Error message

An illegal choice has been detected. Please contact the site administrator.

Virgin Mobile Reviews See All Virgin Mobile News

Compare Virgin Mobile cell phone plans and phones by using our comparison tool below. You can also take a look at Virgin Mobile user ratings and reviews. 

Show me:

+
Filters

Sort results by:

Established in 2002, Virgin Mobile offers worry-free, no-contract wireless plans for any and every consumer. They offer great coverage via Sprint’s network paired with flexibility and fun. And the best part? You don’t have to be locked into a contract to enjoy all of Virgin Mobile’s benefits.

Are you wondering if Virgin Mobile is your best bet? Check out some of our reviews from customers like you. Find out what people are saying about Virgin Mobile and whether they would recommend the coverage and customer service to other users. These reviews are the best way to find out exactly what it’s like to be a Virgin Mobile customer.

Have your own Virgin Mobile experience? Share it with us!

Average user reviews

Based on 151 Reviews

Overall
2.05298
Service Quality
2.127515
Customer Service
2.006625
Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Buying a phone from Virgin Mobile online and by phone is a nightmare!

Posted on: September 27th, 2013 by arlene a.

What a nightmare! So many errors necessitating so many calls, each with its long hold times and nightmare music clips and promos. I bought a Samsung Entro on the VM website, receiving email confirmation, then an email telling me there was a problem processing the order and I needed to call. After listening to horrible hold music and promos) I was told the phone was on backorder and wouldn?t be available for at least 6 months. So the salesperson cancelled the and placed my order for a Samsung Galaxy Victory. Then I got an email saying the Entro was shipping. I assumed it was another mistake. It wasn?t. The Entro arrived. Now that I had the Entro, I called to cancel the Galaxy Victory. Again, the horrible hold music and promos before the order was cancelled. A few days later the Galaxy Victory arrived. I called to find out how to return it. After talking to two agents (horrible hold music and promos twice), I was told I would have to pay to ship it back, then I could call yet again (more horrible hold music and promos) to request a refund on the postage. I couldn?t take anymore. I was quite rude to the agent and hung up on her. The service is good (and cheap) but don?t buy your phones from Virgin Mobile!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME

Posted on: September 12th, 2013 by W K

I tried to get service through Radio Shack. After they entered all of the necessary information they got a message that the activation center was not available. I came home and entered all of the information again, then got the same message. I chatted online and then tried again, but got the same message. Then when I called Customer Care per chat instructions, I got the message to contact my service provider and a hang up. I tried this 5 times and got nowhere while chatting with an agent who would also not give me any help. Finally, I DEMANDED a supervisor after the agent, Darwin, would not give me an email address for Customer Care. I spent a total of two hours on the phone and an 8 hour day connecting to Virgin. It finally works, but if this is how it begins, I prefer not to continue with them. Since I received calls from them, I asked that they not add that time to my 300 minutes limit, but the responded by telling me I should have called *86. They just don't get it. CUSTOMER SERVICE with Virgin, is a disservice and not at all sensitive to customer concerns.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
4
Customer Service:
4
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

What's up with everyone ripping on Virgin Mobile?!?!

Posted on: September 11th, 2013 by Henrik M.

I've been with Virgin Mobile for almost six years now and am quite shocked to see all the negative reviews! In six years, I've only had to call them maybe a handful of times, but they were always helpful and able to resolve my issue quickly. I live in Southern California and I've never had an issue with my service and I travel back and forth to Las Vegas at least once a month! The only exception was once when traveling to South Carolina (the service was a little spotty in some places back there). I just purchased the Samsung Galaxy S3 and I love it! I've had the phone for about 3 months now and have had ZERO ISSUES with the phone or the service! I pay $50.00 a month ($45 for the service and $5 for the phone insurance) and am very happy with my service that I receive. I know a lot of other people who have Virgin Mobile as well across the US and they love it as well, so I'm really at a loss to see this many people who are so angry with Virgin Mobile.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Terrible ! DONT even waste your money pleasee!

Posted on: September 5th, 2013 by Lilbitt Montana

I wanted a iphone for the longest but i like the fact of no having to be on a contract because i can pay 50 a mo. and get unlimited everything. so while searching for no contract iphones i stumble upon virgin mobiles website and they sell it at the cheapest price. I read the reviews about the phone on their website and they were pretty good but now that im reading reviews elsewhere i wish i NEVER ordered a phone from them!! First of all i tried to order it online but the website is dumb as hell and wouldnt work when i did it so i called them so i can order it through the phone. The first representative i talked to told me my card info is wrong, actually its not they just cant understand ENGLISH!! So i hung up with him and called again, Now im speaking to a different person and she gets my info and tells me the order went through. Ok so now im happy im getting my phone. I call a couple days letter to see when im going to get it because when i try to track order on the website guess what, IT DOSENT WORK!. So they give me my fedex tracking number.. The day comes and I NEVER get my package, I call fedex and they tell me they delivered it so i tell them well i never got it. Come to find out the representative put in my street address wrong and it sounded nothing like my actual address so i dont know where she got that address from ! stupid ! So i call these people so many freaking times trying so explain to them my situation and im getting little to No results i feel like im running in circles and im confused on this whole situation. Each time i call a diff representative gives me diff info. Its a shame they dont understand anything because their not american and their always says how their going to help you.. and they understand your frustrations blahh blahh blahh No they dont. they dont care foreal cause if they did i wouldnt have to call them like 6 diff times in the day to get try to find someone who will make sense!! I didnt think getting a phone would be this damn difficult. Im angry i dont even want this phone no more after reading many reviews i see people have problems in all areas of this phone company, the price isnt worth the headache. So im now tellling them i want my money back and i dont care what their talking about i will get my money back one way or another because their customer service is awful and i dont wish to deal with them ever again in the future. I give them my address and they cant even spell it correct even when i spell it out for them! then they keep repeating to wrong address that they sent the phone to. Like im so pissed i spent almost 400 dollars for a phone that i havent received.. i feel like this issue is going to last for about a month or more at the rate all this is going im not giving up because i dont have money to be just throwing around i want my refund. and i might have to go through my bank if this dosent happen quick enough i dont have time to be calling them and hearing the same bullshxt just to shut me up. ill post another review when i figure whats going to happen next.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
5
Customer Service:
5
Overall:
5
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Recommend to a friend.

Not much problems

Posted on: September 4th, 2013 by Bonita Wilson

I been with VM 6 yrs and always had good service.Don't have a fancy phone,just a flip top cheapie.What few times I did call them,I got an english speaking person who did fix my problem,or change phones that is.I did have a problem awhile back tho.They cancelled one of my 2 phones because they said something about not being able to get the payment.So they cancelled the phone without notice,I was miffed.But called and they put me back on the same plan grandfathered in 6 yrs ago which is $5.00 a month and I get $5.00 worth of minutes,so basically it's free.I had $257.00 worth of minutes saved.They didn't give me all that back.but did give $50.00 and with the $15.00 for 3 months,gave me $65.00 to start it off.So I'm happy.I think their a great outfit for a light user like me.Obviously we don't ever use them hardly.Just for emergency,or an occasional question to home from the store.So,I would recomend them.And DO check your coverage area on their site to see if your in a coverage area.My area just has phone and data only.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Nightmare

Posted on: August 28th, 2013 by Mark Suggs

I thought AT&T was bad. This is the worst experience I've ever had trying to make a purchase. I tried to place an order on line but their policy - which I've never seen on any other web site - that the shipping and billing address have to be the same. I have a PO Box for my credit card for my security. Most online stores allow entering both billing and shipping addresses, even if customers want to ship something to their work address, instead of home. I tried chatting with the online technician who kept sending me boilerplate messages before finally saying I'd need to call a number for help. The phone system is the stupidest I have ever encountered. It is set up for existing customers with NO menu item for making a purchase or checking on an existing order. I had to go through every menu item before this was clear and only by continually pressing ####### could I get the system to finally connect to a human being - one who barely speaks English and is only reading a script complete with boilerplate greetings and assurances that he's there to help me. The person I get is a technical support person who can't help me and then has to transfer me to someone to take my order. 36 hours after placing the order I see my credit card has not been charged, so I go on line to track my order. THe web site has no record of my order so I go through the whole ridiculous phone system again and after being put on hold 3 times the script-reader has no information at all on my order and I'm told to call back in a few hours. I ask for the number I'm supposed to call to get directly to someone who can with an order, and I was told I'd have to go through the support menu again. Unbelievable! How the hell do they stay in business? When I was called back after they found my order I cancelled it, was given a cancelation number, but the phone was shipped anyway. It wasn't signed for so I couldn't refuse it at delivery. It has been a nightmare trying to get the dam thing back and biggest insult is I have to pay for the shipping for a phone that wasn't supposed to be shipped to me anyway. Only masochists should even consider doing any business with Virgin Mobile.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
2
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Cheap for a reason, and they're thieves!

Posted on: August 9th, 2013 by Thomas J Taylor

Coverage sucks. They claim to have coverage on their map in places they do not. The data only works half the time, the other half of the time it will endlessly load but never successfully access a webpage. If you have a new period of service beginning on the 9th and you have an automatic payment method on file, they will start trying to bill you on the 7th. Remember, you have already PAID for service, THROUGH the 8th, but if they have a problem processing your payment on the 7th they will cut your service off and send you an automated text message letting you know. That's stealing as far as I'm concerned. Also, customer service routes you to India, where even the most basic concerns are either misinterpreted due to language barriers or willfully ignored due to policy. Hard to tell.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
3
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Worst Tech support ever

Posted on: July 22nd, 2013 by Jason Knowles

I have had service with virgin mobile for almost two years. It's not the best but it is cheap. I finally upgraded my phone from the lg optimus to samsung galaxy. Really better phone all together. But know I'm trying to put service back on my old phone. And it's not taking. I have called tech support 5 times and received and ridicules excuse why its not working. Each tech has done exactly the same 5 steps the previous tech did. Didn't solve the problem. They document that I have had problems from the begining. Yet they can't solve the problem but they are great at passing the buck to another tech. So know I'm waiting 24-72 hours for a call back for that tech to reset the phone and still have the same problems. These phones are not complicated. There is only so much you can do before they realise it is the phone. I've told them it is the phone. Well know I have to clear my schedule for a phone call. Great!

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE

Posted on: July 18th, 2013 by Anonymous

I thought my husband & I could save money by switching from AT&T. Virgin Mobile's low prices really are too good to be true. After I activated my Samsung Galaxy SII, I could not receive ANY service (fluctuating from 1 to 0 bars), much less 4G. I live in Jacksonville, FL, in what is supposed to be a full coverage area. I called to cancel my service the same day I activated. Virgin Mobile refused to give me a refund for the month of service I had paid for. They said I had used too much data, even though I had only tested a few things just to see if the phone was working. After several phone calls of being repeatedly put on hold, hung up on (while on hold), etc., I had to dispute the charge with my credit card company. Luckily, I was refunded through my credit card company after disputing the charge. Do not waste your time with this company. The cell phone service is terrible and the customer service is even worse. (NOTE: I now have Metro PCS and it works great. Once in a while I have a text message sent twice but that isn't an issue for me.)

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Service Quality:
1
Customer Service:
1
Overall:
1
Overall:
Review Rating: 
0

Would Not Recommend to a friend.

Terrible service and customer service

Posted on: July 17th, 2013 by Angela Marks

I have had Virgin Mobile for 10 years now and have had every problem with them possible. The calls drop constantly. Every time I buy a new phone it doesn't work and when I tell them about it, they want to send me a refurbished (used phone) for my brand new phone. The lastest issue I've had with them is that the put this Weather alert on my phone from a third party vendor which i didn't subscribe to or want. It's very annoying because it makes that loud sound when ever it rains or their is a cloud in the sky. I have called 10 times to ask them to take it off and just keep getting lied to. They supposedly block it but then 2 minutes later I'm getting the same alert. This service is not worth the money or my time. I would rather pay more and get good service than to stay with Virgin Mobile.

This review is the subjective opinion of the user and not of PhoneDog.com

Pages