Verizon Wireless Reviews See All Verizon Wireless News

Use PhoneDog to compare Verizon Wireless cell phones and plans. With our impressive lineup, you'll find the best Verizon Wireless cell phone plan or phone to fit your needs! We also provide the latest reviews on Verizon Wireless, America's #1 wireless provider.

Show me:

+
Advanced Options

Sort results by:

Pages

Established in 2000, Verizon Wireless is the largest network provider in all of America. Known as the Big Red, Verizon Wireless provides the best coverage for all their users. If they won’t cover you, there’s a big chance that nobody else will. Apart from offering coast-to-coast coverage, Big Red is popular for its consistent speed and uptime reliability. Not to mention, Verizon Wireless offers a wide array of cell phone options to choose from.

Are you considering getting a contract with Verizon Wireless? Check out some of the reviews left by other customers just like you. Read what these people have to say about Big Red and why they would recommend it to other users. With these reviews, you can find out how well Verizon Wireless values its customers.

Do you have your own Verizon Wireless story to share? Send your review and help out other users!

Average user reviews

Based on 416 Reviews

Overall
2.50721
Service Quality
2.755395
Customer Service
2.503595
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Worst Customer Service EVER!

Posted on: August 23rd, 2014 by Alexandra Cooper

The people were rude and slow. DEFINITELY slow, very bad service. now i see why verizon doesn't have a lot of customers. this needs a negative rating

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not worth the trouble....

Posted on: August 14th, 2014 by Anonymous

There are less expensive and better service options available. Awful customer service and problem resolution in my opinion.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

stolen/misappropriated instore payment

Posted on: August 12th, 2014 by j c

I'm not going to repost my epistle, but the jist is, they didn't properly apply my payment. Financial Services said I needed to do a payment trace. Someone else found the record of the payment & told me to call Financial Services tomorrow to get it fixed. I spent over an hour on the phone speaking to people that can see my problem but can't fix it. Incompetent lazy employeesin Financial Services. Probably couldn't get hired at the airport working for HS. This site is wonky, too.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Just awfull customer service

Posted on: August 11th, 2014 by Sandy Michaud

I highly do not recommend anyone going to Verizon. Husband's flip cell phone had issues of dropped calls & we had the plan for only 7 months & went thru all the technical supports calls & a rep. so much as told me to go to another carrier and early term. fees would be waved and we had a approval code..so we did & went to US Cellular & have no issues so far & no dropped calls. 3 weeks later I find out my bill would've been 500.00 & we had to pay the early term fee';s. I almost wanted to rip the cust. rep right thru the phone. Spoke to 4 different rep's including a supervisor & the early term fee's was noted on my account & they couldn't find them & so much as told me the new carrier was to pay the fee's...after many choice words, bill was dropped down to 40.00...unbelievable run around & the rep's do not read the accounts. I even had the galaxy s4 & had issues...

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Horrible Customer Service

Posted on: August 7th, 2014 by Cindy Leaf

I spent 2 1/2 hours on hold with my local Verizon Store (Springfield Plaza in Springfield, VA). On the first call, I waited an hour and the call was dropped. Then the second time, a sales associate tried to convince me that my phone was not supposed to be water resistent despite the Motorola website saying it was. He put me on hold to speak to a manager. An hour and half later, still no manager. I finally gave up at 9:33, 33 minutes after the store closed. I spent 2.5 hours of my life that I will never get back, and I still haven't been able to talk to anyone to get my issue resolved.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
3
Overall:
4
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

overall

Posted on: August 1st, 2014 by Sam Minasian

Ive been with them for more than 5 years. they don't even offer any thank you discount for being a good customer. their not very helpful. I had to call several times to order one phone. I just recently registered for the rewards program. It is a BIG FAT JOKE. IVE NEVER SEEN A REWARDS PROGRAM SO CHEAP AND RIDICULOUS AS THEIRS. THEY DON'T LET YOU USE ALL OF YOUR POINTS, THEY CHOOSE HOW MANY POINTS YOU CAN USE. THAT IS NOT A POINT SYSTEM THAT IS A RIP OFF SYSTEM. I SHOULD BE THE ONE TO CHOOSE NOT YOU. JUST WAITING FOR MY CONTRACT TO EXPIRE THEN I'M SWITCHING TO METRO PCS IF I CAN GET A PHONE ON SALE.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Quality of Verizon Hotspot

Posted on: July 23rd, 2014 by Anonymous

Verizon sent me an upgrade for my mobile hotspot back in late 2012 this after a 2 hour conversation attempting to get the darn thing to work (did I mention I just had a knee replacement and because of pain medications the last thing I wanted to do was deal with customer service passing me from one tech to the next and each tech had me preform the same diagnostics). The next failure occurred around March 2013 and the again the tech?s passed me from person to person before they finally sent me another mobile hotspot. The next failure was May 2014 while I was on vacation I had intermittent failures saying check your sim card. I didn?t think much of it because I was on vacation and believed that the failures could have been from a change of location. In July 2014 the sim card message occurred again and after talking with the tech?s I went to the Verizon Store in Brentwood Mo to get a new sim card and had to wait almost an hour before someone finally gave me the card which I had them check on site and guess what it failed to detect the sim card. At that point I had to endure a sales pitch for an upgrade; but why would I upgrade for 2 years with all these failures. I returned home and once again talked with Verizon Service. Verizon tech?s once again passed me from tech to tech before offering me a replacement (almost 4 hours had past and field trip to the Verizon Store). I told them I didn?t want another replacement since that model of mobile hotspot keeps failing. At that time they gave me another sales pitch for a 2 year upgrade that I didn?t want because I was afraid that the newer model would fail and I would be stuck with a 2 year contract. Did I mention that some of these previous hotspots were using an unusually high number of megabites even thou I did not use it that often and sometimes used 2 gigabytes of memory just turning the darn thing on and not connected to any device (spent days proving to Verizon that something was amiss). The problem with all this is the time I wasted arguing with Verizon and I really liked being able to use the portable wifi when other wifi wasn?t available.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Crap.

Posted on: July 12th, 2014 by Alice McVeigh

Verizon has CONSTANTLY (not only a few times) bounced back my emails from London to my parents in the US. My parents have tried everything. You are rubbish. Alice McVeigh

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Why I Left Verizon Wireless

Posted on: July 11th, 2014 by William Bailey

WHY I SWITCH TO T-MOBILE AFTER 18 YEARS (1996-2014) AS A VERIZON WIRELESS CUSTOMER June 27, 2014 Short Answer ============ My horrible experience with Verizon Wireless revealed a callous indifference to customer interests and concerns in a single-minded pursuit of revenue. A timeline of my experience is as follows. Thu 3/27/14 =========== I visited a Verizon Wireless store to upgrade my phone, but I went totally unprepared to engage with a slick salesperson. It did not occur to me that I needed to guard against getting hoodwinked, because upgrading my phone had always been a routine process. Also, since I had been getting a single bill for my landline and mobile services, I was not aware that Verizon and Verizon Wireless were now separate entities. Therefore I was not aware that a change regarding my home phone would completely severe my relationship with Verizon and upend the quality of service I was getting from them. I brought my latest bill with me to expedite the process of exchanging pertinent information. The salesperson looked at the bill and exclaimed that I could save money. I ended up being sold a 4-line More Everything plan that included (1) the phone, (2) a mobile hotspot (which I liked), (3) a cellular modem for my computer, and (4) a device called the Home Phone Connect (HPC) for my landline. I was dubious about replacing my unlimited data with this new plan?s 1 gigabyte of data. But I was assured that 1 gigabyte could fit my needs. Since I thought that Verizon and Verizon Wireless were the same company, I thought that the cellular modem and HPC were just replacement devices for my Verizon service. I did not know that I would be terminating my Verizon service and signing up for devices that involved Early Termination Fees (ETF). When I was asked to sign my name on the salesperson?s iPad and was told that the paperwork would be emailed to me, I thought I was merely signing my credit card receipt. If I had known that I was signing a contract for the cellular modem and HPC that involved ETF?s, I would have backed out. It was not explained to me what I was signing, and I was not offered a chance to read it. (In contrast the T-Mobile salespersons made sure that I read everything before signing.) Fri 3/28/14 =========== After reading the morning paper with my iPad Wall Street Journal app, I was shocked to see an email alerting me that I had exceeded my data allowance. The email advised me to increase my data plan to avoid an overage charge. I increased the plan to 2 gigabytes. My promised savings had thereby shrunk! Sat 3/29/14 =========== I took the cellular modem and HPC to the Verizon store to return them and revert back to Verizon?s cooper line and unlimited data. After the salesperson spoke with the store manager, I was told that they concluded that the email alert must have been in error, because I could not have used all my data. I was told that 2 gigabytes was more than enough for normal computing, and besides I could bring in a bill and have glitches corrected. Not believing that I would be willfully misled, I fell for that explanation. Wed 4/2/14 ========== I received another shocking email alert about exceeding my data allowance and that I should increase my data plan to avoid overage charges. Examination of my data usage indicated that the iPad Wall Street Journal app was using a quarter gigabyte per day. Still relying on the veracity of the Verizon Wireless salespersons, I concluded that this could not be correct. I figured that perhaps a calculation involving prorated data usage was amiss. I decided to wait until the start of my full monthly cycle on 4/7 to examine the readings on my data usage. Besides the data usage headache, it had become clear that the HPC had three significant shortcomings. They were (1) inferior sound quality, (2) inability to fax, and (3) the Caller ID displayed the number only ? no name. The third shortcoming was extremely maddening, because even though my number is on the Do Not Call list I still get numerous junk phone calls. I routinely ignore calls that show ?Unavailable? or something similar. Screening calls became surprising difficult with the HPC. I was avoiding legitimate calls whose number I did not immediately recognize. And I was picking up (and immediately hanging up) on junk calls with a local area code. Tue 4/8/14 ========== On this new monthly cycle, I checked my data usage and saw that my iPad Wall Street Journal app was indeed using a quarter gigabyte per day for one and a half gigabytes per week. My other computer usage was a quarter gigabyte per week. It became clear that I had been misled, and that a limited data plan ? though OK for a mobile phone ? was totally inappropriate for combined phone and home computing usage. Wed 4/9/14 ========== I called Verizon to get back my superior landline service with unlimited data. Tue 4/15/14 =========== A Verizon technician got me back onto Verizon. I felt relieved! It was like welcoming back an old friend whom I had unwisely underappreciated. I no longer had to guess whether or not a call was a junk phone call. I no longer had to curtail my everyday computer and iPad activities out of concern over data limits. I could tell from phone conversations that the technician had with his coworkers that they considered the Verizon Wireless HPC to be crap. I called Verizon Wireless to get the cheapest plan possible. The plan included a quarter gigabyte of data, but the representative gave me a bonus allotment of an extra gigabyte. So at this point I felt that I was in a good situation. I had landline and mobile service appropriate for me at a cost much less than my cost before the start of this bad experience. Thu 4/17/14 =========== I noticed on my Verizon Wireless bill that the salesperson had added extended warranties for the phone and mobile hotspot to my plan without my knowledge. I called Verizon Wireless to get them dropped. Also that day, I opted out of having Verizon Wireless retain my checking account and bank routing numbers. Mon 5/12/14 =========== I saw on my bill that Verizon Wireless had charged me an Early Termination Fee for reverting back to Verizon. This was truly an insult upon injury! After being hoodwinked into a frustratingly inadequate home phone service plan and then misled when I came to return it two days later, they were penalizing me for reverting back to a service that made sense for me. Essentially, Verizon Wireless sets up a Berlin Wall to discourage people from escaping, rather than offering something that would encourage people to stay. Tue 5/13/14 =========== I returned to the Verizon Wireless store to demand that they drop the ETF. But first I had to get pass someone who fed me the line that they could save me money on TV service, which was the same line with which I had already been duped. (Be prepared to be hustled at a Verizon Wireless store, especially if they feed you this line.) I explained the following to the person who waited on me. (1) It was not made clear to me that I was signing a contract for the HPC; I thought I was signing a credit card receipt. (2) I was misled about the adequacy of a 2 gigabyte data plan, when I came to return the HPC and cellular modem. (3) The HPC has inferior sound quality. (4) The HPC lacks a fax capability. (5) The HPC lacks a genuine Caller ID capability. After the person spoke with the manager, I was told that the manager was on a conference call and that I would receive a call around 4:00pm. I rehashed my experiences to the manager later that day. The manager essentially told me that I should have known that I was signing a contract. I was told that the ETF would not be dropped, but the restocking fee would be waived if I returned the HPC device. I stated that I intended to terminate all services. The manager?s response was ?No problem.? Fri 5/16/14 =========== I called Verizon Wireless to terminate my remaining three services. I rehashed my experiences to the service representative?s obligatory ?why? question. The representative informed me that services will automatically get dropped when I transfer to another carrier. Later that day I received an automated call from Verizon Wireless Customer Survey. I gave a zero to the likelihood that I would recommend Verizon Wireless, and then summarized my experiences for the obligatory ?why? question. I received no further feedback. Apparently Verizon Wireless has no process for attending to an aggrieved customer who for 18 years paid each bill shortly after it arrived. Thu 5/22/14 =========== I visited a T-Mobile store ? this time with my guard up ? to inquire about their ?We Pay Your ETF?s? promotion. I was pleasantly surprised to find a totally different corporate culture. The salespersons related to me as a human being rather than as a potential dupe. I transferred my phone and mobile hotspot services to T-Mobile; so they will pay those two ETF?s. Perhaps having some awareness of the anti-customer culture at Verizon Wireless, the salesperson said that now I no longer had to deal with them. Unfortunately I still had to have one more interaction with Verizon Wireless, because I had to terminate the cellular modem service. Fri 5/30/14 =========== I called Verizon Wireless to terminate my remaining service. To my surprise, upon answering the obligatory ?why? question, the service representative expressed some empathy. The representative (1) apologized for my bad experiences, (2) noted that I had been a good customer since 1996, and (3) asked if there was something that could be done to keep me with Verizon Wireless. However it was too late; I had already switched to T-Mobile. Ironically if I had spoken with this representative earlier, I would probably still be with Verizon Wireless. I really liked the cellular modem. More than just a portable broadband wireless connection, it also provided a portable broadband Ethernet connection. So if needed, I could have had a broadband connection wherever I was whether or not a particular computer had a wireless antenna. Before switching I would have been willing to negotiate over the possibility of adding more bonus data to my monthly allotment. In closing, here are some reasons why a Verizon Wireless customer should consider switching to T-Mobile. 1.T-Mobile will pay your ETF?s. 2.In contrast to corporate culture at Verizon Wireless, T-Mobile?s is customer friendly. (Admittedly, a high confidence conclusion cannot be drawn from my small dataset. I could have unluckily chosen an anomalously anti-customer Verizon Wireless store.) 3.T-Mobile will pay your ETF?s. 4.T-Mobile?s hotspot device is nice. It can be tethered to deliver wireless broadband to a computer that lacks a wireless antenna. Or while tethered it can act as an external storage device. Also it has a large capacity battery, so it can charge or power other devices. 5.Call forwarding with T-Mobile is extremely flexible. With Verizon Wireless, when I was home and wanted to receive calls to my mobile phone on my landline with my mobile phone turned off, I had to unconditionally forward my calls. Then I had to remember to turn off call forwarding, when I left the house. In contrast T-Mobile has four call forwarding modes: (a) unconditional, (b) busy, (c) don?t answer, and (d) unavailable (phone turned off). So in just one simple operation I was able to set modes 2 ? 4 on my T-Mobile phone to forward calls to my landline. Now I no longer have to play the game of turning call forwarding on and off. Calls to my mobile phone automatically go to my mobile phone when it is on and to my landline when it is off. 6.You can make calls over Wi-Fi with T-Mobile. So if Wi-Fi is available, you have coverage. 7.And lastly, T-Mobile will pay your ETF?s. William H Bailey Wyncote, PA Whtbailey06@gmail.com

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not good on rebates!

Posted on: July 4th, 2014 by Anonymous

I recently added an iphone to my account with $200 out of pocket which was supposed to my account in 2 to 3 billing cycles. It never happened. After the 4th billing cycle I called Verizon. They had no such record of a $200 rebate for that phone, only $100. So they only gave me $100 and referred me to the store. I have heard from either one since. This isn't the only rebate I've had trouble with. The last one was $50 rebate and it took 5 months to receive it after numerous phone calls. It was a huge waste of time. I've had it with Verizon. owell01

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages