon area. Could some rep from a cell phone company please tell me why??Here's a laundry list of problems:1) The provider mistakenly had my two phones on separate plans when I orginally ordered. Though this was remedied quickly, the handset insurance for the second phone was not transferred. Any effort to order online results in failure- sorry we are not able to do this at this time- here are our limited customer service hours, call and we'll place you on hold forever.2) I live in a digital roam area. I am not that savvy on the workings of cell phones and did not know that I would have to travel to be under their cell tower in order to set up my voicemail. I took talking to three customer service agents before one of them knew, and even he had no idea where the nearest area was for me to be under a tower. (It was about a 60 mile trip.)3) The phones I got themselves are terrible, but after less than thirty days of using them, I could not return therm to the company to get another phone.4) The refund that was offered on the second phone has not arrived yet despite the fact I sent in the paperwork promptly.PLEASE SOMEBODY OUT THERE HELP!!!!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages