Tracfone Reviews See All Tracfone News

Company Overview: TracFone is a prepaid wireless provider. The company is a subsidiary of América Móvil, and also operates Net10 Wireless.

Network Benefits: TracFone does not operate its own network, but operates as an MVNO reselling service from over 30 other providers.

Special Plan Features: Prepaid services only; Remaining minutes balanced tracked on handset.

Unique Features: Refer-a-Friend offers free service minutes in exchange for referring a friend who purchases service.

Pros: Flexible service options without contract commitment; Inexpensive handsets (often refurbished); Phones and service available direct from Website and at stores nationwide; Choice between many networks and technologies.

Cons: More expensive than contracted service from national carriers.

Technology Used: GSM, TDMA, and CDMA.

Primary Coverage Area: Nationwide.

Customer Service: TracFone's service is both very popular and widely complained about with regard to phone activation and other technical problems, call quality, customer service, and general business practices.

Show me:

+
Filters

Sort results by:

Up to 25% off French Market Coffee with Subscribe and Save.
Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
15% off Sweetleaf Organics.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050
10% off Haribo Roulettes.
Terms: Discount on first delivery.
Valid Until: December 31st, 2050

Average user reviews

Based on 270 Reviews

Overall
2.34074
Service Quality
2.402215
Customer Service
1.82288
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Tracfone wireless is horrible

Posted on: January 3rd, 2019 by Ilonanka92681

If i can give them a 0 stars horrible people and service broken device wont be fixed a replacement is sent of what they choose tp send you. And no one cares 3 houra on the phone and no assistance. The only solution to dealing with these people is to take them to arbitration. You have to write to Tracfone at the Miami address, then after 30 days, you have to contact the American Arbitration Association and set up a hearing. Normally, you pay $200, but according to Tracfone's rules, they pay that for you. Tracfone also pays a few thousand in fees. You have nothing to lose by taking them to arbitration. They have much more to lose. You have to count how many minutes, texts, data and service days you have, then figure out how much that is worth in dollars. That is going to be your claim amount. If the award that the arbitrator gives you is more than what Tracfone offers, you automatically get $5000.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Tracfone

Posted on: December 23rd, 2018 by All ears

Terrible customer service ......all speak English .....as a second language ... all spout the party line ...everything is customer at fault.....no real service .....cheap fines. ...cheap service =no service

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

ZTE tracfone & service

Posted on: December 19th, 2018 by Janet Hamel

I have been trying for 5 days to get this phone to work. Spent way too much time on ANOTHER phone, on my job, trying to get it right. Today is the 5th day, in the midst of a call, dropped. Was told my account was empty? What happened to the 400+ minutes that were supposedly transferred? Hopefully, after the long time with Customer service, I MAY receieve those later today? REALLY???????? Customer service seems to try? Ok. Some do, some do not. This is a ridiculous process Tracfone has. Time consuming, nerve racking, never ending process. Absolutely would NOT recommend.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Tracfone customer service?

Posted on: December 17th, 2018 by Janet Hamel

I only use the tracfone because it is inexpensive monthly as I still have a landline. As always, over @ least 10 years, if not more, tracfone service is a ridiculous run around. I have just contacted them with a simple question and they are telling me the phone I am using is not activated? How am I using it if it is not activated? In one of the "transfers" to "help", I was totally disconnected. This is the normal run around in circles for these folks and their so called customer service. In most cases, I cannot understand the Customer service rep. Language is an issue. I had to ask the person numerous time s to slow down as I could not catch up with what was being said. ONCE you get your phone up and running, not so bad. Its just an act of congress with the customer service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Awful service

Posted on: November 14th, 2018 by Muhawasee

Supervisor in charge hang up on me twice. I purchased phone from Walmart paid full price now they refuse to unlock it

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Straight talk

Posted on: October 7th, 2018 by lboykinjr

These people overseas have no clue. They don't understand English very well and can't accept that even though the coverage maps say you get service. It does not have coverage because here us Cellular runs the tower. They handle Verizon customers but not Verizon customers on straight talk After 3 hrs they finally gave up. Hung up on me numerous times. I would call right back, no issue resolved. I was sent a cdma phone but ordered a GSM They would not do a refund because of their freaking maps I called credit card company and reported fraud. Still a month later waiting for issueto be resolved

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

TRACFONE WIRELESS

Posted on: August 4th, 2018 by jimmy6850

SOLD ME A PHONE SAID IT WOULD WORK ON ANOTHER CARRIER SINCE THEY DID NOT OFFER MY PACKAGE, THAN LET MY SERVICE RUN OUT AND TURNED IT OVER TO FRAUD SERVICES. WHAT A SCAM TO FORCE YOU TO USE THEM. NOW I HAVE A USELESS PHONE AND NO SERVICE, AND THEY DONT CARE, BUY AMERICAN AND DO BUSINESS WITH AN AMERICAN COMPANY LIKE CONSUMER CELLULAR..

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Bad Customer Service

Posted on: June 11th, 2018 by Pattielaine

Wanted to cancel an order which was just made an hour ago and they refused. So I had to call UPS when I got my tracking number in advance and say I refuse the order and then call my credit card company to remove the charge, which they did. You'd think they would have saved themselves time and money to just cancel it. Bad way to do business and doesn't help their already bad customer reviews. BBB has over like 3,500 complaints online about them and on so many on other websites.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Tracfone

Posted on: April 11th, 2018 by jmferrence

They cheated me out of my text time which was about 1700 minutes when the phone went dead after less than three months. That was the third phone I had trouble with.It is nearly impossible to get a real person in customer service and when you do get someone be prepared to be on the phone for an hour. Their phones and customer service suck. After twent years I am dumping this company.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Recommend to a friend.

Transferring Minutes to New Phone

Posted on: April 3rd, 2018 by Roger 4147098421004391 Hutchinson

My old phone died so I used it as an opportunity to get a new phone. I did not know that it is wise to call TracFone first to verify the minutes remaining on your old phone in order to ensure a smooth transfer. As a consequence, they lost 700 minutes from the old phone. One tech guy that I worked with actually told me how many minutes remained on the old phone before they started disavowing any knowledge of the minutes. On the positive side, I did not lose my airtime. TracFone only keeps records for 30 days (according to the tech guy) so it was not possible to audit my phone usage to verify actual remaining minutes. It's a cheap phone and you get very limited technical support. That's life. I still recommend TracFone if you want a cheap phone - you have to buy lots of minutes to get cost per call down to a reasonable price. But, don't assume the system works - call first before re[lacing a phone to verify airtime and service ending date.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages