Virgin Mobile Reviews See All Virgin Mobile News

Compare Virgin Mobile cell phone plans and phones by using our comparison tool below. You can also take a look at Virgin Mobile user ratings and reviews. 

Show me:

+
Advanced Options

Sort results by:

Established in 2002, Virgin Mobile offers worry-free, no-contract wireless plans for any and every consumer. They offer great coverage via Sprint’s network paired with flexibility and fun. And the best part? You don’t have to be locked into a contract to enjoy all of Virgin Mobile’s benefits.

Are you wondering if Virgin Mobile is your best bet? Check out some of our reviews from customers like you. Find out what people are saying about Virgin Mobile and whether they would recommend the coverage and customer service to other users. These reviews are the best way to find out exactly what it’s like to be a Virgin Mobile customer.

Have your own Virgin Mobile experience? Share it with us!

Average user reviews

Based on 150 Reviews

Overall
2.06
Service Quality
2.12838
Customer Service
2.013335
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

So much for 7 years of loyal service with Virgin Mobile

Posted on: January 17th, 2018 by shoman66

So shortly after my father passed away last month, we decided to move my mom's mobile phone service to one of our existing accounts and pay for it ourselves - saving her money since she is now down to one income. I called Virgin Mobile the day of the switch to let them know of the situation and was told by them that as of that day, there would be no further charges as this was a prepaid service. Low and behold within a day they charged her credit card for another month. After calling them to get it straightened out only to be told by the phone rep that her account could no longer be accessed and was hung up on, I emailed them. They responded that a refund was initiated and we should see it within 5 days. 2 weeks later (with no refund applied) I emailed again. Their response was that if she had only used another 15 mts of service, the refund would have been issued but since she had used 21 mts of service, they were not going to refund her anything. What an unethical way to treat a customer after 7 years of loyal service. This is how Virgin Mobile operates. Spread the word if you ever find yourself in discussions concerning mobile phone service.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

virgin mobile

Posted on: January 16th, 2018 by Wickywacky

I wanted to getmy virgin mobile phone unlocked so I could use it with another carrier. I made four calls to their 'customer service' department to try to get this accomplished. I was told three different things by three different representatives, only to find out, on the fourth call, that they would not unlock MY phone, because I did not do it within a specified time frame So, now I am stuck with a phone that I cannot use, and I will damn sure never go back to Virgin Mobile. I would give them less than one star if I could.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Disgusting service.

Posted on: April 16th, 2015 by mrjake

I would not recommend virgin mobile, TO ANYONE. I have been getting stuffed around for the past week over trying to give them the correct items for a credit check on me. First i went in store to set up the plan, gave them what they asked for and was told to wait till they heard back and that they would call me when they heard back from the credit review team. I called the next day to ask if they had heard word back, the man there said No they haven't, that didn't seem right to me, i went onto the website, talked to someone there, turns out that they actually had word back the same day i gave them the information and it turned out they actually want more information. Person at the store clearly not doing their job. So, i spoke to someone over the phone, we scrapped that plan to just do it online, he then gave me a email to send my items for the credit review through and he didn't give any specific information on how you are exactly meant to do it, you have to put your reference ID in the subject name of the email and so because i was not told of this, that email didn't work, i called up and was told it was then told it was incorrect email and was given another. Days later i then receive a email from the one i sent my items to, to send more items for the review (so once again, they did not tell me the correct amount to send, i sent what they told me and it turns out they want even more). They also said to sent it to the first email they gave me which they said themselves is incorrect. So i sent more of the items they needed. Then, days later, again no reply so i called them up and they told me that i needed to show the home address on the back of my ID card (i had just simply shown them the front as i figured that would be enough) so for 2 days they didn't contact me to tell me that i needed to send them the proof of address. Now, all this screwing me around and i asked if they were going to do anything in return for all the mishaps and people not doing their jobs. They said no we cannot. That was the breaking point for me, they messed me around for an entire week, wasting my time, my phone credit, my effort, causing lots of confusion and frustration and they won't even do anything to make up for their faults. This company should not even be open, this company should have been closed down a long time ago, they have horrible customer service, clueless employees and really don't seem to care for their customers at all. For your own sake, do NOT go with virgin mobile, or you will have many regrets to come throughout your experience with them (this was not my first time with them, had a account with them quite a while ago and it was pretty shocking service)

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Virgin Mobile Canada

Posted on: March 14th, 2015 by greza

So... Virgin Mobile's recent system upgrade has changed my upgrade eligibility and remaining balance from $59.14 to $262.36. When I called customer service the agent just said, "Sorry but we can't do anything about it, whatever your account was showing was an error." Error for the past nine month? We can't stop paying bills and say oh... sorry! Is that a trick to make money and hoping that we won't see. The system was misleading me all these months? A month or two ago when I called customer service the agent said I can just pay $59.14 and get a new phone, and I said I will wait until the balance becomes $0. And today customer service agent asked me to pay $262.36 and leave the company. This is awesome customer service! Never recommend Virgin Mobile to anyone please.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
1

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Horrible!!!

Posted on: November 22nd, 2014 by TaliInGA

I wish I could give this a 0! This was the worst company ever! I bought an LG Tribute with unlimited Talk, text, and data. The phone wouldn't activate over their website, so I had to call the Customer Service. I talked to one lady that I could hardly understand, she couldn't figure it out so she sent me to another person, who then made me repeat exactly what I said to the first lady, who then sent me to another person that made me repeat what I said to the first 2 people who then "accidentally" hung up on me. I could hardly understand any of them, never got any help, went around in circles for 2 hours and phone is still not activated. Phone will be going back to Best Buy tomorrow and I'll be going with a different company for sure!!!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
2
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

horrible signal strength eventhough coverage map showed it perfect

Posted on: November 12th, 2014 by Anonymous

horrible signal strength even though coverage map showed it perfect, had a painful amount of dropped calls and missing texts.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

They are crooks!

Posted on: October 24th, 2014 by Anonymous

I have maintained a Virgin Mobile account for my mom for many years. When she died, I was told that I would get a refund. They said not to close the account or the refund could not be processed and they assigned a case no. When no refund came, I called back and was given a list of 7 or 8 things I needed to fax them. Death certificate, probate papers, funeral parlor cards, obituary, funeral parlor website and more. I did all this and heard nothing. I called to check on the refund and after 2 calls and 50 minutes on the phone, I was told that they could not process the refund because the account had been closed. NOT BY ME! This is fraud. A deliberate effort by Virgin Mobile to make the refund impossible. I have no recourse, short of a lawsuit, but I wanted everyone to know the kind of company they are dealing with. PCK

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Cheap Price But You Get What You Pay For

Posted on: October 3rd, 2014 by Warren Dutton

I have AT&T service, but it is pricey (I pay almost $100 a month). So, I researched pay-as-you go plans, and found Virgin Mobile to be very reasonable - $35 a month for unlimited texts and data, and 300 minutes of talk time, and I purchased a Samsung Galaxy S3 for $200. I live in NJ, not far from NYC, and the phone mostly works well in this geographic location - mostly; it is pretty consistent, but I do have dropped calls and periods of absolutely no phone or data service. Also, I travel a lot for work, and I have had several problems with service and data in Washington, D.C., Raleigh, North Carolina, St. Louis, Missouri, Memphis, Tennessee, Ardmore, Oklahoma, Atlanta, Georgia, Chicago, Illinois, and San Francisco and San Diego California. In some cases, service and data are intermittent at best; however, in the mid west, service was absolutely non-existent - I could not make a phone call or connect to data - I had absolutely no service at all. This is a great plan for a teenager or an adult that lives in the NY/NJ area and doesn't travel far from home.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Irresponsible of Virgin Mobile

Posted on: September 29th, 2014 by Mah Ali

Virgin overcharged me £105/- but my plan only £16.50 called 15 times mailed many many times I can't understand they never give proper responsible reply. Really got fed up loosing patience. Is therecany reporting council there like Consumer Coulsil in UK

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not good on online purchase returns

Posted on: September 24th, 2014 by Elizabeth Frost

I ordered my initial phone online, and didn't receive it until about a week later. I wasn't happy with the phone, and called them directly. Online returns can be returned 14 days from the date ordered. I tried the phone for a week and called them and let them know I was returning the phone. I was instructed to return the phone in the small plastic envelope they provided, and dropped it in the nearest mailbox. It is now two weeks later, and I still haven't received a refund. Their response to my email about why I haven't been issued a refund was they wanted the tracking number. DUH! I don't have a tracking number. When I got a new Virgin Mobile phone I went to a store that sold them, and you get 30 days to return the phone if you do not like it. I haven been thru 3 of them phones, and am not happy with the product. I am going to a different phone company.....Virgin Mobile is not worth it!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages