Error message

An illegal choice has been detected. Please contact the site administrator.

Virgin Mobile Reviews See All Virgin Mobile News

Compare Virgin Mobile cell phone plans and phones by using our comparison tool below. You can also take a look at Virgin Mobile user ratings and reviews. 

Show me:

+
Filters

Sort results by:

Established in 2002, Virgin Mobile offers worry-free, no-contract wireless plans for any and every consumer. They offer great coverage via Sprint’s network paired with flexibility and fun. And the best part? You don’t have to be locked into a contract to enjoy all of Virgin Mobile’s benefits.

Are you wondering if Virgin Mobile is your best bet? Check out some of our reviews from customers like you. Find out what people are saying about Virgin Mobile and whether they would recommend the coverage and customer service to other users. These reviews are the best way to find out exactly what it’s like to be a Virgin Mobile customer.

Have your own Virgin Mobile experience? Share it with us!

Average user reviews

Based on 151 Reviews

Overall
2.05298
Service Quality
2.127515
Customer Service
2.006625
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Not good on online purchase returns

Posted on: September 24th, 2014 by Elizabeth Frost

I ordered my initial phone online, and didn't receive it until about a week later. I wasn't happy with the phone, and called them directly. Online returns can be returned 14 days from the date ordered. I tried the phone for a week and called them and let them know I was returning the phone. I was instructed to return the phone in the small plastic envelope they provided, and dropped it in the nearest mailbox. It is now two weeks later, and I still haven't received a refund. Their response to my email about why I haven't been issued a refund was they wanted the tracking number. DUH! I don't have a tracking number. When I got a new Virgin Mobile phone I went to a store that sold them, and you get 30 days to return the phone if you do not like it. I haven been thru 3 of them phones, and am not happy with the product. I am going to a different phone company.....Virgin Mobile is not worth it!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
2
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Thieves

Posted on: September 22nd, 2014 by Geoff Petrasek

Service was intermittent. I went w/o data but was never reimbursed. Customer service was inconsistent and un-American. Habla Espanol? Don't waste your money.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

The are a gang of thieves

Posted on: August 13th, 2014 by Álvaro Miguel Ortega

I want to explain what has been my experience. I have spent only a month in Canada using their services. I checked daily my balanced and i was very worried about paying the correct day because I don't live in Canada and I hope I won't come back. The balance never moved, and i couldn't see any detail about my usage. The day when I was supposed to pay I saw a quantity and I paid without asking anything, the same day. My monthly bill was fron the 7 of July till the 7 of August. So in August the 7th I was ready and I paid immediately. 5 days later they sent me an e-mail saying that I owed like 350 bucks. My surprise was that they were charging me the calls that i was receiving from my girlfriend and they were suppose to be data calls because she had Skype credit. I'm still fighting with this amount of thieves because they don,t tell you your real usage, they keep it as secret as possible tu steal your money. So my advise is never ever get into a virgin shop, they will cheat you because they only want your money. According to the customer service they are a gang of heartless blackmailers. When i tryed to explain that i'm studying here for only a month,that i wanted to pay but I I could'tt pay 350 buck because I didn't have them (only one week for my departure you can imagine my bank account), that i wanted to pay but i was leaving the countrty in a week and they tryed to sell me a 2 YEARS PLAN THAT I WAS NOT USING of 45 bucks a month. They told me they could reduce my balance in 100 bucks more or less but if i sign a 2 years contract that I wouldn,t use because in a week i was taking a plane to the US and I am not comming back to Canada. They take advantage of your aknoledge. So please never ask anything in that company. Never sign any kind of contract or similar if you don't want to be stolen. They are making the worst publicity of a wonderful country wich is Canada. I would feel really ashamed to work in that company.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Poor service, too many dropped calls. I do NOT reccommend.

Posted on: August 12th, 2014 by J W

I've had Virgin Mobile for 2 years now, and to say the least, it is very crappy service. I have the iPhone 4. For the past year, there will be periods of time (about 3-4 weeks at a time) where the phone will drop EVERY call I make or receive. I took it to Apple, thinking it was an issue with the phone, but guess what?? It was all because of the carrier. In all reality, the phone itself had not dropped a single call when I was shown the diagnostics report from an Apple Genius Bar tech. Out of the 23 calls I made/recieved, 19 were dropped within a 2 week period. I don't even know why it drops a lot of the time; I get texts perfectly fine and there's a tower right by my house that gives me 3-5 bars. Not to mention, Virgin is very slow, coverage is spotty, and at times Virgin will randomly turn off 3G and only allow me to use GPRS/EDGE, which is about the speed of dial-up, if even that. I'm very disappointed with their service. I shouldn't have to tell people they can only text me because I can't hold a conversation with them without failed calls. I am switching to AT&T as soon as possible. Avoid this company if phone calls are important to you! There's a reason it's so cheap.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Never get VIRGIN service. They'll F u like a VIRGIN

Posted on: August 7th, 2014 by Anonymous

After landing in Canada I got 2 cellular lines. One from Fido & another from Virgin. Somehow there were sixty four more charged on my bill making it 0ne hundred since I got connected to a US based number. There is same long distance message either you call US or Canada. I explained this to the customer service & the Asian girl was not patient enough to understand & hung up. Second time I called, Todd (second customer service rep) tried to give me a credit (goodwill credit) of thirty six & since I was not fully satisfied, spoke to his supervisor DJ (Employee # EY46067) who came up with a nineteen dollar discount & doesn't have the manners to listen to the customer. He was trying to put words in my mouth that I agree to the charges. And totally rude, cutting my conversation off many times. I don't understand how these guys get jobs in customer service, where they rip off customers. Total waste of 1.5 hrs disputing the charges. Please do not get Virgin cellular services because they will somehow try to squeeze money out of you. Hence proved...how Richard Branson makes billions even after going bankrupt.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Virgin Mobile do not care

Posted on: August 5th, 2014 by Peter Wick

I have been a Virgin Mobile customer since 2007 and recently when ringing 789 it stated it was time to upgrade and that I could get a shiny new phone now this was unusual as normally it is 2 months prior not 3 months so I pressed okay and spoke to an agent. Lo and behold it is a system error and the is nothing they can do about it and that I was not the only customer getting this message ( This is fantastic customer service ) so I thought that cannot be right so rang back later and was once again told the same thing. So not to be outdone I emailed the CEO's office and got a response but once again it was a fob off but again it was reiterated wait until the 23rd August which is 2 months before my contract is up. I tried again yesterday just to see if the automated system had been updated which oddly it had not been to be now told I would have to wait until the 23rd September a month before my contract ends, now I know every upgrade until this date has been a minimum of 2 months so it looks like my account has been noted to only now allow a months grace probably because I had the audacity to complain, I emailed the CEO's office again and was told no the one month is correct. So I am now going to ensure my contract finishes on the 23rd October and go elsewhere and the phone I am looking for is going for less on O2 with more minutes and texts so I suppose in one way they did me favour as I will save money each month. Now going back to my title Virgin Mobile do not care about retaining their customers especially long term ones you can ignore the above but if it happens to you remember I told you so.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Worst. Phone carrier. Ever.

Posted on: July 19th, 2014 by bla bla

I accidentally dropped my phone two days ago. I went to file a claim with Assurance Wireless (the insurance I had through Virgin Mobile) only to find out I no longer have insurance. A couple months back, I switched from the Droid to an iPhone. Kept the same phone number, the same exact plan, so you'd think that in keeping the same plan, I'd be keeping the insurance. Nope, apparently. When I contacted Virgin Mobile about this, they told me that when you buy a new phone, even if you keep the same plan, you have to renew the insurance. Okay, why wasn't I told this? Why would you possibly think that it's a good practice to not keep your customers informed about something like this? As soon as I find a different carrier, I'm dropping Virgin. If you're looking for a carrier, stay far, far away from VM. Not only are they not totally upfront about important issues, but their customer service SUCKS. They don't answer questions and instead skirt around any issues/questions you may have.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Virgin Mobile Canada

Posted on: July 11th, 2014 by Cole Tansy

I am late on my phone payment because as I warned them before I will pay you when I can, do not turn off my phone. What do they do? Turn off my phone and when I try to access my phone, when I try to get online they tell me they will send me a text with the information (nice job virgin, how exactly am I suppose to retrieve that?). After being on the phone for 3 hours, I eventually find 2 people in the entire company that treat you like a human being and not like a number, and they tell me what I am ACTUALLY suppose to do. They give me all the information I need, and from there I call them back to tell me that my conformation number means absolutely nothing to them. I have actually been to both Koodo and Rogers Mobility, and not once was I ever treated so poorly. I have been hung up on by managers and told that under no circumstance will they connect my phone until I have the money. Now, I am paying for half a month of service that I in fact can not use my phone during. Thanks Virgin, I really appreciate being talked down to.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Horrible to deal with

Posted on: June 28th, 2014 by Shawn Singh Sandhu

This company has proceeded to charge a terminated account of mine 18 months after closing it without informing me of anything and then proceeded to send the debt to collectors. They are claiming that they were sending me cheques which they shouldn`t have been doing and are now trying to get their money back. I never cashed a single cheque (the address was wrong so I couldn`t be sure they were meant for me) and yet they argue that the money was taken out of their system. It took me over 20 hours to track down that much information as well as multiple call-ins and dealing with numerous different people who were all rather belittling about the whole ordeal. Do not join with them. Once they have you they care not for you at all.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

This is the absolute worst phone company I have ever dealt with.

Posted on: June 21st, 2014 by Anaelle Legrain

Although choosing Virgin Mobile because of their seemingly good service and cheaper prices, they are utterly inept. When calling customer service to alter aspects of the phone plan (eg. automated payments, warranty, etc..) these changes were not made until I angrily complained. Their system is fully computerized, customer service officials consequently cannot explain certain transactions. With the automatic payment system, they remove utterly random amounts of money of bank accounts, leaving one with hundreds worth of online, non-refundable credit. Cellular data in downtown, popular areas (e.g. Downtown Montreal) is incredibly slow. This company is completely disorganized and misleading.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages